Whitbread Chef Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Chef

Create your profile to get personalized information

Whitbread Chef Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Whitbread CEO Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
5 Ratings
  1. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, work hours, people. Alright at the end of the day.

    Cons

    Drama which doesn't say much as working in a kitchen.

    Advice to Management

    None to be given to them.

    Whitbread2019-08-22
  2. "Great company with lots of progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of professional development and progression routes

    Cons

    Budgets and targets can be quite tight at times

    Whitbread2019-06-22
  3. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef in Durham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Paid every month is only the positive

    Cons

    Everything really two days off is good

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff better

    Whitbread2019-06-27
  4. "Review of beefeater chef position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for promotion within the company if you work hard and suck up to the right people.

    Cons

    Managers are rude to you and you barely receive breaks on long shifts that end the next morning often.

    Advice to Management

    Realise that staff are people as well and appreciate being spoken to with respect after working hard non stop for long hours

    Whitbread2019-05-15
  5. "Perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commis Chef in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, good together indeed

    Cons

    I cant see this, sorry

    Whitbread2018-05-01

    Whitbread Response

    June 18, 2018

    Brilliant – really pleased you're enjoying your role with us. We pride ourselves on putting people at the centre of everything we do, both in our sites and at Support Centre. As such, creating a fun and enjoyable place to work is an integral part of life at Whitbread. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

    Show Less
  6. "They still owe me a week’s wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone got a break during long shifts, even when it was busy

    Cons

    Rife with bullying, especially amongst the back of house team Incompetent and inexperienced managers Didn’t pay me for my first week without any reason or explanation I was paid 50p an hour less than what was advertised and agreed during the recruitment process, and I didn’t find out until my first wage slip I never signed a contract or received any formal welcome or introduction the company and its policies... You really need to get the basics right such as paying employees and making sure everyone is compliant with the law

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You really need to get the basics right such as paying employees and making sure everyone is compliant with the law

    Whitbread2018-04-04

    Whitbread Response

    June 19, 2018

    Thanks for your review, sorry to hear that you had a negative experience working with Whitbread. It sounds like your issues may have been better dealt with locally rather than on a forum like Glassdoor. We take our teams welfare very seriously and have numerous channels available for them to raise any issues, with their Line Manager in the first instance but if this isn't appropriate there is a process they can follow. We also partner with Hospitality Action who offer an independent, and totally confidential, service available to all our employee's 24 hours per day, 365 days a year. They can be contacted on 0808 802 2111.

    Show Less
  7. "There ok but could be a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Chef in Maidstone, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team. DayforceHCM system , rota is mostly 1 week ahead can be up to 3. Sharesave

    Cons

    Contracts are basically 0 hours (a lot of catering company’s are but most guarantee staff hours verbally ) at whitbread half the team is working less then contracted hours , buildings falling apart , lack of staff .. and ridiculous 2 hour shifts ( both at the resterontes and at PI

    Advice to Management

    Although there will be times that staff can’t be given there contracted hours at least employ based on forecasted growth rather then having 50% off workforce under there contracted hours . Do away with 2 hour shifts it doesent help staff retention as a whole whitch I feel is something whitbread have been struggling with ( namely boh team members ) , I can understand your bogof vouchers got you out of a whole after... you sold all the pubs ... i would keep pushing the refurbishment plans (brewers becoming cookhouse... beefeater becoming orange ) and make the resteronte more of a destination rather then a breakfast for residents and bogof food . I would also try and invest/update some of the systems in it. Sadly word spreads that you don’t guarantee staff hours so the only people who apply are ones that can’t get a job. Anywhere else anyone with a good skill set would go somewere that does

    Show More
    Whitbread2018-01-12
  8. "Grill Runner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dessert Chef in Plymouth, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, good place to work, very challenging, up to 50% off premier inn and 25% off costa

    Cons

    Very busy, put under a lot of pressure, as a grill runner or dessert chef you dont get tips and tips are not shared

    Whitbread2017-11-20
  9. "Looked after"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grill Chef in Cleethorpes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You Are well looked after within the company with the likes of rewards, discounts and access to premier inn beds. Their in good structure within the kitchen with lots of opportunity to progress and a generous pay structure along side it

    Cons

    They are very tight budgeted so some equipment breakages and requirements of utensils and other items take a ridiculously long time to get repaired and replaced

    Whitbread2017-07-24
  10. "GREAT JOB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The food is unreal. The mangers are good to work with and everyone is friendly

    Cons

    Gets really busy, like hectic

    Advice to Management

    Non, without them the place would go down hill

    Whitbread2017-06-26

    Whitbread Response

    November 13, 2017Company Representative

    Thanks for your reveiw, it's great to hear that you are enjoying your career with Whitbread. We wish you continued success!

Found 26 reviews