Westlake Chemical Reviews | Glassdoor

Westlake Chemical Reviews

Updated September 19, 2017
38 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Westlake Chemical President and CEO Albert Chao
Albert Chao
27 Ratings

38 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Featured Review

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Accountant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great Company to work for. The people were great, and the environment felt like a family.

    Cons

    Pay was not competitive to other plant accounting jobs

    Westlake Chemical Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    Thank you for providing your feedback.


  2. "Amazing people and better benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people, good work culture and great benefits

    Cons

    Not a tech savy company, takes time in upgrading to latest technologies

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Vibration analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician, Vibration Analyst in Sulphur, LA
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician, Vibration Analyst in Sulphur, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very clean, good pay and bonuses

    Cons

    Management tends to overload employee and does not get help or listens to employee about this overload problem

    Advice to Management

    Get employees help before someone, especially the older employees, get hurt

    Westlake Chemical Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Engineer in Lake Charles, LA
    Current Employee - Safety Engineer in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Westlake recently acquired Axiall. It was a major acquisition and Westlake is still working to incorporate the Axiall facilities. Even in the midst of changes Westlake has ensured that the former Axiall facilities have the resources to promote safety; even to the point of adding safety department headcount. This is the 4th acquisition I have been a party to in my career and I think Westlake Management is doing a fine job.

    Cons

    Not much here. Westlake is taking the best from Axiall such as core principles and incorporating into Westlake as well as promoting some of Axiall's better performers. Looking forward to the future.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see more communication on future structure but understand that it is probably still being determined.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 22, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "chemical operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Lake Charles, LA
    Current Employee - Operator in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    company showing improvement. wages are good. benefits are better than some but average for the industry in this area.

    Cons

    my facility suffers from legacy axiall management who have a different culture than the culture of Westlake Chemical. They are the ones with the us vs them mindset that stunts the growth of a family like atmosphere between management and hourly.

    Advice to Management

    those middle managers that you are holding on to are hindering culture growth. Westlake needs managers who want to foster a productive environment based on mutual trust and fellowship which will lead to a cohesive team effort to reduce safety issues and increase production. We all want to feel like our efforts are appreciated beyond our salaries simply being paid. If you want an operator to truly own his unit, treat him like an owner.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  6. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Accountant in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Internal Accountant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Westlake Chemical part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great location and very nice and friendly environment.

    Cons

    A little boring and lack of proper training.

    Advice to Management

    Improve the training method.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  7. "Westlake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Functional Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Functional Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Nice team to work with

    Cons

    Difficult to get information on moving

    Advice to Management

    Provide more timely information

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Reliability Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits package, double digit 401k match, great bonuses, awesome work/life balance (9-80 work schedule), CEO and upper management really understand the business market which has driven great successful for the company. Safety is driven from the top down and backed up with investment to improve and mitigate safety issue within a plant. The most amazing thing about this company is that when things go bad, people come together to solve problems without passing blame. This is a very professional work environment made up of people who treat each other like family.

    Cons

    Spousal surcharge for health insurance if spouse has options with her employer. not always transparent about career advancement of promotions. Company runs leans with very little turnover of employees, which means advancement opportunities don't come around all that often.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace new ideas of a younger work force eager to look at and solve existing problems with a new perspective.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  9. "Millwright Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner/Scheduler (Promotion) in Prairieville, LA
    Current Employee - Planner/Scheduler (Promotion) in Prairieville, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and salary is competitive.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  10. "Good place to work, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, good training. Great location.

    Cons

    Not a lot of delegation of decision making. Most decisions made at a high level.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


Showing 38 of 42 reviews
Reset Filters