Whitbread General Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Whitbread General Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Whitbread CEO Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
11 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, puts team first,

    Cons

    unsociable hours, no other cons really

    Whitbread2019-10-09
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Burton upon Trent, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are good

    Cons

    Cutting to much expenditure making job very hard

    Whitbread2019-09-09
  3. "Leave your family, your kids and friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best company for some years, worst company currently

    Cons

    Senior management forces you to work every Friday, Saturday and Sunday no matter what. I have lost my family after spending 6 months without having a family day. My wife works during the week, my 2 children 1 year old and 8 year old are in school or nursery and I wasnt able to be with them. My contract was 48h per week no specification about specific hours or days. I have worked weeks with over 70h because I had to... work those days plus I have to work on my days off. When challenged, senior management simply tells you it's the job, get over with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You like to spend time with your family, you pay General Managers to run your business, let them run your business. We have a family too and we are there to do a job. Challenge the ones who are not performing instead of judging all the same. No wonder a lot of good people are leaving. I've got now my family back, working in the same industry and delivering great results. Dont expect people to look after you if you... dont look after them.

    Show More
    Whitbread2019-09-18
  4. "Ups and downs and round abouts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good up and Coming company

    Cons

    Remote location and seasonal staff

    Whitbread2019-07-08
  5. "overall positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good large company to work for at times

    Cons

    Labour is biggest issue as always

    Advice to Management

    If its for you, go for it

    Whitbread2019-06-17
  6. "Bad support/ empty promises."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deputy General Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good progression when the right general manager is in place Good company discounts Good holiday allowance Meet some great people through conferences/ going to other sites

    Cons

    Felt pushed out for being female manager Unclear site targets that change so often it’s hard to keep up with Awful work life balance Being told in end of year review what you’ve need to be doing rather than supporting throughout the year- telling team what they should’ve/ could’ve done in advance to achieve results- cuts bonuses. General manager only looks out for himself and his close circle.

    Advice to Management

    If you’re going to brag about women in high places within whitbread then support them to keep them. Make teams more diverse. Pay people equally for jobs.

    Whitbread2019-05-15
  7. "Good Opp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training, and good support

    Cons

    sometimes hard to find out where the next step on your progression is

    Whitbread2019-02-20
  8. "Think their better than they are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay was good if you prepared to sacrifice your entire life

    Cons

    Head Office Idiots Lack of imagination

    Whitbread2019-01-14
  9. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can be very fulfilling at times

    Cons

    Massive pressure to hit the numbers, company focuses on negative results rather than the 80% positive

    Advice to Management

    Use the carrot more than the stick

    Whitbread2018-06-06

    Whitbread Response

    June 18, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. As a GM leading our teams it's brilliant to hear of the fulfilment you've had in the role. The hospitality industry is demanding and competitive which we know can be hard. We hope that our staff are able to strike the right balance and will do all we can to support this. Thanks for the feedback. Your comments have been noted and will form part of our own internal review process. We hope you continue to enjoy, and be successful, in your career with us!

    Show Less
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Genuinely care for their workforce, passionate about continually improving all aspects of the business

    Cons

    Can become too focussed on bottom line profit as opposed to sacrificing margin to drive sales (and bottom line profit) through a better product

    Whitbread2018-01-09
Found 20 reviews