Western & Southern Life Reviews | Glassdoor

Western & Southern Life Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 332 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Western & Southern Life CEO John F. Barrett
John F. Barrett
199 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Benefits were not great, they do not pay for any licensing, working the book of business is dangerous because of chargeback(in 20 reviews)

  • "Micro management, treat people like grownups(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Staff Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time

    Pros

    Western & Southern provides all the tools, products & services, and a proven road map to build a solid financial planning practice. They compensate & reward their employees well, when individuals meet their objectives.

    Cons

    There are very few, as in this industry, your success is based on the expectations you hold yourself to daily. The Western & Southern Model works well, when followed. The model does not work well, when worked part-time.

    Western & Southern Life2018-08-03
  2. "Just joined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits and pay looks great

    Cons

    I have none so far

    Western & Southern Life2019-02-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "BAD BAD COMPANY -RUN RUN AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Representative in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    You get to see how a company shouldn’t be run

    Cons

    Want loyalty- but show no loyalty Run by incompetent people

    Advice to Management

    Board of Directors should replace senior level management

    Western & Southern Life2019-04-03
  4. "Hard job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western & Southern Life full-time

    Pros

    Can make a lot of money. Flexible schedule. You can learn a lot with the right managers.

    Cons

    Benefits were not great, they do not pay for any licensing, working the book of business is dangerous because of chargeback. Make sure you have a ton of contacts already.

    Western & Southern Life2019-03-16
  5. "ill-equipped, unknowledgeable management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Representative in Hickory, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, amazing co-workers, supportive home office, you can talk pride in knowing that your job is to help people prepare for the unexpected

    Cons

    Sales job dressed up with title of "financial rep." The office that I worked out of for 3 years only recognized people with sales, making it a discouraging environment to work in. It doesn't matter if you are improving overall as an agent if you aren't making either the most sales, or the largest sales. There is a severe lack of training, especially for incoming reps. The position is sold as a "work your own schedule/manage...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Learn how to properly train and support your staff - prepare for your training meetings with agents. I overheard management on numbers occasions discussing the morning OF our meeting "what should we go over today?" So rather than management "training us" we would lead the meeting by asking 2 hours worth of questions. Management would also ask what we wanted to train on in upcoming weeks but never review the content...

    Show More
    Western & Southern Life2019-02-16
  6. "Be Ready to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rep in Youngstown, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance is not bad. Must always be thinking of ways to grow

    Cons

    There are no days off mentally

    Advice to Management

    Be more upfront with reps getting into the business about how hard this industry really is

    Western & Southern Life2019-02-11
  7. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None. None. None. None. None!

    Cons

    Out dated insurance company with poor financial products. Cold calling. No leads. Micro managed. Charge- backs and keep your "bank"money if you leave.

    Advice to Management

    Advertise! Clean house and start over because this company will not compete in future!

    Western & Southern Life2019-02-22
  8. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Wonderful and supplied all needed things for a great work and home life.

    Cons

    Flexible hours can hurt, if you are not motivated

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Western & Southern Life2019-01-14
  9. "Quality Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Represent in Sandusky, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Push you to achieve and coach along the way.

    Cons

    Work life balance could be better.

    Western & Southern Life2018-12-29
  10. "It’s just okay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Accounting Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, but be careful not to gain the Freshman 15 again. My department is on the younger side versus the rest of the company. There are opportunities to grow. Most people stay here long term, at least 10-15 years.

    Cons

    Company can be stuck in old ways of thinking sometimes.

    Western & Southern Life2019-01-10
Found 332 reviews