WildWorks Employee Reviews about "wildworks"

Updated May 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 54 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
WildWorks CEO Clark Stacey (no image)
Clark Stacey
36 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Management are good people but seem scatter brained at times and like they can’t quite decide where they want to go with their next games and growing the studio.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Can burn out on this type of work and pay could be better.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "wildworks"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Growing Technology

    May 16, 2018 - Software Developer in Draper, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WildWorks is a great place for tech. The tech team is growing as well as the quality of the tools and tech used. There is a lot of freedom when working on projects. Work life balance is fantastic with late hours being very rare. There some in office perks that just make the day to day a little better.

    Cons

    Compensation could be better. There are some departments that don't play well with others but this may be due to the former office being split up between floors.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    WildWorks is Great!

    Feb 12, 2016 - Illustrator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WildWorks encourages and fosters creativity and innovation. It is a lean and efficient, but growing company, that bring on new skilled new talent when needed to maintain the demands of it's growing audience. It is a company that is growing not only in size but in opportunities as we venture into new and exciting markets. Most of the people who work here are passionate about what we do and want to make it the best it can be. It's a company where management is open and transparent and does not out number the staff. Work is fast paced and deliberate, so when things do take a turn it can slow things down, but as a whole it seems like most of the staff adjusts well to those twists and turns and learns from them to make it better the next time. WildWorks provides great benefits in the form of compensation, health care packages, as well as health initiatives. They try to provide whatever the employee needs to effectively produce what's expected and inspires effort above and beyond in an effort to make things better. The office is very relaxed and makes it a comfortable place to work. They also encourage a healthy work/life balance and are flexible to individual needs while still maintaining a core work-time environment.

    Cons

    With the growth of the company it has has been hard to still know and work with everyone, so it is not as family-feel as it used to be. This also makes communication harder and more important.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    WildWorks Response

    Global Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate all employee feedback and we're glad to hear your experience has been a positive one. Growth can come with challenges as you mentioned. We're working hard to ensure our culture and work/life balance are preserved as the company grows.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best Place I've Ever Worked, But Room for Growth

    Mar 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The energy. It seems to me that everyone loves their job and this energy creates a great place to work. - Hours. I rarely have to work unexpected hours. - Content. I love working on games for kids. - Environment. I like where we work. It has a fun vibe. - Growth. I'm excited with the places the company is going. Though we are growing fast, I think that the executive team is handling this rapid growth pretty well. - Access to knowledge. WildWorks provides places for us to continue to learn. From books to conventions. - Tools. If I need a piece of equipment to do my job, it's provided. -The executive team. They aren't snooty or inaccessible. I trust in their ability to lead the company. -Bonuses. WildWorks provides the opportunity for quarterly bonuses dependent on specific goals. Overall, a really great place to work. I'd highly recommend it.

    Cons

    - Sometimes HR is overwhelmed. This makes it hard to utilize their services. - There is at least one instance of direct boss-employee nepotism. - While there is great interaction on each team, it seems that sometimes each group silos themselves from other teams.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay Away From This Sinking Ship

    Nov 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was a fun job at times and I liked most of my coworkers.

    Cons

    They are down to a skeleton crew now and the nice people who are left know their days are numbered. It's very sad, considering that WildWorks tries to portray themselves as a caring, family-friendly organization. In short, the game is failing. Fewer and fewer children are playing. For some reason, WildWorks went on some hiring blitz before realizing membership was way down. So, a lot of good people have been axed in several mass culls this year. We knew the score - it's a contract position and work isn't guaranteed. But kicking people out of the system before they even know they're fired? Talking to their face like nothing is going on that morning? Heck, a lot of us who were fired were even Facebook friends with the people who fired us! We know you! You are supposed to be our friends?! This feels like such a cowardly betrayal. Just a warm, personal email would suffice. I'd understand. But a cold form letter, after years of working with you? Unbelievable. I don't see Animal Jam lasting much longer, period. They have some great people still there. I hope THEY can enjoy the holidays because Christmas probably won't happen for a lot of us who just lost their jobs.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Stagnant, unstable studio

    May 21, 2017 - Developer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's hard to tell the pros anymore. There used to be a commitment to employee well-being and a sense of stability.

