White & Williams Reviews | Glassdoor

White & Williams Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Guy A. Cellucci
5 Ratings
  1. "paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at White & Williams

      Pros

      This is an excellent firm at all levels, secretarial, paralegal and attorney. They treat their employees with respect and provide wonderful working conditions.

      Cons

      I don't know of any cons

      White & Williams2018-07-13
    • "A good starter firm for support staff"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at White & Williams full-time

      Pros

      Family-like feel for a large firm. The support staff are all team players and willing to assist with tasks outside their call of duty if need be.

      Cons

      At times there seems to be a lack in communication between support staff, attorneys, and clients.

      Advice to Management

      There needs to be a clearer understanding and set of standards as to what parties both in-house and out of the office are involved in a case, especially when it comes to billing.

      White & Williams2018-05-31
    • "Legal secretary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Secretary in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at White & Williams full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Sort of relaxed atmosphere overall

      Cons

      Pay at the very low end of the scale or below. Some people are expected to do everything while others get away with doing little to nothing.

      Advice to Management

      Treat your employees as you wish to be treated.

      White & Williams2017-11-30
    • Helpful (2)

      "Insurance was too high, felt like a lone wolf in my department"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at White & Williams full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The legal assistants and other support staff always went above and beyond to assist anyone. Many of them have been there 10 plus years and were very knowledgeable of procedures.

      Cons

      The attorney that I work with left me to my own accord, often having to quickly answer client questions without first being able to fact check with the proper instance of the law. I often felt underwater with my work load. When I told them that I needed help, because I was the only one in my department, I was told to "figure it out" as they don't provide overtime or allow anyone except attorneys to work from home....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get better insurance and provide assistance to your support staff when they need it.

      White & Williams2017-10-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "A Place to Coast Along"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at White & Williams full-time

      Pros

      Decent work life balance; hours requirements are 1900 but spongy. No origination needed for partnership consideration. Offices are in easy to reach locations.

      Cons

      Below market pay. Outdated technology, arcane personnel policies and consistently losing talented associates and staff to higher paying firms. Branch offices treated as ancillary to headquarters.

      Advice to Management

      Work on associate morale by investing in their development.

      White & Williams2017-08-03
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at White & Williams full-time

        Pros

        Good pay, decent work environment

        Cons

        Poor management, never know when you'll be laid off

        White & Williams2017-07-13
      • "Great Team"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Attorney in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at White & Williams part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Friendly staff and very down to earth partners and attorneys. My experience at the firm was great. Make no mistake: you will WORK when you are here, but the overall work:life balance was very fair.

        Cons

        Socially, I'd say there are none. I could not have asked for a more pleasant work experience. Pay leaves a little something to be desired.

        White & Williams2017-06-10
      • "Associate Attorney"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at White & Williams

        Pros

        Great company and positive culture

        Cons

        I had a very positive experience

        White & Williams2016-09-02
      • "Great leadership"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Legal in Philadelphia, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at White & Williams full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Not an uptight law firm. A family feeling. Great place to work without the pressure of some of the larger firms

        Cons

        No flexibility to work from home. Salaries are not at the levels of some of the larger firms. Some rainmakers aren't out for the firm

        White & Williams2016-03-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "Where to begin?"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Associate 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at White & Williams full-time

        Pros

        There were very few pros. There is perhaps more opportunity to take on responsibility over cases than there would be at a big firm. The partners occasionally offer guidance or training that is valuable. The firm has some name value in the Philadelphia metro area. There were some smart young associates in my office.

        Cons

        Many reviews on this site point out that the salary is below market. That is an understatement. The total compensation was about 1/3 that of associates at large firms in my area. it was less than some higher paying government jobs. There is a minimum 2000-2100 billable hour requirement (depending on the department) to earn that salary, with the business/corporate department requiring fewer hours and offering higher...

        Show More
        White & Williams2016-03-15
      Found 23 reviews