Whiting Petroleum Reviews | Glassdoor

Whiting Petroleum Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
63%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Whiting Petroleum President and Chief Executive Officer Brad Holly  (no image)
Brad Holly
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Other companies in the industry have dress down days or casual Fridays(in 3 reviews)

  • "At times, there could be a tremendous amount of work, possibly requiring overtime(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best employer I ever worked for. Great leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whiting Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible job hours, excellent work environment and team, management team cares for its employees

    Cons

    We could make use of the opportunity to hire more "professional" staffs.

    Continue reading
    Whiting Petroleum2019-11-04
  2. "job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Whiting Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    There is work to do at this company.

    Cons

    This is a commodity industry and the price of that commodity is set by OPEC, not the free market.

    Whiting Petroleum2020-01-06
  3. "Super great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lease Operator in Sidney, MT
    Recommends

    I worked at Whiting Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benifits, wages, hours, schedual ,bosses

    Cons

    Upper managment needs to wake up and put on a pair of gloves

    Continue reading
    Whiting Petroleum2019-12-18
  4. "Good people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer Tech in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whiting Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are supportive and work collaborative instead of competitive

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Whiting Petroleum2019-12-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A once great place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Whiting Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is still good. Benefits are good. Like every other oil company out there.

    Cons

    This WAS a fantastic place to work. Not any more. It’s a sweat shop. They cut 1/3 of the people this year. Given that, it goes without saying. The culture is horrible. While the new management likes to put on a flashy show and act like this have improved things for the better, under the surface the place is filled with discontent, resentment, and apathy. Few drink the kool-aid. They just nod and smile to keep their jobs. Most of the people left are just collecting a paycheck until they find something else or the next round of layoffs. People have been quitting in droves lately. The company is in bad shape financially with a mountain of debt and no real way to dig out. If you looking for a place to build a long career, this is not the place for you. There are tons of middle managers who don’t have the experience or capacity to do their job. Many of them just don’t know what they are doing or what they are supposed to do. For that matter, neither does the new senior leadership.

    Continue reading
    Whiting Petroleum2019-11-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in New Raymer, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Whiting Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Independence, good pay, excellent benefits, nice company truck.

    Cons

    Upper management is poor, poor communication, buddy system

    Whiting Petroleum2019-09-16
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Prior to new management, Whiting was great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whiting Petroleum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary Benefits Location Coworkers Community outreach

    Cons

    Limited individual growth Unhealthy silos Disregard for experienced workers Little to known direction from managers

    Continue reading
    Whiting Petroleum2019-09-06
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good pay... That's about it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whiting Petroleum full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At the time, you couldn't beat the pay or benefits. That was about it. Made it hard to leave.

    Cons

    The culture was toxic and very stressful. I definitely agree that it has a good 'ol boys club feeling. There are great individual people there of course, but there are many who should have been fired years ago that stay around while great people are laid off. Employees in my department were purposely kept from career developments and trainings. No growth opportunities were allowed, even though workloads increased and got more technical. There were many cultural issues that included team building sessions that felt mandatory with too much alcohol and a lack of professionalism. People who had, we'll say issues with "professionalism", were promoted over female counterparts. By the way, I wasn't part of any layoffs, but the recent ones reminded me to write a review.

    Continue reading
    Whiting Petroleum2019-07-31
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Support Analyst in Denver, CO

    I worked at Whiting Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay. Nice atmosphere. Excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Cyclical nature of oil and gas jobs.

    Whiting Petroleum2019-03-14
  10. Helpful (4)

    "A whole lot of stress!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whiting Petroleum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, fairly good pay

    Cons

    Awful moral in many areas. . Expect new employees to clean up what management swept under the rug. Huge amount of work and stress. Mid management doesn’t know what they are doing, no people skills.

    Continue reading
    Whiting Petroleum2019-03-11
Found 47 reviews