Wildlife Conservation Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Wildlife Conservation Society Reviews

Updated 28 de Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 112 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Wildlife Conservation Society CEO Cristián Samper (no image)
Cristián Samper
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to learn a lot about the animals(in 17 reviews)

  • "Strong mission, great campus at Bronx Zoo(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Its non for profit so the pay is not that great, and the work life balance is non existent during some times of the years(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are many great leaders at WCS, and then there are many that lack true management skills(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wildlife Conservation Society part-time

    Pros

    Easy work and great environment

    Cons

    A lot of people in the zoo on Wednesdays

    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-08-29
  2. "Wcs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Zoological Attendantttendant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wildlife Conservation Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.great goals.. treat the animals great. Some position s are union

    Cons

    Non profit agencies suckles to work for. Forget about your weekend s holidays required to work.. depending on your position.. outside all weather

    Continue reading
    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-05-29
  3. "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wildlife Conservation Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working with SOME of my co-workers. They really were like a family.

    Cons

    My head manager definitely had her favorites, and I wasn’t one of them. She would knit pick everything I would do. There was one time that we got mystery shopped and someone didn’t hit any of the 5 things we were suppose to hit, and I swear she was so angry at whoever didn’t hit the points. I could’ve swore she thought it was me, and gave me side eye the end day. Surprise surprise, it wasn’t me. One of the leads coworkers had told the head manager about me showing another worker some of the stuff we were selling as she was interested in buying. I had to be pulled aside and “talked” to. Never in my life have I had someone who I thought was chill do that. So glad I never came back to work here.

    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-06-06
  4. Helpful (2)

    "You're just a cog in a broken machine."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wildlife Conservation Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Educating the public on conservation. Feeling like you're a part of something bigger.

    Cons

    Ran by a tight knit group of lifers whom have never held positions outside of WCS. There is no real room for advancement due to the ancient boys club. There is nasty subculture of sexism. Highly unattainable goals. Low pay.

    Continue reading
    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-05-09
  5. "Fun job in a challenging atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Development Coordinator in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wildlife Conservation Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work is very enjoyable and the mission of the organization is inspiring.

    Cons

    The internal politics are challenging and stifling to employee enjoyment and creativity.

    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-04-10
  6. "Not the best work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wildlife Conservation Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours are flexible and you are able to visit the zoo for free

    Cons

    Your hours get cut quite often and not always distributed evenly

    Continue reading
    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-04-05
  7. "Lots of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Children's Zoo Associate in Bronx, NY

    I worked at Wildlife Conservation Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to learn a lot about the animals

    Cons

    Competitive field, therefore it's difficult to advance.

    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-03-13
  8. "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Crew in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Wildlife Conservation Society part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun, many events, pay is good

    Cons

    Limited hours, when it rains you get called off

    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-03-26
  9. "Some good and some bad at Central Park Zoo."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wildlife Conservation Society part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co workers, middle management is good but may take time to get use to. Work is easy and you don't have to work late.

    Cons

    Manager is very tough to work with, working outside can be rough and the manager doesn't make it easier. Dealing with guest can be hard at times.

    Continue reading
    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-01-15
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great mission, bad internal politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at Wildlife Conservation Society full-time

    Pros

    The mission is great and Bronx Zoo is a beautiful place to work.

    Cons

    Salary is low, even for nonprofits. Internal politics and boys club atmosphere are problematic. Management needs work. Many policies which protect the upper-levels at the expense of the average employee.

    Continue reading
    Wildlife Conservation Society2019-01-02
Found 112 reviews