Whelan Security "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Whelan Security Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Whelan Security CEO Patrick A. Twardowski (no image)
Patrick A. Twardowski
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people all willing to pull their weight and good clients(in 11 reviews)

  • "Easy money, decent pay, guaranteed hours, and plenty of overtime to volunteer for(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, no real benefits, & unorganized managment(in 22 reviews)

  • "Upper Management that doesn’t know what they are doing(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Gray place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard in Oxford, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work excellent

    Cons

    Low pay for the job duties

    Whelan Security2019-07-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security

    Pros

    Tbh I cannot think of a pro, only liked the site I worked at but most of the officers would threaten you.

    Cons

    Low pay, sexist, hires dirty officers, terrible management, zero communication, sexual harassment was reported and that officer wasn’t in trouble and they made me move sites. Officers retaliating, and lying on reports/documents.

    Advice to Management

    Fire everybody in management. Nobody knows their job. Super sexist job. Fire some supervisors because they are dirty and will let other officers literally break the law and cover for them.

    Whelan Security2019-09-21
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Defiantly not a long term job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule & Multiple locations to choose from

    Cons

    Low pay, no real benefits, & unorganized managment

    Whelan Security2018-02-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "They are good at selling promises and even attempt to but honestly don’t have the resources to do so."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only two pros I see within the company is the Ability to relocate and transfer if needed. It is a good place to work if you’re seeking part time.

    Cons

    Whelan security is not as large of a security company which results in Limited sites, inexperienced leaders, and low pay

    Whelan Security2018-02-09
  6. "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Whelan Security part-time

    Pros

    Pick your hours, easy work..

    Cons

    Low pay. Terrible supervisor

    Whelan Security2017-11-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a Project Manager at a client site with 15 guards under my supervision I was in full control over my staff.

    Cons

    Low pay. Only 33k/year. Low pay for guards kept them leaving for better paying jobs at Whattaburger and others.

    Advice to Management

    You get what you pay for.

    Whelan Security2017-10-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not worth the headache and the lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Blue Springs, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Only pros I can't think of are the friends I've made with the clients and Coworkers.

    Cons

    No family time. Sexual orientation discrimination. Low pay. No raises and being lied to about getting a raise. Benefits cover no medical in this area and was lied to about it to buy into the benefits package. Constant full on job harassment and threats about having your job taken away for no reason. A project manger that is clueless on how to keep turn over down. Within my last year with the company I have literally... seen over 15 workers walk out. Considering that we only have at the most 30 some odd workers at a given time, half of the workers walk out due to the project manager. When you fallow the chain of command to report it. The mangers above do nothing or see the issues stated.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people that have actually gone to school for business or have actually held a manger stop in larger base companies that are up to date with city and state laws on how a manger should conduct business.

    Whelan Security2017-10-01
  9. "Security job patrolling car production plant."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Blue Springs, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty easy job with simple task. Vehicle security driving around site passes time. Enjoyable co-workers. Flexible shifts as much OT as you want. Someone's always taking off

    Cons

    Low pay, No benefits, long hours sometime 12-16 hours. Incompetent site management. Over night paid more but was hard to stay focused. Not really a con but definitely not for people who like to sleep or have a life during the day. Working all night disrupts sleep patterns especially if you have things to do during the day like college classes. Always tired.

    Whelan Security2017-08-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "They Suck!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Smyrna, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can get hired on easily.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership. High turnover ratio. Low pay and they mess up paychecks constantly.

    Advice to Management

    Be better.

    Whelan Security2017-08-04
  11. "Good for entry-level, terrible for professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team at my site and flexible hours. Site supervisor was always willing to work with his subordinates on hours.

    Cons

    Low pay, high maintenance, no advancement. New site supervisor was a good person, but a terrible leader. Expected team to do tasks he was unwilling to do himself. Low morale at site.

    Advice to Management

    Consistent communication among the sites would be an improvement, but consistent communication doesn't mean micro-management. I've been a supervisor while in the service and trusting your employees is the first step in a healthy professional relationship especially when trust is listed among your core values.

    Whelan Security2017-05-03
Found 22 reviews