Westlake Chemical Reviews | Glassdoor

Westlake Chemical Reviews

Updated May 31, 2017
15 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Westlake Chemical President and CEO Albert Chao
Albert Chao
13 Ratings

15 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Grow Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Westlake Chemical is a great fit for go-getters and offers a dynamic and challenging work environment. New ideas and input from employees is heard by management and leadership. So if you are a self-driven person who wants to be a positive force for change and develop professionally in the process, Westlake offers a lot of opportunities for skill set expansion, creative problem-solving and stepping outside of your comfort zone.

    Cons

    Some of the technology used is outdated and/or unsupported. Also, many processes are still very manual and therefore cumbersome.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to integrate and upgrade new technologies as well as document and improve processes.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback.


  2. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Westlake Chemical as an intern

    Pros

    Wonderful staff. great working environment. Effective management.

    Cons

    The only negative thing I have to say about this company is that there was no full-time opportunity available once my internship was over! Wonderful place to work.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Engineer in Lake Charles, LA
    Current Employee - Safety Engineer in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Westlake recently acquired Axiall. It was a major acquisition and Westlake is still working to incorporate the Axiall facilities. Even in the midst of changes Westlake has ensured that the former Axiall facilities have the resources to promote safety; even to the point of adding safety department headcount. This is the 4th acquisition I have been a party to in my career and I think Westlake Management is doing a fine job.

    Cons

    Not much here. Westlake is taking the best from Axiall such as core principles and incorporating into Westlake as well as promoting some of Axiall's better performers. Looking forward to the future.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see more communication on future structure but understand that it is probably still being determined.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 22, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Reliability Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits package, double digit 401k match, great bonuses, awesome work/life balance (9-80 work schedule), CEO and upper management really understand the business market which has driven great successful for the company. Safety is driven from the top down and backed up with investment to improve and mitigate safety issue within a plant. The most amazing thing about this company is that when things go bad, people come together to solve problems without passing blame. This is a very professional work environment made up of people who treat each other like family.

    Cons

    Spousal surcharge for health insurance if spouse has options with her employer. not always transparent about career advancement of promotions. Company runs leans with very little turnover of employees, which means advancement opportunities don't come around all that often.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace new ideas of a younger work force eager to look at and solve existing problems with a new perspective.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  5. "Millwright Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner/Scheduler (Promotion) in Prairieville, LA
    Current Employee - Planner/Scheduler (Promotion) in Prairieville, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits and salary is competitive.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  6. "Good place to work, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, good training. Great location.

    Cons

    Not a lot of delegation of decision making. Most decisions made at a high level.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  7. "Great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Geismar, LA
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Geismar, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pay is very competitive, and the 401k match is great. The vacation and benefits are also good. Very interesting and challenging work, you can stay as busy as you want to be, but still have a good work-life balance. You will get to work with a lot of talented people, and the company is very good about investing in the employees and developing them.

    Cons

    The insurance does not cover spouses if they can get insurance from their company. But it does, fortunately cover children.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly, professional, efficient work-place environment

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  9. "Highly enjoy my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technician in Longview, TX
    Current Employee - Laboratory Technician in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, focus on safety, diversity, bonuses, retirement matching, retirement contributions, paid holidays, paid vacation.

    Cons

    Advancement track is not as clearly defined as I'd like.

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Very nice, stable place to work with outstanding benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - I T in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - I T in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Westlake Chemical full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company is very stable financially and has enjoyed tremendous success over the past few years. Excellent overall benefits package which includes a flexible work arrangement schedule, generous 401k matching and bonuses based on company's performance. The management has paid close attention to the needs of its employees and the corporate offices are being completely renovated and modernized and a flexible work arrangement program has been recently implemented! Lots of opportunities to learn if you enjoy being a multi-tasker. The Executive level management team is wonderful.

    Cons

    Some approval processes take a while and that can be frustrating and some types of changes can be painfully slow at times. The corporate offices are in the Galleria area so you have to deal with traffic on a daily basis. Then again, all of the Houston roadways seem to be congested anyway!

    Advice to Management

    None

    Westlake Chemical Response

    May 1, 2017 – Senior Training Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.


Showing 15 of 40 reviews
Reset Filters