Whitbread Waitress Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Waitress

Whitbread Waitress Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Whitbread CEO Alison Brittain
Alison Brittain
1 Ratings
  1. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount as costa, premier inn and other restaurants

    Cons

    Management is difficult as there’s so many on shift at the same time There’s a lot of online training when starting and a lot gets added to complete seasonally

    Whitbread2019-09-05
  2. "Fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waitress 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours 28 days holiday Good tips

    Cons

    Long shifts Unsociable hours

    Whitbread2019-07-28
  3. "Friendly Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Andover, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly team

    Cons

    Bad pay, sometimes under staffed

    Whitbread2019-07-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Dundee, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount cards Experience Some co workers Wages are decent Experience in all fields

    Cons

    Management don't know what they're doing High turn over of staff Long shifts (13 hours) with no break Don't cross train you for BoH shifts, just throw you in there

    Whitbread2019-04-06
  5. "Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in Teesside County Borough, England

    I have been working at Whitbread part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee relationships Competitive pay rate

    Cons

    Difficulty in progression, struggles once a team leader to progress further

    Whitbread2019-02-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "One of the worst places i've ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waitress in Frome, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitbread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't think of any worth commenting on.

    Cons

    Management had poor people skills/not great at managing people. Unfriendly work culture/environment. Terrible training. Customer discount more than staff discount.

    Whitbread2019-03-07
  7. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in Stanford-le-Hope, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Whitbread full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Good company to work with .

    Cons

    Nothing is bad to say with this company

    Advice to Management

    Every are perfect

    Whitbread2018-07-17

    Whitbread Response

    August 29, 2018Digital Content Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to add a review - much appreciated! We're really glad to see that you are having a good time working for us.

  8. "FOH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Exeter, England

    I worked at Whitbread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comfortable, easy, not bad pay (£6.31)

    Cons

    Was harassed by other staff. Hardly any tips. Poor food, some staff very difficult to get on with. Lazy.

    Whitbread2018-02-20

    Whitbread Response

    June 19, 2018

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately, with the limited information you've given in your review we aren't able to offer comment or investigate further. We do, however, partner with Hospitality Action who are an independent, and totally confidential service available to all our employee's 24 hours per day, 365 days a year. They can be contacted on 0808 802 2111.

    Show Less
  9. "Restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in Hayle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant team to work with

    Cons

    Customer complaints about silly stuff

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing just remember we are all a team. Serving up great memories is what we are good ate

    Whitbread2017-07-24
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress in Ashby de la Zouch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitbread part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge employee benefits across the whole whitbread chain not just the branch I work in. Get to meet many people from all over the country.

    Cons

    Not everybody is nice when you make a mistake so having to smile at them whilst they are down grading you is hard.

    Advice to Management

    Always back your colleagues even if the customer is not happy with it

    Whitbread2017-06-18
Found 18 reviews