KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

WideOrbit

Engaged Employer

WideOrbit

Add a Review

WideOrbit Employee Reviews about "wideorbit"

Updated Nov 18, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 221 of over 221 reviews
4.3
88% Recommend to a Friend
WideOrbit Founder & CEO Eric R. Mathewson
90% Approve of CEO

Found 43 of over 221 reviews

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
WideOrbit Founder & CEO Eric R. Mathewson
Eric R. Mathewson
162 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

440

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of WideOrbit and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "wideorbit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years
    Featured Review

    Love the Innovation and Opportunities at WideOrbit

    Sep 21, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WideOrbit has been at the forefront of innovation and evaluating clients' needs. They are constantly assessing and providing ways to serve the clients better. WideOrbit has a plethora of great people who work hard and love what they do. WideOrbit invests in a Diversity and inclusion initiative because they understand the value of having a diverse workforce. The Diversity and Inclusion Committee will bring in guest speakers or have open discussions on various topics. The benefits and perks at WideOrbit are phenomenal; they are unlike any other company I have worked for before. WideOrbit offers remote work options and great health benefits. They even offer monthly wellness seminars! WideOrbit also offers competitive compensation, and the recruitment team is fantastic to work with.

    Cons

    There are many great new products and enhancing of existing products; it makes it a little challenging to keep up with all the new changes. Though it has vastly improved, some teams still work in a silo and it can appear to cause some duplicity of efforts.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Nov 18, 2021 - Product Support Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WideOrbit has a great culture with wonderful people.

    Cons

    sometimes internal help is slowed by department silos.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    WideOrbit Response

    Thank you for taking time to review WideOrbit company culture. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments about our employees who really make WideOrbit a great place to work! We are actively working across various levels of the company to address how we can strengthen cross-collaboration among departments. We appreciate the opportunity to improve processes and communication by reducing silos. If you would like to further discuss this topic or have additional feedback, we invite you to reach out to your manager or email hr@wideorbit.com.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great big company with small company personality

    Jul 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WideOrbit has been around for over 20 years and works hard to continue to solve customer challenges, WideOrbiters are AMAZING. Many people have been here 10, 20 years and the culture is fantastic. People are genuinely nice, no hidden agendas, go out of their way to help. Not one to rest on its success, the company works hard to continue to innovate. Great benefits, some unusual. Lots of support through the pandemic as we pivoted to remote work, and it's working.

    Cons

    As both a big and small company, we sometimes struggle with internal communications and ensuring we're all pulling together. Efforts are being made here, as well as in diversity and inclusion, and we strive to always be better. This is hard work. Expect to work hard, but also be appreciated for it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company, good people

    Dec 1, 2020 - Product Support Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees and management are generally very respectful and supportive of each other. Sabbaticals! We can take 4 weeks off after 4 years or 5 weeks off after 5 years from hire date or most recent sabbatical.

    Cons

    Moving into new roles and getting promoted can be challenging. Departments within WideOrbit sometimes feel siloed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Working at WideOrbit

    Dec 19, 2019 - Manager, Database Engineer in Lynnwood, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    So far I have truly enjoyed my time at WideOrbit. The people working here are friendly, hard-working, and fun to be around and the work-life balance is amazing. Pros include good benefits, work life balance, interesting work, challenging work, learning opportunities, and amazing co-workers.

    Cons

    It's a smaller company so you get normal small company problems which are usually trade offs. Things like less process but the ability to get stuff done without too much red tape. Breadth of work but people going to the same person who will get stuff done.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A wonderful company to work for that really invests in employees

    Jul 11, 2019 - Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits package and flexible on time off. Positive work environment. Coworkers are eager to help you learn and grow. Opportunities to advance your career. Many employees have been with the company for a long time. Flexibility to work from a home office or from a WideOrbit office. Management is top notch. They are eager to help and listen to their teams well.

    Cons

    Internal workflows and processes can be a little unclear. Product teams/department are fairly silo'd in their business (but this has been made a priority to address).

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A proud WideOrbiter for 13 years

    Jun 28, 2019 - Business Analyst in Springfield, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    With this company I've been given every opportunity to succeed, and feel I've been more than adequately compensated for doing so. I'm proud to be part of a company where hard work is justly rewarded. I've been happily employed with WideOrbit for 13 years and have every intention of one day retiring from WideOrbit feeling every bit as grateful and fulfilled in my career path as I am today.

    Cons

    I work remotely from my home office (by choice, and I know that I could move to one of our established office locations at any time if I wanted to ), and sometimes I do miss the comraderie of seeing/working with my peers in a closer physical environment. However, WideOrbit supplies and encourages the use of cameras during internal meetings, which gives me the opportunity to have face-to-face interactions with my co-workers across the country on a consistent basis.

