Westgate Reviews | Glassdoor

Westgate Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Gna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gna 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Westgate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The residents are fun to work with

    Cons

    The staff sometimes sucks

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer and appreciate your staff

    Westgate2017-10-31
  2. "TSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TSA in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Westgate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, treat you like family l.

    Cons

    None at all the best place

    Advice to Management

    None at all

    Westgate2017-09-24
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant Manager in Kodak, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Westgate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They recognize talent and balance work with home

    Cons

    Pay isn't all that great

    Westgate2017-03-10
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Don't do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Westgate

    Pros

    The only good thing is your schedule since they work with you.

    Cons

    Management are unprofessional you will never move up in the company.

    Westgate2016-05-18
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Sad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Westgate

    Pros

    Good enough to get some experience for short time

    Cons

    Extremely low pay benefits expensive not kind to employees

    Advice to Management

    You need training on how to treat employees

    Westgate2015-07-26
  7. "Westgate Corp. University Teaching Positions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EFL Instructor in Yokohama, Kanagawa
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Westgate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many opportunities to work at various universities in Tokyo and Yokohama

    Cons

    Housing is too small and located far away from train stations. After a 15-20 minute walk, you’ll then average a one hour commute on a super crowded train to your workplace.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more convenient housing and you’ll retain more teachers

    Westgate2019-09-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good system, bad benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Westgate full-time

    Pros

    Working with an excellent team

    Cons

    Too much work for too little pay

    Advice to Management

    Ethically working staff and paying them little is wrong, and if you don't change this policy, then I hope your company sinks because this doesn't need to be happening.

    Westgate2019-06-03
  9. Helpful (4)

    "It’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EFL Professor in Tokyo
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Westgate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s good as a first job into Japan, you can get a resident visa if you choose to stay longer and the lessonplans are fairly straightforward and my students are great

    Cons

    A very long commute currently, the pay is low for the hours you are expected to work 9-5 and 9-6. They don’t tell you your placement until VERY late which is very inconvenient

    Advice to Management

    More pay please or less hours. Expecting the teacher to do 7 lessons and then be constantly available and happy and friendly is a bit too much if you’re only paying 275000 yen

    Westgate2019-05-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "English Language Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Language Teacher in Tokyo
    Recommends

    I worked at Westgate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable training Straight forward process Excellent support if needed I returned for a second round and will do so again in the future.

    Cons

    No career development opportunities

    Westgate2019-02-18
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on where you are put"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Language Teacher 
    Recommends

    I worked at Westgate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a heavy workload Lots of support Decent wage

    Cons

    No flexibility when dealing with where you want to work Not a huge amount of flexibility when dealing with where you want to live - you could have quite a commute. Where you work can often lead to very different experiences - I was quite lucky!

    Advice to Management

    Allow for greater flexibility when dealing with teachers

    Westgate2019-01-21
Found 28 reviews