Whitney Museum Reviews | Glassdoor

Whitney Museum Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Whitney Museum CEO Leonard A. Lauder (no image)
Leonard A. Lauder
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Museum access, get inside look at upcoming exhibitions(in 10 reviews)

  • "access to other museums for free with plus one admission(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance; People work long hours here and they all work really hard(in 5 reviews)

  • "One of the married women in visitor services was sleeping with an architect, an artist and an intern all at the same time(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitney Museum part-time

    Pros

    access to other museums for free with plus one admission access to new openings and receptions and private member only events

    Cons

    the pay is not great, but it's a nonprofit.

    Whitney Museum2018-09-16
  2. "Decent place to work, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visitor Services Assistant in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whitney Museum part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, can add or drop shifts (so long as someone will pick them up) Good coworkers Museum access, get inside look at upcoming exhibitions Paid sick days/vacation accrues after a few months

    Cons

    Management treats you like a child Can be very boring working certain posts General Customer Service awfulness

    Whitney Museum2019-09-12
  3. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visitor Services Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitney Museum part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They offered extended hours so it was a great opportunity to pick up hours, lots of events, and extra hours for the biennial.

    Cons

    Managers are rude, do not discreetly reprimand you but embarrass you in front of everyone, one manager even put her hands on me and physically pulled me off of a stanchion because I was leaning on it during a 12 hour shift of just standing, they don't rotate staff fairly and definitely don't promote fairly, all promotions are based on favoritism and the color of your skin (needs to be white), the manager is black... but thinks shes white and is racist to other people of color. Managers do not care if you are being sexually harassed by other staff members they just brush it off and give them a tap on the hand.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change literally everything you do. I understand you are in the art world, but the way that you treat PEOPLE and your staff should be above everything

    Whitney Museum2019-05-18
  4. "They treat their employees terribly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Whitney Museum part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free museum entry is the main plus - they have reciprocal agreements with other museums in the city.

    Cons

    The customers are unbelievably rude, especially the members. People yelled at me all the time over small things, complained when we didn't have products they wanted, and so on. Your manager won't stand up for you. They hired me as a temp employee and promised they were going to keep me on. Then they fired me with no notice, so I had no time to look for a new job. They also tried to force us to skip lunch breaks... and leave early so they could save money. Their board is also full of despicable people, who own private prisons, manufacture weapons, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees. You might have a less chaotic operation and less money might go missing if you had more full-time or well-trained employees. Don't let entitled rich people walk all over them.

    Whitney Museum2019-05-13
  5. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visitor Services Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whitney Museum part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Without these 2 qualities this job would get 1 star: 1. Great and interesting colleagues. 2. Building is a nice place to work.

    Cons

    A lot of standing and the job is very repetitive bc visitors always ask the same questions. Job barely pays above minimum wage. There are NO possibilities for advancement to other positions within the museum even though quite a few colleagues would be very capable. Promises were made to provide professional development courses. Managers are super self-absorbed and get offended when being asked simple questions.... Managers really do not know what's going on on the floor and tend to have tyrannical management qualities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Managers pls get some courses in (people) management.

    Whitney Museum2019-03-28
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Gallery Assistant 

    I worked at Whitney Museum full-time

    Pros

    Great to look at art everyone

    Cons

    No cons about this place

    Whitney Museum2019-02-20
  7. "Great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gallery Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at Whitney Museum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Exposition to art Great coworkers Good location Well know institution

    Cons

    Customer Service job Long hour standing boring in slow days

    Whitney Museum2019-01-22
  8. "glorified role with no upward mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gallery Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Whitney Museum part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i like my coworkers across the visitor experience teams

    Cons

    back of house is condescending you just stand all day and tell people where the bathroom is and the hopper paintings and not to touch the art essentially glorified and non-union securiy

    Whitney Museum2019-01-27
  9. "Major Gifts Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whitney Museum full-time

    Pros

    Great institution with great values, opportunity to work with amazing people and artists, great programming.

    Cons

    Pay is very low by institutional standards. Caddy work environment

    Whitney Museum2018-11-03
  10. "Visitor services assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Whitney Museum part-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, interesting exhibitions on view.

    Cons

    Leadership micromanages and no opportunity for growth

    Advice to Management

    If you care about DEI, invest in your team

    Whitney Museum2018-11-08
Found 45 reviews