Westmoreland Coal Reviews | Glassdoor

Westmoreland Coal Reviews

Updated 23 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
32%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Westmoreland Coal CEO Keith E. Alessi (no image)
Keith E. Alessi
7 Ratings
  1. "Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Coshocton, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Westmoreland Coal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people great company to work fot

    Cons

    Coal industry is tough to operate

    Advice to Management

    Tough business to operate in

    Westmoreland Coal2018-05-18
  2. "Needs a lot of improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Hardin, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Westmoreland Coal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good benefits are good . Thank god for the union

    Cons

    Upper management make a lot of poor choices! Company don’t seem to care for people that make the profit for them ! 100 dollar safety bonus every 100 days !No production bonus! Can’t even offer employees a holiday ham or turkey ! Everything is kept a secret with HR and management! No training offered! Scared to fire incompetence and lazy workers!

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better!

    Westmoreland Coal2019-11-24
  3. "Good people, tough industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Development 

    I worked at Westmoreland Coal full-time

    Pros

    Worked with great people and earned some good connections

    Cons

    The company is in a declining industry and was not able to accomplish many of the things that they wanted to do.

    Westmoreland Coal2019-09-24
  4. "Mismanagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Colstrip, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Westmoreland Coal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The area the mine is at is excellent and the company is easily manipulated

    Cons

    The mismanagement here is ridiculous people horde information the think it's power and the backstabbing is stupid most of the employees attitude is how can they get over on the company

    Advice to Management

    we need a manager not a babysitter and try doing actually training and quit pandering to the idiots just follow the rules

    Westmoreland Coal2019-03-02
  5. "Texas Coal Mine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lignite/Coal Strip Miner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Westmoreland Coal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Non-union... Really good health benefits... Decent Vacation... Never missed a paycheck.

    Cons

    Often had poor communication from Leadership down while I was there... Let everyone go 1 year after leaving them. (But kept skeleton crew active to complete the reclamation on the previously mined property.)

    Westmoreland Coal2019-01-31
  6. "miner 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Englewood, CO

    I worked at Westmoreland Coal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay was good while there.

    Cons

    Cant really think of any cons.

    Westmoreland Coal2018-12-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A once great company, now a sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Westmoreland Coal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay was really good & I worked with some great people.

    Cons

    Well coal is a dying industry and Westmoreland is no different than every other coal mining company. Leveraged to the hilt with declining production and cash flow is a remedy for disaster. Bankruptcy or liquidation I’m guessing will happen sometime in the future. I watched coworkers leave in droves and now the corporate office is being run primarily of surviving staff and temps. I watched my manager have a complete... and total nervous breakdown. At that point I knew I had to leave. Some people were great to work with, while others backstabbed, gossiped, threw temper tantrums and otherwise did everything they could to make themselves look great and everyone else, look bad. So completely unnecessary. It’s tough working on a sinking ship and top of such bad behavior from coworkers. I feel so bad for everyone trying to save this company. Sadly, I think it’s too late.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Most of the senior management is new and doing everything they can to save a dying company. Sadly I just think it’s going to happen.

    Westmoreland Coal2018-09-14
  8. "Great Team, Enjoy the changing environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Westmoreland Coal full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to learn and build my foundation of knowledge, has been one of the best jobs I have had to really understand the business from all angles and have great mentors in leadership

    Cons

    Change can be difficult to manage and keep everyone going the right direction, I think there is good vision that will just take some time to realize its potential

    Advice to Management

    Keep bringing your best to the organization and build in recognition and advancement programs that help to build and grow staff

    Westmoreland Coal2017-10-25
  9. "Not A bad job at all."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Westmoreland Coal full-time

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Management could be better for sure

    Westmoreland Coal2017-09-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Run away as fast as you can!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Westmoreland Coal full-time

    Pros

    Pay that's about it, benefits are mediocre.

    Cons

    Management from the top down does not know how to let go and let employees do, unrealistically high expectations, culture is just talk - there's nothing great about it. I've never worked in such a political environment, if you don't know how to navigate politics you will be miserable. Everyone is out for themselves, watch your back, a knife is surely on the way.

    Advice to Management

    Stay out of the weeds and concentrate on your own job rather than trying to do your employee's. Take care of bad behavior in the workplace, regardless who the person is or what their position is. Excuses are just that, excuses, we are all watching.

    Westmoreland Coal2017-09-13
Found 24 reviews