Whitbread Reviews | Glassdoor

Whitbread Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Whitbread CEO Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
120 Ratings
  1. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, work hours, people. Alright at the end of the day.

    Cons

    Drama which doesn't say much as working in a kitchen.

    Advice to Management

    None to be given to them.

    Whitbread2019-08-22
  2. "Great place to work.. until new GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Play Area Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Great work life balance. Tips kept as your own. Great benefits with Premier Inns around the country. I came in originally as a Team Member and within 5 months was promoted to Team Leader. I really enjoyed my time at the Brewers Fayre, was there just a month shy of 2 years. I worked within the Play Area and enjoyed every minute of it. That was until we got a new GM. Them and I did not particularly see... eye to eye. Felt as though I was pushed out the door. Handing my notice to them and was told "I was expecting this to be honest." I couldn't believe it. I really do miss working there. I'd go back tomorrow if the current GM was not.

    Show More

    Cons

    I didn't really feel there was any.

    Whitbread2019-08-17
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hotel Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits; great management; development opportunities

    Cons

    Pay, it’s not enough for the stress we experiencing every day

    Whitbread2019-08-14
  4. "Leave your family, your kids and friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best company for some years, worst company currently

    Cons

    Senior management forces you to work every Friday, Saturday and Sunday no matter what. I have lost my family after spending 6 months without having a family day. My wife works during the week, my 2 children 1 year old and 8 year old are in school or nursery and I wasnt able to be with them. My contract was 48h per week no specification about specific hours or days. I have worked weeks with over 70h because I had to... work those days plus I have to work on my days off. When challenged, senior management simply tells you it's the job, get over with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You like to spend time with your family, you pay General Managers to run your business, let them run your business. We have a family too and we are there to do a job. Challenge the ones who are not performing instead of judging all the same. No wonder a lot of good people are leaving. I've got now my family back, working in the same industry and delivering great results. Dont expect people to look after you if you... dont look after them.

    Show More
    Whitbread2019-09-18
  5. "Brilliant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hotel Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and progression, excellent bonus scheme for senior management, scope to transfer internally, senior roles have better than average work life balance for hospitality industry.

    Cons

    - Team member retention can be low. Mostly due to hourly pay not being competitive enough. - labour model is very tight

    Advice to Management

    To become the most loved hotel chain, we need more flexible labour model to give the first class, individual and special attention to guests

    Whitbread2019-08-11
  6. "Wonderful Whitbread"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing, Costa Enterprises in Dunstable, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture, values - customer heartbeat, the whitbread way People Inclusive Clear kpis and objective appraisal setting and review

    Cons

    Location due to being on M1, Junction 11 - very heavy congestion Bigger office required Overflow car park a long walk

    Advice to Management

    Keep the whitbread way values and customer heartbeat. The only company values I remember!

    Whitbread2019-08-07
  7. "Average pay, amazing tips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful and supportive management Lots of tips which you get to take home every night Good benefits and discounts

    Cons

    No progression Low pay (makes up for it in tips)

    Advice to Management

    Help and advise the employees who want to progress their career

    Whitbread2019-08-08
  8. "Long Hours, Good Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Kitchen Team Member 

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chance to meet new people, fun job, and not bad pay.

    Cons

    Long hours, no social life, no sleeping pattern

    Whitbread2019-08-09
  9. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Reading, England

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Brilliant working culture within the organisation

    Cons

    Canteen to small but does the job anyway

    Advice to Management

    Work towards a new canteen

    Whitbread2019-08-01
  10. "Not too bad to work for. Just long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy proggresion to different roles withing one company.

    Cons

    Long hours over contract which are not paid but as manager you have to be there when company needs

    Whitbread2019-07-30
Found 449 reviews