White & Case Reviews | Glassdoor

White & Case Reviews

Updated Jun 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 174 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
White & Case CEO Hugh Verrier
Hugh Verrier
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Prestigious, demanding firm -- great place to work as a lawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is extremely interesting/complex; firm is very international in its outlook and diverse; partners seem to genuinely care about your development as a lawyer and promotion seems to be possible (albeit difficult, of course); offices are surprisingly integrated; colleagues are generally brilliant; compensation is top of the market in Miami.

    Cons

    Hours can be long/exhausting (in part driven by a few very demanding/workaholic partners)

    White & Case2019-05-09
  2. "Revolving Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Practice Assistant 

      I have been working at White & Case full-time

      Pros

      Great perks, beautiful building, company concerned for environment

      Cons

      Toxic atmosphere, replace employees quickly

      White & Case2019-06-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "Terrible Supervisor, Crazy Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Knowledge Management Department in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at White & Case full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The only pro was that I could list them on a resume when seeking another job.

      Cons

      Was hired to perform certain functions, but when I started they gave all my tasks to a different employee and stuck me with undefined responsibilities. The department director was extremely charismatic -- but also a bit crazy. All in all, it was a terrible experience.

      White & Case2019-05-07
    • "Great Environment - Lots of Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Practice Assistant in New York, NY

        I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great office, and staff. The space and the people make you feel welcome.

        Cons

        No firm wide vacation for holidays like Christmas Eve & NYE

        White & Case2019-04-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great Law Firm"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Practice Assistant in Palo Alto, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at White & Case full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Great health insurance and wellness programs.

        Cons

        None. I loved working here at Whit & Case.

        White & Case2019-03-30
      • Helpful (1)

        "Super demanding but I worked with a great team!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Washington, DC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at White & Case full-time

        Pros

        Good Pay, The attorneys are really willing to talk about law school and future within the law, Attorneys are nice

        Cons

        Super Demanding and Long hours but I didn't mind because I really was very fortunate to work with an amazing team

        White & Case2019-03-18
      • "Past account payable"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist 

          I worked at White & Case full-time

          Pros

          Salary is good and benefits are good

          Cons

          No team work and npt listing to new ideas

          White & Case2019-04-12
        • "Very nice place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Practice Assistant in New York, NY
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook

            I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Great work environment, nice coworkers and superiors, respectful. Beautiful building with free gym, cafeteria with decent priced meals, free snacks. Everyone is very helpful.

            Cons

            Stingy with raises. No opportunity for overtime work, at least in the banking section.

            White & Case2019-02-11
          • "Great company, little upward mobility."

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Business Development Coordinator in Tampa, FL
            Recommends
            Positive Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Incredible health benefits. Great bonus structure. Festive holiday party. Cell phone reimbursement.

            Cons

            No opportunity for growth. Bonuses could be higher. Never asked for upward feedback on supervisors.

            White & Case2019-02-05
          • Helpful (1)

            "Finance Department"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Approves of CEO

            I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Occasionally the office will provide snacks. Compensation is decent, but would not consider competitive. Benefits are good though.

            Cons

            The office (or at least my department) is rampant with office politics. Certain employees get favored and are subject to better treatment depending on how much they suck up to management. Management offers little to no help and is severely incompetent. Overall, it’s an unfriendly and unpleasant work environment that makes coming to work dreadful.

            Advice to Management

            Find new management. Clean up department. Provide opportunities for employees to advance rather than find ways to keep them down.

            White & Case2019-01-15
          Found 174 reviews