Wilkes University Reviews | Glassdoor

Wilkes University Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Wilkes University CEO Patrick Leahy
Patrick Leahy
5 Ratings
  1. "Wilkes University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilkes-Barre, PA

    I have been working at Wilkes University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent place to work and study

    Cons

    Lacks the name recognition of other institutuions

    Wilkes University2019-05-21
  2. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wilkes University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule depending on department, walkable to shopping and restaurants for lunch

    Cons

    People often promoted for wrong reasons, revolving door in some departments

    Advice to Management

    Need a president and senior leadership who is for all of the employees, not just a few chosen favorites and who is there for the university and not just his/her agenda to further him/herself.

    Wilkes University2019-07-19
  3. "Great but has its flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilkes University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits and pay are great.

    Cons

    No direction for anything. Departments pass off responsibilities until completion which causes confusion for students. Office politics are the “weirdest” that I’ve ever experienced.

    Advice to Management

    There’s no saving this place. Sorry.

    Wilkes University2019-06-05
  4. "Very flexible hours and work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilkes University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It makes good money while you're still in school.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Wilkes University2019-04-10
  5. "OK Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilkes University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PTO is excellent. Healthcare OK. Good hours. Low stress.

    Cons

    No training. Difficult to advance

    Advice to Management

    Train current staff to stay current on technology

    Wilkes University2019-02-14
  6. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wilkes University part-time

    Pros

    Better for communicating with people.

    Cons

    Time-consuming, and sometimes hard to cope with.

    Wilkes University2018-11-28
  7. "Great great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wilkes University for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people. Great culture.

    Cons

    Poor salary structure. Horrible benefits. No room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to offer good benefits at low cost. Invest in your employees.

    Wilkes University2018-11-07
  8. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wilkes University part-time

    Pros

    Flexible and considerate work environment.

    Cons

    They have very tight budget for their graduate assistants.

    Wilkes University2018-09-30
  9. "Great Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Wilkes University part-time

    Pros

    Although I only worked part time, I was supported by the staff and felt that the work I did had value to staff and students alike

    Cons

    My experience was positive, no cons.

    Wilkes University2018-06-11
  10. "Worst Job I Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Level I in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wilkes University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Tuition for self or family, however you will be heavily taxed in your paycheck. Benefits are nice. Paid two week vacation around Xmas time.

    Cons

    Must start out at 3rd shift & will work there for undetermined amount of time until you can switch to 1st. Very low pay and expected to work very hard for it. Management is bored & will harass you all night. If you plan on using the Tuition Remission, management will watch you even closer and work you harder.

    Wilkes University2018-02-08
Found 33 reviews