Whitbread Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor

Whitbread Team Leader Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Whitbread CEO Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Banbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Privilege card with premier in discounts upto 50% off. Perks at work and sales incentives

    Cons

    Long hours, care more for money then the staff

    Advice to Management

    Look after you staff, sold costa for £4 billion but nothing happening to staff benefits

    Whitbread2019-07-11
  2. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount only thing I can think of

    Cons

    Everything else , poor management poor everything, awful awful awful do not work for the Monkey Puzzle , Brewers Fayre in Farnborough Hampshire

    Advice to Management

    Care more bout staff than bonuses and profit margins as with out looking out for your staff you willlose staff and never get the bonuses

    Whitbread2019-08-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for progression and team members usually get on

    Cons

    Once you hit team leader difficult to get to next step

    Advice to Management

    Employ more staff

    Whitbread2019-05-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not good for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    50% off food whilst on shift.

    Cons

    working every weekend and some evenings when i have children is no joke, i was not told this at interview. Management always discussing problems with other managers with team members. Breaks are deducted whether they are taken or not. Pay not great for the job that you do. No praise when you do a great job, unless it makes the company as a whole look good or if they need a candidate for a company newsletter. ... After almost 6 yrs working for Whitbread i feel totally under-valued and my hopes for progression are at a dead-end due to managers not accepting that i know my stuff, they don't want to listen.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't trick people into taking a job that is not suitable, don't tell team that you can make things right then not bother trying. Pay suitable wages to employees. Listen to the team, don't dismiss their concerns in favour of manager excuses

    Whitbread2017-01-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Luton, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the staff were nice people. Beyond that nothing else to say.

    Cons

    Bullying and back stabbing is rife encouraged and lead by management. Ask for any support from management and they will have you on a disciplinary and then sacked. Depressing soulless place to work. Worst place I have ever had the misfortune to l work. Thank god I got out.

    Advice to Management

    Start employing proper people in management not henchmen men. Great your employees with some respect.

    Whitbread2016-08-31
  7. "Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Yeovil, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    Great hours and wages. Discounts are also worth it.

    Cons

    The breaks are far too short.

    Advice to Management

    Sort the breaks out in yeovil

    Whitbread2015-05-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "rubbish but I guess better than no job just"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Reception Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread

    Pros

    People are great. cannot think of anything else which is good as they are pretty terrible to work for but of course when you work for them you have to keep quiet.

    Cons

    managers change all the time all have different rules. Head office keep on all the time to do things which are supposed to be voluntary. Only care about how they look. Money is horrendous nearly all on min wage

    Advice to Management

    Make your managers learn from the bottom up. Dont bring them in from outside with no knowledge & expect people who have been doing the job for years to respect what they are saying when they know its wrong

    Whitbread2015-05-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A true horror movie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Preparatory courses, shooting stars, some coworkers, chances of progressing in various areas of the hotel, chance of learning in other areas (cross training)

    Cons

    General manager totally unprepared, responsible for the dismissal of many employees who worked for many years in the hotel, too much pressure and little financial return for employees, employees paid below the average market.Nobody cares about what you did for the company , they dont look behind.

    Advice to Management

    Stop flirting with employees and prepare better for it to be a good leader, fair and realistic giving importance to what the staff do for the good of the company and recognizing the value of employees.

    Whitbread2014-11-02
  10. "A company with full of opportunities........"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great company with friendly working environment.....great opportunities for progression in short span.....timely training for staffs of all levels......great hierarchy system means more opportunities.....the best I like is the INCENTIVE after hitting targets every periods.

    Cons

    Even though audits are for good and is a must.....some times create pressure on all levels for a quite long period till audit actually happens. Also a department is being judged for the rest of the year just based on the audit of one day...which can be good or bad based on the mood of the employer that faces the auditor....

    Advice to Management

    The management right from the cluster manager to site manager is good .....the one- to -ones at individual sites need to be made more effective for the overall goodness of the site .....keep doing good....All the Best.

    Whitbread2014-07-02
Found 9 reviews