White & Case Reviews | Glassdoor

White & Case Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 173 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
White & Case CEO Hugh Verrier
Hugh Verrier
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Prestigious, demanding firm -- great place to work as a lawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work is extremely interesting/complex; firm is very international in its outlook and diverse; partners seem to genuinely care about your development as a lawyer and promotion seems to be possible (albeit difficult, of course); offices are surprisingly integrated; colleagues are generally brilliant; compensation is top of the market in Miami.

    Cons

    Hours can be long/exhausting (in part driven by a few very demanding/workaholic partners)

    White & Case2019-05-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible Supervisor, Crazy Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Knowledge Management Department in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at White & Case full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only pro was that I could list them on a resume when seeking another job.

    Cons

    Was hired to perform certain functions, but when I started they gave all my tasks to a different employee and stuck me with undefined responsibilities. The department director was extremely charismatic -- but also a bit crazy. All in all, it was a terrible experience.

    White & Case2019-05-07
  3. "Great Environment - Lots of Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Practice Assistant in New York, NY

      I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great office, and staff. The space and the people make you feel welcome.

      Cons

      No firm wide vacation for holidays like Christmas Eve & NYE

      White & Case2019-04-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Law Firm"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Practice Assistant in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at White & Case full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great health insurance and wellness programs.

      Cons

      None. I loved working here at Whit & Case.

      White & Case2019-03-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Super demanding but I worked with a great team!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at White & Case full-time

      Pros

      Good Pay, The attorneys are really willing to talk about law school and future within the law, Attorneys are nice

      Cons

      Super Demanding and Long hours but I didn't mind because I really was very fortunate to work with an amazing team

      White & Case2019-03-18
    • "Past account payable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Accounts Payable Specialist 

        I worked at White & Case full-time

        Pros

        Salary is good and benefits are good

        Cons

        No team work and npt listing to new ideas

        White & Case2019-04-12
      • "Very nice place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Practice Assistant in New York, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Great work environment, nice coworkers and superiors, respectful. Beautiful building with free gym, cafeteria with decent priced meals, free snacks. Everyone is very helpful.

          Cons

          Stingy with raises. No opportunity for overtime work, at least in the banking section.

          White & Case2019-02-11
        • "Great company, little upward mobility."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Business Development Coordinator in Tampa, FL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Incredible health benefits. Great bonus structure. Festive holiday party. Cell phone reimbursement.

          Cons

          No opportunity for growth. Bonuses could be higher. Never asked for upward feedback on supervisors.

          White & Case2019-02-05
        • Helpful (1)

          "Finance Department"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at White & Case full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Occasionally the office will provide snacks. Compensation is decent, but would not consider competitive. Benefits are good though.

          Cons

          The office (or at least my department) is rampant with office politics. Certain employees get favored and are subject to better treatment depending on how much they suck up to management. Management offers little to no help and is severely incompetent. Overall, it’s an unfriendly and unpleasant work environment that makes coming to work dreadful.

          Advice to Management

          Find new management. Clean up department. Provide opportunities for employees to advance rather than find ways to keep them down.

          White & Case2019-01-15
        • Helpful (1)

          "Great place to work"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at White & Case full-time

          Pros

          Awesome office space. Excellent opportunies. Fair compensation.

          Cons

          Long hours. Need to be an advocate for yourself when it comes to your future.

          White & Case2018-12-09
        Found 173 reviews