Western & Southern Life Reviews | Glassdoor

Western & Southern Life Reviews

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Western & Southern Life Chairman, President, and CEO John F. Barrett
John F. Barrett
220 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Greatest people I have ever worked amongst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Representative in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, team building, encouragement, and help finding your place within the sales team. Always plenty of training, marketing material and support.

    Cons

    Training material often had many grammar errors, misspelled words, etc... and that did bother me that no one is proofreading material.

    Western & Southern Life2019-09-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Just wasn’t in my heart. I guess it just wasn’t meant to be for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life

    Pros

    Loved my management and they always treated me very well.

    Cons

    Didn’t like being out late

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up and you guys were always great. It wasn’t you it was me.

    Western & Southern Life2019-09-23
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great place for a long term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Manager in Owings Mills, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Management cares and there is a wonderful training program for new reps. Paid training and 2 years development incentive plus normal commissions. Reimbursement for events 50%-75%, SIE training. Very nice office, one you can be proud to bring your clients to, with nice amenities.

    Cons

    The experience is what you make it. Good or bad.

    Western & Southern Life2019-09-04
  4. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Service Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management is excellent. I started in the customer relations center right out of college and this department gave me a chance to grow. Everyone from your team leaders to assistant managers, and all the way up have your best interest at heart. Don’t be shy come to management with new ideas. I was able to work hard get myself promoted in the department within my first 8 months. If you’re motivated and want an opportunity to grow, look no further

    Show More

    Cons

    Jobs are on the phone but plenty of off the phone work if you work hard.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do. You’ve made this place into a very open and trusting department for your associates. All the games and awards show you care. Keep it light, keep it happy, and keep it fun.

    Western & Southern Life2019-08-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Just work smart the business is session proof

    Cons

    None you get what you put in..

    Advice to Management

    None

    Western & Southern Life2019-08-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sandusky, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can have a career(34 years myself), great benefits that follow you into retirement, great income opportunity, great training program leaving nothing to chance, an awesome rewards package-attending Leaders Sales Meeting many times has been one of the highlights of my career

    Cons

    it is a lot of work but rewarding and well worth the effort in the end.

    Advice to Management

    continue to ask for the field's input on pilot programs and new endeavors

    Western & Southern Life2019-06-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best in Class"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Full development program, not just training - for those who want to further develop themselves as professionals - up to a two year development salary

    Cons

    People join the team thinking they do not have to put forth an effort to learn and develop themselves as professionals = they ultimately fail and of course blame the company for their lack of commitment.

    Advice to Management

    Please make sure the candidates you bring into our organization fit our culture of excellence. We are top notch performers and only want to be around people who are trying to reach the same objectives

    Western & Southern Life2019-06-06
  8. "Ideal place to build a career / Agent focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The resources are unreal. The amount of support and tools that you have to help you build a career are second to none. Outstanding compensation plan for new representatives to truly learn how to do the business the right way plus a world class benefits program.

    Cons

    Every company has a small areas to improve in but there is nothing that I could mention.

    Advice to Management

    Change is good and always needed to grow and stay relevant. Just ensure the pace of the change doesn't isolate those that have gotten us to where we are at today to be able to make these necessary changes.

    Western & Southern Life2019-06-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "My experience has been outstanding. I plan on working at W&S for the rest of my career. Melinda Brownhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits R outstanding. My colleagues R rockstars!

    Cons

    No cons at all, seriously

    Advice to Management

    Mr.Washington& Mr.DurkeyUR a fantastic leaders!

    Western & Southern Life2019-04-24
  10. "Just joined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Western & Southern Life full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and pay looks great

    Cons

    I have none so far

    Western & Southern Life2019-02-20
Found 362 reviews