    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great work environment and very good benefits/comp

    May 29, 2019 - Senior Systems Administrator/Developer in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WideOrbit is a solid company with a diverse set of products that has stood the test of time as a market leader. WideOrbit invests heavily in internal IT infrastructure and works hard to provide the right tools and support for its knowledge workers. The pay is very competitive, and the vacation/holiday schedule/sabbatical is more than generous. It shows a commitment to work/life balance that is much appreciated.

    Cons

    My main critique has always been that the various product lines are too "siloed" and while this makes sense given the need for specialization, I think more could be done to educate internal folks at a high level about all of the different products and initiatives. Perhaps more up-front training during the onboarding process would be of benefit.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great culture, great benefits and forward thinking company

    May 30, 2019 - Professional Services Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at WideOrbit for 16 years and it was the best decision I've made for my career. We have some of the smartest people working here and they are all happy to share their knowledge with others. It's a great place to learn - just ask! All employees are busy all the time and that is a great situation! We are all given the authority to do our jobs independently and interact with clients on a regular basis. Client satisfaction is a driving goal of everyone at WideOrbit. Benefits are great - Management keeps our rates low. Sabbaticals are a much valued perk, too.

    Cons

    Working remotely means you are not "in the know" with all the latest gossip. Thankfully!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    HUGE EGO and His Luck Has Ran Out

    Jun 12, 2019 - Inplementation Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home. Pistachios and M&Ms at the office

    Cons

    Most annoying thing.... after WideOrbit let go of 60+ people, the next day Eric sent out an email to the people still employed at the company telling them, "they were the chosen ones". Eric got lucky with the WideOrbit Traffic software he and his buddies developed. His lack of knowledge in the software and broadcast/advertising agency has caught up with him. His ego cost him a ton of money on a project he supported 4+ years His bad decision and ego effected many peoples lives this past February when 60+ people were let go of. WideOrbit seems to have hit a wall and has been unable to find another revenue stream to keep growing. Since, WideOrbit Traffic is in 90% of TV stations and roughly 65% of radio stations you are basically going to go work for a CALL CENTER. There are 30+ versions of their WideOrbit Traffic system they are supporting. They don't even know the definition of "Programmatic" and broadcasters are laughing at them. As I've been interviewing with companies, I've discovered how far behind WideOrbit and out of touch with the current state of the broadcast industry. Broadcasters are annoyed at WideOrbit and are hoping a competitor will replace their Sales and Traffic systems. They like to SHAME their employees. Toxic environment. I'm pretty sure you will see a flurry of good reviews after my bad review of the company.

    Continue reading
    23 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with WideOrbit Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at WideOrbit? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

WideOrbit

51 days ago

Careers
WideOrbit is #hiring! Our dynamic, forward-thinking Sales team has a variety of open positions, including Account Executive, Sales Engineer, Sales Director, and Sales Coordinator. Learn more about these Sales roles, and all our open positions, here: http://ow.ly/ecjo50JGShU
Shared image
Logo

WideOrbit

60 days ago

Culture
This month’s #MeetaWideOrbiter features Francesca Gaillard: My name is Francesca and I’m a senior software engineer. I currently work on back-end infrastructure, developing services and APIs to deliver data on demand. I started at WideOrbit in 2005, did a short stint in a green startup for 2 years, then came back. I’m in San Francisco working remotely from my home in the Sunset District with views of the Pacific Ocean (when there’s no fog). What do I enjoy about working at WideOrbit? I used to joke that it was the nice espresso machine in the café (not the excessive consumption of M&Ms), but the real reason is working with a bunch of genuinely nice people – a very smart, talented, and diverse group. We have nice benefits, including company gatherings that allow people to connect more personally. We also have a Balance and Belonging team, who work to make sure diversity and inclusion are more than just words, so everyone feels welcome and valued, and a Wellness Committee to encourage healthy habits. Outside of work, playing music and spending time with family is important to me.
Shared image
See all

WideOrbit Photos

+ Add Photo
WideOrbit photo of: SF Lobby
WideOrbit photo of: WideOrbit NAB 2022
WideOrbit photo of: Enjoying the view during the SF Office Walk/Run
WideOrbit photo of: Welcoming new WideOrbiters!
WideOrbit photo of: Implementation Team training session
WideOrbit photo of: NY Product Team
WideOrbit photo of: Release Engineer Team visiting the SF office
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 221 WideOrbit reviews submitted anonymously by WideOrbit employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if WideOrbit is right for you.