Whittier College Reviews | Glassdoor

Whittier College Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Whittier College President Sharon Herzberger
Sharon Herzberger
3 Ratings
  1. "Great school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at Whittier College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    small environment, small class sizes, a lot of career opportunities.

    Cons

    The food on campus.

    Whittier College2019-02-20
  2. "CAAS Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Peer Tutor 

    I have been working at Whittier College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative atmosphere to enhance minds

    Cons

    Limited hours for certain students

    Whittier College2019-11-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work here, it's that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Safety Officer in Whittier, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whittier College full-time

    Pros

    It's very lenient place to workbecause of how corrupt this place is. You can get away with almost anything cause they are afraid of getting sued or you have stuff on superiors.

    Cons

    Really this place is a joke, incompetent leadership, my manager had to lie to try to gain respect but we all know he was never a cop. Hr is shady and cant be trusted. They take care of there own, so if your not shady or corrupt they will try to fire you for going against the status quo.

    Continue reading
    Whittier College2019-10-12
  4. "Easy extra money for students with work-study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Accounting Tutor in Whittier, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whittier College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have almost no work most of the time, and the concepts taught are simple if you have a basic understanding of accounting terms. Flexible schedule and little supervision from upper levels.

    Cons

    Minimum wage. Annoying mandatory meetings and trainings, although you can avoid them with a valid excuse.

    Whittier College2019-06-04
  5. "Poet Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whittier College part-time

    Pros

    - got to know the campus better -boss was nice -great networking opportunity

    Cons

    -low pay -disorganized - current student staff is extremely unreliable

    Whittier College2018-10-31
  6. "Good work experience as undergrad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Whittier College part-time

    Pros

    -Small school -Able to reach out to supervisor

    Cons

    -Hire many students so every office may not have the same professional standards

    Whittier College2018-09-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Whittier College full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good for getting experience for year or 2 and leave. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Unfriendly Upper Management. There are no absolute moral values here. They hire their own graduates. Upper management doesn't care about staff. Some of the staff members are rude to other staff members and students, management doesn't do anything about it. favoritism is a practice here.

    Continue reading
    Whittier College2018-10-08
  8. "Friendly people, little opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whittier College

    Pros

    friendly faculty and staff, students who are kind and appreciative

    Cons

    has limited career options and pays below average; no true research opportunities; students may need more help than you are used to

    Continue reading
    Whittier College2018-08-04
  9. "Good experience, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whittier College part-time

    Pros

    Working with students, encouraging team

    Cons

    Pay, not always having work to do

    Whittier College2018-07-03
  10. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant 

    I worked at Whittier College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people and a lot of down time

    Cons

    Not enough hours and work was slow

    Whittier College2018-03-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 36 reviews