Whitbread Kitchen Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Whitbread Kitchen Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 5 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
Whitbread CEO Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
0 Ratings
  1. "Not too bad to work for. Just long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy proggresion to different roles withing one company.

    Cons

    Long hours over contract which are not paid but as manager you have to be there when company needs

    Whitbread2019-07-30
  2. "Kitchen Manager Beefeater"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good progression programme, bupa benefits, 6 month CSP, 50 percent bonus potential, good maintenance contracts, staff discount, good team hours allowance

    Cons

    Low pay, poor contingency, stock delivery issues around peak trading months, no overtime despite it being unavoidable, young ROMs with little practical experience, no open door for issues

    Advice to Management

    Open the door for issues to be reported, renegotiate the standards expected by procurement, stop spending money on useless tech, vary the menus to fall in line with current trends and renegotiate prices charged to customers to increase footfall.

    Whitbread2017-05-17

    Whitbread Response

    November 10, 2017Company Representative

    Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you see some real positives about working for Whitbread and we hope that this continues. With regards to your other points we try to ensure that we offer competitive salaries, with the added motivation of our bonus scheme to enhance your earning potential. We have processes in place to ensure that all of our employees feel comfortable discussing issues, these include an ER Helpline and 24/7 access to Hospitality Action for completely confidential conversations. We are continually developing and expanding our menus and brands to ensure we meet current market trends, it's always competitive within the hospitality industry but we are confident that we will continue to grow our business with the help of our team. We wish you continued success within Beefeater and potentially other parts of the business if the right opportunity arises.

    Show Less
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and holiday with a great bonus scheme for managers. Kitchens are well maintained and equipment replaced quickly

    Cons

    Long hours leading to not much social life. You have to stick to company specs when sometimes they aren't great.

    Advice to Management

    Think of staff a bit more rather than just managers. Follow through with what head office say and don't just forget about projects

    Whitbread2016-05-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "kitchen manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Kitchen Manager in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread

    Pros

    wasn;t any after all i did for the company got nothing back when mum died

    Cons

    paid 1p when my mum died .. thats why i left after 15yrs working for the company

    Advice to Management

    look after your staff

    Whitbread2015-08-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "rubbish. cheap pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Manager in Christchurch, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    always available for work, team work, lots of part time work, friendly, it was great team work with 20 odd years ago with fresh food with less microwave

    Cons

    not enough promotions, low pay, far too many youngters rather than older teams, too many paperwork which course less on customers interactions. far too many microwave food now compare to 20 years ago.

    Advice to Management

    out fronts teams get good tips and bonus money when customers gets good feedback. but kitchens team gets nothing considering they are the one who actually cooks food! all out front team take food out and place on table, that it. bit unfair on kitchen teams ,give them something on bonus on monthly basis

    Whitbread2014-05-15
Found 5 reviews