Whelan Security "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Whelan Security Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Whelan Security Chairman Patrick A. Twardowski (no image)
Patrick A. Twardowski
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people all willing to pull their weight and good clients(in 11 reviews)

  • "Easy money, decent pay, guaranteed hours, and plenty of overtime to volunteer for(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, no real benefits, & unorganized managment(in 22 reviews)

  • "Upper Management that doesn’t know what they are doing(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Whelan treated me well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Manager in Champaign, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I had absolutely no problems with upper management. The Chicago branch and Kentucky branches always met the needs I had.

    Cons

    At times went cheap on uniforms. Pants constantly had seams popping out. Tend to charge clients too much and lose contracts.

    Advice to Management

    Conduct more site visits. Especially in remote areas. Employees can’t be made to feel like they are not important. More training for supervisors.

    Whelan Security2019-04-15
  2. "Good part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Park Services in Oxford, MS

    I have been working at Whelan Security part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility meet mew people

    Cons

    Pay, upper management standing long periods of time

    Whelan Security2019-07-30
  3. "Security Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Shift Supervisor in Somers Point, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They worked with my schedule.

    Cons

    Upper management sucks and knew nothing about what actually goes on at the location. They question your head off if you call out sick even it’s it’s 8 hours in advance. They implemented systems that made no sense and interferes with duties that were supposed to be done at those times.

    Advice to Management

    Get new managers that actually know what they are doing.

    Whelan Security2019-07-08
  4. "Shift supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Supervisor in Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Opportunity to meet famous people -Lots of hours

    Cons

    -upper management do not back supervisors -payroll issues -

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employee’s

    Whelan Security2019-06-20
  5. "Joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Security Officer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company pays more than other companies.

    Cons

    Upper Management that doesn’t know what they are doing. Micromanaging folks and giving jobs to anybody.

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring folks that just won’t a job and they show no care about doing the job. Just a body getting paid.

    Whelan Security2019-07-01
  6. "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots of hours since they cant appear to hire anyone

    Cons

    The company does not really care about their employees upper management is near impossible to contact and if you do they are no help. They have many issues with payroll and blame their employees when it falls on them.

    Whelan Security2019-02-27
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time

    Pros

    Lots of caring people work there--does not apply to upper management.

    Cons

    Upper management seems pretty dimwitted. CEO gets fitted for hours in the office for expensive custom suits, while pushing his religious beliefs to all. Suits cost more than week's salary for a security guard. Culture is fake. The servant leader philosophy is a load of excrement.

    Advice to Management

    Sell!

    Whelan Security2018-10-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "security officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    quick hiring process, nice sites, overtime available upon site you are station.

    Cons

    No raises upper management shows favoritism no promotions payroll problems please check your hours they cheat you out of them especially with overtime management has bad attitude talk to you any kind of way. also tells all your confidential business will not allow you to call off. they have no flex officers to cover you. high turnover rates. if you are on a site and you get paid 10 dollars someone might come on... the same site and make 11 dollars a dollar more management will make that decision.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please look into replacing management before the equal opportunity gets involved !!! whelan security would be so much more better with management that respects you and does exposes your personal business

    Whelan Security2018-08-16
  9. "Its better than having no job at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some of the upper management really keep their word when looking out for overtime for you.

    Cons

    Union dues don't seem worth it, not much you can do on 3rd shift to move up in the company. The pay isn't that great but neither is being unemployed. IF and when you do get hired, be grateful you have some income coming in until some else comes along

    Advice to Management

    Monitor the employees to help with improvement and or development of bringing on some managers. Cough up those raises!

    Whelan Security2018-01-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Worst experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office in Toledo, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work in cool venues... that's about it.

    Cons

    I do not even know where to begin when it comes to my experience with this company. What started out as a job I loved, quickly took a turn and became a truly horrible experience. I tried my best to stick it out, but truth be told at the end of the day they just don't care about you. Disorganization, constant paycheck discrepancies, and ZERO work/life balance would be my top complaints, to name a few. This is a... company that pays you pennies on a salary rate and regularly expects you to work 60, 70, 80+ hours a week EVERY week. They do a great job selling you the position, and if you complain all you hear is "well this is the business". I received absolutely no support from upper management in any situation. I should have seen the writing on the wall when the account manager left after only about a month there (which was right when I started). They will hire anyone with a pulse, and the mentality is very much a "revolving door". People are treated like they are dispensable. When I eventually left, upper management never reached out to ask why, to conduct an exit interview, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You CAN'T expect people to work like dogs for nothing and then make them feel guilty for wanting to be home in time to eat dinner with their families every once in a while. This goes for all positions, whether you work in the office or whether you work the events. Please, please reevaluate your business model and the way to treat people. Otherwise, you will forever end up with a revolving door. It really is sad.... There is potential here but there are things that need to change.

    Show More
    Whelan Security2017-09-27
Found 18 reviews