Willamette Dental Group "dentists" Reviews | Glassdoor

Willamette Dental Group Employee Reviews about "dentists"

Updated Mar 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Willamette Dental Group President & CEO Eugene Skourtes (no image)
Eugene Skourtes
165 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and wonderful people to work with(in 27 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, Vacation time, Opportunity to grow(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, limited professional autonomy, micromanagement(in 15 reviews)

  • "Overworked dentists and hygentists - noncompetes make it hard to leave(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dentists"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Care Advocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Advocate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company really strives in every way to focus on prevention of dental issues, rather than reaction to dental issues. They care about their patients and work hard to guarantee continuity of care, as far as seeing the same provider every time a patient is seen. They are innovative when it comes to patient care. They care about their employees as well, working hard to listen to their needs and desires and providing both positive and critical feedback that helps in patient care. When my work schedule of 4-10's wasn't working with my home life, they worked hard to ensure that a switch to 5-8's would work with the office schedules, as well as my own. My office also really focuses on good teambuilding activities and fun; we've really become a family and work very well together. This company does have a lot of opportunity, as long as there is someone else to cover what you're leaving empty.

    Cons

    Sometimes, because they care so much about patient care, it can bog them down. If a patient calls in for an appointment that should be addressed within a week, and their provider is out on vacation or sick; they are given the option to see another provider, as a permanent change. I don't think it's fair for a patient to be forced to see another provider permanently simply because theirs is out of the office for a week. I also disagree with how referrals are processed. They go through a review process, in which they may be approved or denied. If denied, I have to then call a patient that is potentially in a lot of pain, and tell them that, "Sorry, you can't actually see the oral surgeon, you have to come back and see your general dentist first". This seems like backwards patient care to me; if a provider feels that they cannot properly care for their patient and they need to see a specialist; trust that they referred them for a good reason.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2018-04-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "More political than congress!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great medical benefits. Good PTO.

    Cons

    Appaling favortism and nepotism. Complete ignorance of bad behavior by HR and Management. If you are making the company money or perceived to be doing so, you are lawless. Overworked dentists and hygentists - noncompetes make it hard to leave. High volume of patients with severe dental issues. Bare minimum, cheapest treatments, they advise patients even with dental problems to only be seen annually or less. Decades behind on technology, tools, materials and treatments. Facilities need vast overhaul. Use predominately Chinese labs. Long waits for paitients to get in. Very few specialty providers despite alarming need. Long hours. What you expect from a low-end managed care option. More importance for business bottom line than patients and employees.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2019-03-20

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 20, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review and your 8+ years of service. We’re sorry to hear you left with a less than favorable opinion of our Evidence-Based Dental Group. We’re proud of our state of the art electronic health record and digital radiography solutions. In 2018 we recruited and hired more than 12 specialists in endodontics, oral surgery and orthodontics to address the growing specialty need among our patients.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Good benefits (for non-dentist employees only) 2. Friendly working environment 3. Guarantee pay/ salary based. Good for STARTERS.

    Cons

    1. Benefits are the same as any other companies (I don't see why people perceive this as a pro. Full benefits for full time "dentist" are considered common sense nowadays. It's not a "selling point." 2. Terrible pay for the time you spent working. Salary based. Yes, there are elements based on "performance," but you won't get what you want unless you stay for at least 1 year, which is a waste of time for "experienced" dentists. If you're from the East coast, you know how low you get paid per day as a starter. This is worse. 3. Partially evidence-based. Yes, they claim they have research teams w/ some dental schools or research centers. You will never know if this is true as an individual. Since the company is claimed as "evidence-based," they expect employees to listen and do as told to what is provided. This is deceitful for employees who actually want to learn dentistry. 4. No opportunities for specialty work, unless you're higher up on the tier. Biased/favoritism on some employees. Yes, you CAN do specialty work but it comes with requirements and regulations, to the point they will just discourage you from doing them. You won't have adequate instruments/equipment to do specialty work. Even if you have all you need, you need to have your assistants "trained" with time to know exactly what you are doing. In all, it's a total waste of time if you are planning on doing something you don't usually do before. 5. No actual autonomy. After all, you're an employee of a private company. 6. Staffs are not properly trained or balanced in team management. Higher ups get more experienced staffs. Does this matter? Yes, more experienced staffs can do more work efficiently, thus won't waste your time doing something that's not on your job description. After all, the company will ask you "nicely" to spend time to help others on a daily basis. Why? all in all is to save money.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2018-08-12

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 20, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry to hear about your experience. If you’ve not done so already, we encourage you to complete an “Exit Interview” with our employee relations team or email them at wdgemployeerelations@willamettedental.com for a confidential conversation.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (10)

    "dentist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    somewhat good benefits, some good competent coworkers

    Cons

    very toxic place to work, management not supportive at all only point fingers when problem occurs, super busy schedules. had to take lots of BS and abuse from management, special for office level. Flaky and two faces management and they attack on your back, even make up lies to cause terrible drama. Warnings to Pts: don't come to WDG since they always get rid of experienced dentists and replace with new grads, most of them don't know what they are doing, only show such so fake care to get good feedback , you can find in their web site, every Dr is 4.5 out of 5 ratings, you have to ask yourself " really? " Also this is HMO type of dental insurance company so they will do as little as possible to make more money for themselves. They have no interest to focus on clinical excellence. Dishonest, all for show.

