KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Western Union

Engaged Employer

Western Union

Add a Review

Western Union Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,508 of over 1,756 reviews

3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Western Union President, CEO and Director Hikmet Ersek
Hikmet Ersek
825 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance and compensation(in 144 reviews)

  • "Nice place, good benefits, easy to adjust to personal needs(in 70 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Ongoing changes make work and work/life balance difficult(in 36 reviews)

  • "Senior management has a disconnect with employees and their is a lot of politics with the organization due to which department work in Silos(in 36 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Western Union and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Good for experienced

      Jan 19, 2021 - Associate in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good technology stack, benefits, working culture

      Cons

      Nothing as such. Variable pay could be given quarter instead of yearly.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Union Response

      Communications Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad that you mentioned technology, benefits, and our culture as pros to working at Western Union! We strive to keep up with the ever-growing technology demands and promote collaborative work environments for all our employees around the world. We value the employee feedback we receive and share this with the appropriate teams to create positive change in the organization. We will take note of your comments and as a current employee, we encourage you to continue sharing your feedback with your manager and by answering our monthly WU Listens survey.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 8, 2021 - Head of Retail 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Truly International oriented. Culture of respect Diversity Open to change

      Cons

      Wokload can be very high in certain periods

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Union Response

      Communications Specialist

      First, thank you for 10+ years of dedicated service at Western Union! We love all the pros you listed, such as our diversity and culture. We are proud to be a company with employees present in over 50 countries! However, we're disappointed to hear about your experience with your workload. We are passionate about providing a great employee experience, and your feedback plays a critical role in helping us ensure this. As a current employee, we encourage you to continue sharing your feedback by discussing your experience with your manager and answering our monthly WU Listens survey.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Nice Place to work

      Jul 6, 2021 - IT Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Caring about the customer, Caring about the employee well being. Great office locations.

      Cons

      Little to no upward mobility, the company says they like to hire within, but you rarely see that and next to never in upper management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      good

      Jul 20, 2021 - Medical Scribe in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice people in the work place

      Cons

      early wake ups in the work place

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      mission driven company

      May 30, 2021 - Global Head Of Analytics in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Western Union is an essential service for millions of customers around the world who rely on the company to help families in their home countries to build a better life; the social value and social connections the service represents is enormous.

      Cons

      As most companies that has over 100 years of legacy, it can be slow to change and adapt to market dynamic changes; it is also a financially driven company (public company), and in recent years it’s a low revenue growth company, despite its digital services continue its momentum for the last decade.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Union Response

      Communications Specialist

      Thank you for leaving a review and for being part of our journey for the last 8+ years! We are glad you listed our being mission-driven as a pro. We believe that when money moves, great things happen and so our teams around the world are passionate about helping us connect people through a variety of services we provide. However, we're sorry to hear about your feedback regarding our strategy. Our organization is going through a transformative period, and we believe that this will help us maintain our position as a leader in cross-border and cross-currency money movement and payments. Employee feedback is always valuable to us and we will share your review with the appropriate teams. As a current employee, we also encourage you to continue sharing your feedback during your 1:1s with your manager and by answering our monthly WU Listens survey.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company going through changes (like all companies)

      Jun 9, 2021 - IT Engineer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are pretty awesome Work life balance seems pretty in order Company is really starting to embrace new technologies and implementing them Plenty of fun systems to fix and educate yourself on

      Cons

      Only speaking of the technology side of the house: I am a fan of growth, but not of forgetting the platform you stand on. I appreciate the ability of WU to embrace new technologies, but the price that comes with that is forgetting to give credence to updating older systems

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Union Response

      Communications Specialist

      Thank you for your review. We love all the pros you listed, such as benefits, work-life balance, and technology! We strive to take care of our employees and their families by providing a variety of benefits and avenues to experience work-life balance. However, we're sorry to hear that you feel this way as we do our best to keep up with the ever-changing technology demands to provide better service to our customers and drive growth for the company. We will share your review with the appropriate teams to continue influencing positive change in the organization.

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Don't waste your time

      Jul 11, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Responsive HR Department 2) Decent healthcare plan options

      Cons

      Toxic work environment, unfulfilling work, lack of vision, lack of leaders with situational awareness, lack of accountability for group leaders, a lot of unproductive yelling, and lack of organization to align globally. A lot of talent but it's wasted with a toxic work environment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      salary

      Jul 9, 2021 - KYC Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great company, established quality professional

      Cons

      demanding customers toxic environment low salary

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Solid Employer

      Jun 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, great international exposure, ever evolving organization.

      Cons

      Seems to continually look to cut headcount year over year. Makes it difficult to grown.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Western Union Response

      Communications Specialist

      Thank you for being part of our journey for the last 5 years, and we love that you listed benefits and diversity as some of the pros to working at Western Union! We agree that the diversity of our employees is one of our strengths as a company. However, we're sorry to hear about your thoughts on our organizational changes. Being globally-minded is a core value. We're continually reviewing key considerations for where our jobs should be located and the demand for the roles we need to achieve our business results. Change can be difficult, but we are committed to supporting our employees through our transformation. We appreciate your review, and we will share your feedback with the appropriate teams.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company, unstable environment

      Jul 18, 2021 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      WU is a solid company to work for with great benefits and team bonding culture.

      Cons

      The environment is stressful with a highly unstable job security due to management's lack of consequent planning

      1 person found this review helpful

      Western Union Response

      Communications Specialist

      Thank you for leaving a review. We are pleased that you appreciate our benefits and culture, as we strive to foster an inclusive work environment where employees are taken care of through the benefits being provided. However, we’re disappointed to hear your feedback on job security and management. Our organization has been undergoing several changes as we are transforming our business to become better as a company, and we understand that dealing with these changes can be difficult. We value all feedback that comes our way, especially regarding leadership and the organization, and we will take note of your review moving forward.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,508 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Western Union Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Western Union? Share Your Experiences

    or