Cover image for Western Governors University
Logo
See All Photos

Western Governors University

Engaged Employer

Western Governors University

Add a Review

Western Governors University Employee Reviews about "manager"

Updated Nov 29, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,277 of over 1K reviews
3.8
71% Recommend to a Friend
Western Governors University President Scott D. Pulsipher
75% Approve of CEO

Found 68 of over 1K reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Western Governors University President Scott D. Pulsipher
Scott D. Pulsipher
648 Ratings

What people are saying about Western Governors University

Join the conversation on

Asset / Investment Management

1y

an 

Operations Associate

I work in a Rep Services Call Center for an Insurance/ Investment Company. Currently I'm pursuing my MBA at Western Governors University and I plan to get my Series 7 after my MBA so I can get out of the Call Center and advance my career. I'm looking for some advice / guidance/ideas for growth opportunities from here. I'd like to hear about good experiences and bad experiences people have had in this industry, where did you start, how did you grow from there, what licenses do you have, ect.

1

1 Comment

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Flexible Schedule; work from home(in 243 reviews)
  • "The ability to work remote is a great benefit.(in 94 reviews)
  • "Great people to work with and being able to work with students reach their goals of going back to school.(in 54 reviews)
  • "The culture is great and they dont micromanage(in 37 reviews)
  • "There are many great coworkers that are in it for the student’s success and are recognized for their hard work.(in 28 reviews)
Cons
  • "low pay and job insecurity(in 103 reviews)
  • "Poor management and quick to retaliate.(in 56 reviews)
  • "Senior people keep leaving and the salary is too low to attract new people to fill the position.(in 46 reviews)
  • "Many managers have only gotten to the position that they are currently in because of the institutions rapid growth.(in 46 reviews)
  • "Upper management is clueless, reckless, selfish, and greedy.(in 33 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Western Governors University and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "manager"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Great Place to Work

    Jul 27, 2022 - Senior Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cares about students, staff, and faculty equally. Always looking for ways to improve, optimize, and better serve our students and support employees. Across the University you see most departments modeling our Leadership Principles and Cultural Beliefs. As a Sr. Level leader, I feel like my voice is heard, I can contribute and impact change!

    Cons

    Health Insurance is average, let's get to above average!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Oct 27, 2022 - Systems Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great company, really good to work

    Cons

    none, no other bad reviews

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Western Governors University team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Shockingly Great Place to Work

    Nov 29, 2022 - Event Planner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy my work at WGU. It’s fast-paced, innovative, and you know everyone is working toward a worthwhile goal.

    Cons

    It’s a non-profit. The pay is competitive, but they’re pretty tight lipped about salaries.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great work/life balance and high pay

    Nov 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is better than most universities Work from home Good work/life balance Great colleagues Innovative

    Cons

    Miscommunication - multiple communications happening simultaneously- creates disorganization

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Breaking Tradition

    Nov 26, 2022 - Senior Evaluator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WGU is ahead of the game, excelling in every facet of education. I am constantly motivated to see what's next!

    Cons

    Breaking tradition means constant change. For some, this can be frustrating.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Mission Focused but Little opportunity for growth

    Nov 22, 2022 - Project Manager 3 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone I work with, great passion to serve students. Very mission and purpose focused.

    Cons

    Promotion proceeds is not transparent at all. Little opportunities for growth unless you are a “people leader” as opposed to an individual contributor.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company

    Nov 18, 2022 - Instructor Practitioner in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the online aspect. Bosses are fair and reasonable.

    Cons

    I have not found negative to this company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Love Working Here

    Nov 18, 2022 - N A 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility of schedule, wonderful leadership

    Cons

    Don't have any at the moment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Nov 17, 2022 - Sr Program Mentor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work overall.

    Cons

    There aren’t any cos rally

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Management is genuine and cares about its employees

    Nov 16, 2022 - Program Mentor I 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Listens to employees Continuous process and tools improvement

    Cons

    Could improve pay Work Life Balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Western Governors University Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Western Governors University? Share Your Experiences

or

Western Governors University Careers

Cover image for Western Governors University

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to learn more about us! Here at WGU, we believe that talent is universal—even if opportunity...More

  • Our Story
  • Teams
  • Culture
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Western Governors University

30 days ago

Careers
We are continuing to grow at WGU! Check out our amazing job opportunities to see if one could be right for you!
Shared image - Careers at WGU
Careers at WGU
www.wgu.edu
See all

Western Governors University Photos

+ Add Photo
Western Governors University photo of: Employee Spotlight
Western Governors University photo of: Town Hall
Western Governors University photo of: WGU employees at Town Hall
Western Governors University photo of: Town Hall event
Western Governors University photo of: WGU employees at a Town Hall event
Western Governors University photo of: WGU employee receiving a prize pack at a Town Hall event
Western Governors University photo of: Employees during Town Hall
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Western Governors University Job Seekers Also Viewed

UnitedHealth Group Logo
UnitedHealth Group

3.5

15,216 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,308 Western Governors University reviews submitted anonymously by Western Governors University employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Western Governors University is right for you.