Westgate Resorts "resort" Reviews | Glassdoor

Westgate Resorts Employee Reviews about "resort"

Updated Dec 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
38%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Westgate Resorts CEO David A. Siegel (no image)
David A. Siegel
190 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, advancement through entry level positions, ability to grow familiarity with real estate laws(in 12 reviews)

  • "gained a lot of resort sales experience(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need better tours should do more to prescreen customer(in 18 reviews)

  • "No benefits as an independent contractor(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "resort"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Safety and Security Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety and Security Manager in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Westgate Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great corporate boss and other management and team members.

    Cons

    No contract security at the resort.

    Continue reading
    Westgate Resorts2018-04-18
  2. "Great If You Don't Mind Scamming People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Westgate Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent sales training that I've been able to take with me into better and more promising opportunities. I actually did sell many people and frequently made it on the top 10. Left when I got a real job.

    Cons

    Definitely a scam, don't kid yourself. You will feel bad doing this to people, whether you get your commissions or not. It catches up with you, and management will make sure to not give you "tours" (opportunities to make money with clients) if they can tell you aren't all in. They have people who listen everywhere in the resort, even when you think you're alone.

    Continue reading
    Westgate Resorts2019-12-07
  3. "Overall a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Westgate Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Large, growing company Close-knit staff Friendly There is room to grow in your position

    Cons

    Short-staffed No Upper Management on-site Timeshare Some of the resort is outdated

    Westgate Resorts2019-09-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity at a casino property"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Westgate Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casino timeshare resort Location and the ability to work on your own.

    Cons

    The ever changing procedures. The constant turnover of employees. No benefits, no base, no recognition.

    Continue reading
    Westgate Resorts2019-06-07
  5. "Genuinely Consider Before Accepting a Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Westgate Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some good employees who genuinely want to see the company succeed, but they are washed out or quickly leave when they realize the poor company morale and values. Despite this, I will say that the vacation and resort stay benefits are decent, and they offer discounts.

    Cons

    What may seem like a potential career opportunity you will quickly realize comes with very little respect, employee/company values and general accountability. I worked in a department of people who consistently both said and showed how little they cared for the industry, the company and other employees, which is a shame when there are a handful that care about making things better. The upper management are quick to acknowledge that they are okay with being just mediocre, and that's sad when you're in a business like this one. There is no employee morale, and they are once again alright with that. I am not one to write negative reviews, but I will say that if you care about your future company and want to see yourself and your fellow hard-working employees succeed, please reconsider working here because there needs to be some serious fundamental changes before I see this company improving. There's a reason why there is such a high turnover rate of good workers but yet still so many employees who have worked here for years because essentially you can do whatever you'd like and still have a job.

    Continue reading
    Westgate Resorts2019-04-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Life at westgate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Westgate Resorts for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I don't know what to say..hmmmm

    Cons

    The turn over rate is bad in resort services.

    Westgate Resorts2018-10-06
  7. "Shipping/Receiving Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping/Receiving Manager in Park City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Westgate Resorts part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Steady employment in growing hospitality industry. Great ski resort property. Year round. General Manager who is always available.

    Cons

    Must have dependable transportation year round.

    Westgate Resorts2017-10-03
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Westgate Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can not think of one good thing about this resort or company.

    Cons

    Horrible management, constantly yelling at screaming at employees as well as guest, benefits suck, high turn over, HR will do nothing, managers use profanity all time, employees sleep on the job or watch t.v., housekeeping department has no clue on how to clean rooms, Resort is rundown and WiFi is a joke, out dated computers and software, a lot of day to day drama, poor training, poor pay, crappy schedule and changes by the day, CEO doesn't care about employees only might buck but keeps things cheap at resorts, everything design to suck as much money out guest as possible and don't care if guest comeback.

    Continue reading
    Westgate Resorts2017-09-15
  9. "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Westgate Resorts full-time

    Pros

    gained a lot of resort sales experience

    Cons

    pay was pretty low. bonuses were hard to achieve

    Westgate Resorts2017-04-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Do you have patience for adult children?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Park City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Westgate Resorts for more than a year

    Pros

    Resort Benefits, Good line level employees

    Cons

    Bad management, privately owned company

    Continue reading
    Westgate Resorts2017-01-16
Found 19 reviews