Westpac Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Westpac Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 728 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Brian Hartzer
287 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "too much red tape to get things done(in 26 reviews)

  • "Lack of employee engagement with senior management around significant business change(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Certified Backflow preventer Device technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful company to work for! I get to explore my city and surrounding cities while getting paid for it while helping people keep clean water!

    Cons

    I don’t have at least 20 negative words about the company so these are actually just filler words!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you guys are doing! I appreciate the great opportunities you have provided.

    Westpac Group2019-05-11
  2. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Westpac Group full-time

      Pros

      Collaboration with other collegues and their pets.

      Cons

      At top of 50 storey building with no lift

      Advice to Management

      Get a lift or carry me up the stairs

      Westpac Group2017-11-30
    • "Excellent place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Westpac Group

        Pros

        Excellent place to work. Driven and smart employees.

        Cons

        No cons for this organization

        Westpac Group2017-07-14
      • "Very good employer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Westpac Group full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Flexibility, Diversity and Challenging

        Cons

        IT office locations are outside central business areas.

        Advice to Management

        Encourage more job sharing and advancement opportunities. Many people have worked there for a long time and simply don't move around to experience other areas.

        Westpac Group2017-06-25
      • "Great place to get some large corporate experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Westpac Group full-time

        Pros

        - Extremely flexible working arrangements and work life balance - Big challenges to tackle with change/project management - Large budgets for projects that do get funded

        Cons

        - Understandably a bit of bureaucracy - Velocity of change is therefore a bit slow - Large number of people who have been there are a while (20+ years) are resistant to change - Very poor IT however this is being heavily invested in

        Advice to Management

        Try

        Westpac Group2017-05-01
      • "good working experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Westpac Group part-time

        Pros

        Good working environment, good people

        Cons

        too many one to one meeting with higher authorities

        Westpac Group2017-02-06
      • "Banking Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Westpac Group

        Pros

        Excellent working environment, great people

        Cons

        Australia is a long way away

        Westpac Group2017-02-16
      • "excellent place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Westpac Group

        Pros

        friendly environment. good training always changing environment

        Cons

        not much growth option. you may end up is same role for long time

        Westpac Group2016-12-20
      • "Treasury"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Westpac Group full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Decent culture and working atmosphere, nice people to work with. Company strongly believe in diversity and flexibility. Top management provide clear aims and direction.

        Cons

        NY branch size kept to minimal, lack of expansion. All function operation from overseas. Not a lot of room for growth.

        Advice to Management

        Given the current market situation is not very favorable with overly competitive condition, with the right mix of talents and a clear strategy, the objectives are achievable.

        Westpac Group2016-12-06
      • "Westpac Sydney"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Westpac Group full-time for more than 20 years

          Pros

          People orientated culture. Competitive entry salaries. Long-term employees provide base level of experience and knowledge sharing.

          Cons

          Poor technology and infrastructure. Poor pay increases once already established in the bank. Can be quite silo'd.

          Westpac Group2016-10-23
        Found 728 reviews