Willamette Dental Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Willamette Dental Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 204 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Eugene Skourtes
154 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great people and awesome management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Puyallup, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, environment friendly, good benefits and better pay to start

    Cons

    There is no downside of working here as long as you love helping people in need.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Willamette Dental Group2019-02-23
  2. "It’s an insurance company first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Dentist in Cascadia, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Benefits, paid time off, predictable work in competitive markets

    Cons

    Long hours, limited professional autonomy, micromanagement. The insurance is the income, dentistry is an expense.

    Advice to Management

    Be flexible and modernize your workplace environment and culture

    Willamette Dental Group2019-05-07

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 16, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry to hear that you didn’t have the autonomy you were seeking. With more than 500,000 members and 52 practices we strive to provide continuity of care to all our patients through evidence based dentistry.

  3. "Good benefits and pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richland, WA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great pay! Time off is nice! The company philosophy is great!

    Cons

    Working Saturdays and not being able to flex your schedule

    Advice to Management

    Let us flex our schedules a little more so we can be there for our families and childrens' sports events!

    Willamette Dental Group2019-05-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Room for Improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Dental Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good pay, full time hours, three day weekends, overtime opportunities.

    Cons

    Quantity over quality, worked to absolute death with jam-packed schedules, hard to balance work/life, old technology.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to take care of their employees first and foremost so that we can give the best possible care. There's too much emphasis on getting people in and out the door and it makes quality seem like it's not the primary goal.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-04-25

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 16, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re proud of our electronic health record and digital radiography solutions. We’re sorry to hear you don’t feel like you have a good work/life balance. We understand it can be challenging for some to work 10 hour days, seeing patients from 7 a.m. – ...

    Show More
  5. "Must be ready to be efficient, busy schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group part-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, able to focus on patient treatment without the stress of management. Group practice setting.

    Cons

    Frequent policy changes, both positive and negative. No salary adjustments to match lnflation. No benefits for seniority.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-04-23

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 16, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your perspective and years of service. Innovation is one of our core values, and because we practice evidenced based dentistry and follow the medical model, this requires us to change and embrace the new science and literature. Our Associate Dentist compensation is ...

    Show More
  6. "Low salary, but guaranteed money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - General Dentist 

      I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time

      Pros

      Guaranteed money and guaranteed hours

      Cons

      Low wages, no incentive to produce

      Willamette Dental Group2019-04-17

      Willamette Dental Group Response

      May 17, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

      We appreciate your feedback. It’s true that we don’t focus on production but instead on getting, or keeping, our patients healthy. Associate Dentists compensation is based on Pay for Performance metrics and not the traditional fee-for-service and/or corporate insurance reimbursement.

    • "Great benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Great benefits, medical, dental, vision, PTO, holiday pay etc

      Cons

      Can feel stressed to meet metrics

      Willamette Dental Group2019-04-16

      Willamette Dental Group Response

      May 16, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

      We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your 5+ years of service!

    • "Terrible working conditions."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richland, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      PTO. Because that’s all you work for is the time off.

      Cons

      Lazy and incompetent management. Don't bother working here if you are teamwork oriented or have good work ethic. There are 5 people that control the Richland office (out of 35+ employees) that do absolutely nothing for the company, their patient care and access, and to their coworkers. Since these select few people have all the free time during their work day, they are in both managers offices manipulating and telling...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Allowing your 3 friends to dictate your managerial decisions, and calling it an efficient way of managing, is lying to yourself and creating the toxic environment that has always been there at the Richland WDG. I am so glad I left when I did.

      Willamette Dental Group2019-04-12

      Willamette Dental Group Response

      May 17, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry to hear about your experience at the Richland Practice. If you’ve not done so already, we encourage you to complete an “Exit Interview” with our employee relations team or email wdgemployeerelations@willamettedental.com for a confidential ...

      Show More
    • "Micromanagement is the new normal here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Staff in Hillsboro, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They are able to spend money on upgrades and people that are needed at times, some good processes in place

      Cons

      Micromanagement and inability to listen to employees were the main factors that made me leave. I worked with a good team of people there, but the new management made me stressed out 3x more than I should have been as I was always worried about losing my job. Kept holding my 'annual review' over my head as a threat, and was always commenting that I wasn't doing my job (spoiler alert: I was doing my job+ more).

      Advice to Management

      Listen to what the employees say. If they go over their bosses head to tell you that there's an issue, you should take that. especially if you have several people telling you the same thing.

      Willamette Dental Group2019-04-11

      Willamette Dental Group Response

      May 17, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry to hear about your experience. If you’ve not done so already, we encourage you to complete an “Exit Interview” with our employee relations team or email wdgemployeerelations@willamettedental.com for a confidential conversation.

    • "Just ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      4 day work weeks, Decent benefits and numbers of patients seen wasn't overwhelming.

      Cons

      Long working hrs on saturdays

      Willamette Dental Group2019-03-29

      Willamette Dental Group Response

      May 20, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your review. Our 4 day (40 hour) work weeks with 1 Saturday per month enable our employees a better work/life balance while meeting our patients needs and desires to have Saturday appointments.

    Found 204 reviews