Whitbread Waiter Reviews | Glassdoor

Whitbread Waiter Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
Whitbread CEO Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
0 Ratings
  1. "Ok ish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Bournemouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% staff food discount when on shift

    Cons

    Short staff on few occasions

    Whitbread2018-12-10
  2. "Waiter in restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Leicester, England

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    got to keep tips good people

    Cons

    too often had to deal with complaints because of poor standard of food big company wanted uniform service which was understandable, but script for waiters step too far - doesn't allow for personality

    Whitbread2018-04-28

    Whitbread Response

    June 18, 2018

    Hi, thank you for your honest review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed working here. We appreciate the hospitality industry can be a difficult sector to work within and at times challenging especially when unexpected situations arise however we hope the interaction with our incredible guests made it all worth while. Good luck with your career.

    Show Less
  3. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waiter in Newquay, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very professional pace to work

    Cons

    No cons to think of

    Whitbread2018-01-04
  4. "Waitering Part-Time - Good money, but inflexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The money to be made can be of a decent level - Team are mostly friendly and easy to work with

    Cons

    - Very inflexible, Holiday is limited and must be applied for a month in advance - Cover for shifts is also very hard to obtain - Not recommended as a part-time job - Management is lacking, managers take a side role while the FOH and BOH work to cover this

    Advice to Management

    More flexibility and consideration is needed in the job - hiring more people or revising the holiday system would be needed if I were to work there again.

    Whitbread2016-07-08
  5. "Awful management but lots of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Waiter in Doncaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread for less than a year

    Pros

    The tips are good, if you are and some of the staff are great. Nice location means you're not often quiet.

    Cons

    The management is poor, always understaffed and not treating the staff well, unless you're a friend of the manager, then you get free reign.

    Advice to Management

    Look at your sales, if you're giving refunds and getting complaints look at the reason.

    Whitbread2015-08-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Hard Work and lowest pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Waiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread

    Pros

    Not very difficult. Not strict rules

    Cons

    not great cheam play between kitchen and waitress. kids holidays are horrible time.

    Whitbread2015-05-30
  7. "Hard work but fun people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waiter in Rainham, London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the people i work with, and seeing regular customers every weekend.

    Cons

    Their is no communication between kitchen and FOH, and I clean areas that become messy the next day.

    Advice to Management

    Their needs to be a better understanding of what is required to work in kitchen and FOH, so that communication is stronger. The whole building needs to be kept clean at all times, and every weekend I work, i try and do a deep clean of as much of the building as I can, but I come in the next weekend to see that no one has respected it and have made it messy again.

    Whitbread2014-07-23
  8. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time

    Pros

    Weekly pay and lovely customers

    Cons

    Horrible Management, area manager doesn't pay attention to anyone and its everyone for themselves

    Advice to Management

    Get feedback from the lower members of staff on the management

    Whitbread2014-03-16
  9. Helpful (3)

    "The worst company I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    well, really difficult to find any. only one thing may be positive if your work as waiter/waitress - tips, otherwise well underpaid job for work you doing.

    Cons

    staff meals/drinks - paid, unpaid breaks (it doesnt matter if you take one or not, till system will clock you out autoamticlly after 6 hours, for UNPAID 30 min) , loads of responsibilities (upselling, upsizing, cleaning, advertising, brand standard) for min wage, company doesnt care about their own workers, any good ideas how to improve your working place are ignored, the worst company i ve ever worked for!! No... loyality to company, staff demotivated, no benefits to be a part of whitbread whatsoever,

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    put more focus on yours staff not on the figuers - we are human not robots, appraciate our hard work,

    Whitbread2013-02-01
Found 9 reviews