    Cons

    A management coup happened last week. The founder who built the company was fired. At the same time, they fired 13 otherwise valuable employees, perceived as too loyal to the old founder. Understand that all reviews posted on Glassdoor prior to 5/14/2017 were under the leadership of the old founder. WildWorks is no longer the same company. In day-to-day terms, work is fractured between several small groups who hardly communicate with anyone else, and the level of frustration and political bureaucracy for a relatively small company is ridiculous. Post-coup, the remnants of empowered technical leadership are laughably unqualified. The treacherous executives and their cronies not only don't mind this state of affairs, but created it to give cover to their plots. They've conspired for years to remove the company's founder from power and block out the employees who had built the company from the ground up, replacing the company's core with image-obsessed cargo-culters. This is only the first round of layoffs. Expect more. Anyone not currently associated with WildWorks should not be fooled by the skeleton of the company that once was; the new boss will attempt to keep this up, but the heart has been gutted. Getting involved with this company now is a tragedy.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful

    WildWorks Response

    Global Marketing Manager

    There were three original founders of WildWorks, and it is correct that the company’s investors recently removed one of the co-founders from the management team. It is not uncommon for the board of directors of a successful startup to prepare for the next phase of growth by replacing some early-stage managers with executive skillsets appropriate for growing larger companies. WildWorks is still led by the same CEO, CFO, and head of development that have presided over its past five years of growth and success, and it is positioned to continue growing with exciting new IP in development by the world’s greatest kids digital entertainment team. We are a stable, profitable company that is equally dedicated to providing a great creative work environment to our employees as we are to making great games. Over the past 14 years, we’ve lost vanishingly few team members to internal restructuring or performance deficiencies. We regret that there are evidently hard feelings with this former employee, but we wish them and all WildWorks alumni continued success and creative fulfillment in the games industry.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Great Place to Work

    Feb 12, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WildWorks strives to create an open and collaborative workplace. Healthy work/life balance is also encouraged. It is great to be part of a team of talented and creative individuals who are passionate about the product they are creating. Besides the day-to-day work, continual professional development and learning are encouraged. Management is generally receptive to new ideas and trying new things. There is also a fair amount of transparency regarding how and why particular decisions get made. Overall, WildWorks is a great place to work.

    Cons

    The workplace is fairly homogenous. There is a lack of women in leadership positions, and in other positions women and minorities are underrepresented. Departments occasionally seem like their own silos - there is great collaboration within departments, but working across departments does pose particular challenges.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A really good place to work

    Feb 29, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been with WildWorks for many years now, and I feel lucky to be here. The team is great to work with, and upper management is kind and down to earth. In an industry that frequently over-works its employees (movies/games) it's rare to be with a company that respects it's employee's time. WildWorks offers a great work/life balance that has been good for me and my family.

    Cons

    No company is perfect and that's true here as well. WildWorks has one really successful property and all of our games are based on that property. If you are really creative, you might find that environment a bit limiting.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Growing Company with Great Benefits

    Jan 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WildWorks offers great flexibility to their employees, ensuring a healthy work/life balance not seen at many other gaming studios in SLC. Working on children's games is really fun and the environment is really creative. The management team is transparent with growth goals and are available for the staff to talk to. Fun perks for staff including

    Cons

    Management isn't clear on career growth and goals for individuals, despite setting goals for the whole company each quarter. Communication is open in the office, but it appears as though all direction comes from the studio founder rather than leveraging the expertise of the staff they've hired.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    WildWorks Response

    Global Marketing Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate all employee feedback and you've raised some very interesting points. We're glad to hear you have a positive outlook and that you recommend us. Individual growth for our employees is vital to the company and we'll take your recommendations into consideration.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A top innovative creative company

    Feb 29, 2016 -  in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WildWorks cares about their employees. They try to make work a fun place to be. They have rich benefits that are implemented as well as fun activities for team spirit on a regular basis. They promote education and a flexible culture where you want to give the company your best because you know they care about you. Turn over is minimal with growth consistent. Longest time I have worked anywhere and continue to love the people, the product created here and the environment.

    Cons

    Have to get out of bed to come to work. No cons come to mind.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Wonderful environment, passionate people!

    Feb 8, 2016 - Licensing Illustrator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WildWorks is very selective about their members--making sure everyone will ignite creativity in another. This makes for some powerful and passionate teams. I haven't met anyone working here that doesn't want to be. The environment is fun and interactive and encouraging. The management does its very best to cultivate a space wherein you will produce your best work.

    Cons

    I am spoiled for other jobs now that I've worked with such driven team members. It would be a bummer to leave!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with WildWorks Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at WildWorks? Share Your Experiences

WildWorks logo
or