    Willamette Dental Group2017-12-25

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    February 27, 2018Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    We’re sorry to hear your negative opinion of working at Willamette. We’re proud of our management teams and we’re sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience. We’re also proud of our track record of retaining our talented, long term Dentists, as well as hiring skilled newer graduates. Our goal is to hire Dentists who are passionate about our proactive dental care philosophy, will put our patients first, and who meet our high clinical standards. We want to make our patients healthier so that they don’t need as many invasive treatments and their healthy, natural teeth can stay intact longer. It’s about practicing dentistry responsibly: with honesty, integrity and a dentist-patient partnership focused on promoting long-term health. That’s what Willamette Dental Group stands for and we’re sincerely sorry you didn’t feel that during your time with us.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Run by a megalomaniacal demagogue with a crazy treatment philosophy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits package, PTO, friendly competent staff

    Cons

    So many things wrong with this insurance company. That's the most important. They're not a dental practice, they're an insurance company that hires dentists. You don't get paid based on what you do, how hard you work, or the quality of your dentistry. You get paid by how well patients rate you (its a popularity contest so they can sell more insurance), and how many open appointment slots you have in your schedule, things that you have no control over. You'll be away from your family for 12 hours a day even on Saturdays. You work from 7-6, so you're away from home from 6:30am until 6:30pm. You'll be seeing 30-35 patients a day. How much time do you think you get to spend with patients if you're cramming in 30 people into 10 hours? 20 minutes per patient. No time to convince them that you're a good dentist and they should give you a good review. Nope. They'll complain that you didn't spend enough time with them. But if you DO spend more time with them, then your schedule fills up for weeks at a time and the company docks your pay because you don't have any openings. You can't have it both ways, and that's how they screw you. The owner is making millions though. He even bought a ten million dollar building for OHSU with his name on the side. And he decides how and when you can do procedures. Its not like they teach you in school. Its a "proactive and innovative" philosophy and If you don't do it his way, you get fired. They tell you not to refer patients to specialists because they'll dock the cost from your paycheck. You can only do crowns on healthy patients. If a patient is healthy, he doesn't need a crown! Who does crowns on healthy people? They say they're proactive, then they tell you not to take out wisdom teeth unless they're infected. How is that proactive?

    Willamette Dental Group2017-11-16

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    January 30, 2018Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Willamette Dental Group was started by 2 Dentists in 1970 who wanted to find a new approach to dentistry that focused on preventive care and long term health of patients, rather than the traditional fee-for-service model. We contracted with one of the first coordinated dental care programs in the 1970s, and in 1983 we began to offer our patients our own pre-paid dental plans. Willamette Dental Group is a privately owned family of companies including a group dental practice, and we are still run by one of the founding Dentists. Our treatment philosophy is, and has always been, proactive, preventive, and based on evidence. Our ultimate goal is the long term dental health of our patients. It’s important that all Willamette Dental Group Dentists truly believe in and practice this same philosophy of dentistry because that is what our patients are promised and what they expect from us. We are unique in that our dentists aren’t paid by the number of fillings and crowns they perform, but instead are expected to deliver the appropriate care at the right time for each individual patient. Dentist compensation isn’t determined by traditional production goals, which means our Dentists are free, and expected, to do only what is in the patient’s best interest. While this style of dentistry doesn’t appeal to all Dentists, this is where the future of dentistry is heading, and we aim to hire Dentists that feel as passionately as we do about proactive, preventive care, and evidence based dentistry. We’re sorry this was not a good fit for you and wish you well in future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Management/owner disconnect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group

    Pros

    Benefits, fair salary for doctors who handle full patient load

    Cons

    Practice managers are over-stressed with unrealistic goals, constant staff turnover, practice managers and managing dentists only wanting to hire new grads on the cheap, work environment that burns people out, management/owner disconnect with employees.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2016-11-20

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    February 9, 2017Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We’re happy to hear our excellent benefits and compensation packages met your needs. We truly pride ourselves on hiring the best qualified candidate for each position, and our Dentist candidates go through a thorough, multi-part VIP interview process to ensure we’re hiring the provider who is the best fit for each office’s needs. We do appreciate your feedback however and will take your comments into consideration.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great company but, Practice Manager and new Doctor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Good pay. Great dentists before the new one was hired. The company really cares about employees. They aren't into selling dentistry.

    Cons

    Practice manager is very lazy. Went to PM at least 6 times. New Dentist shouldn't be practicing dentistry. Very hard to get fired at willamette dental.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2016-03-16

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    March 22, 2016Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We'd love the chance to learn more about what we could do to improve, so please feel free to email wdgemployeerelations@willamettedental.com to share more details and discuss your experience further.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great to horrible, depending on location and local management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dental Hygienist in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Clinical staff and the majority of offices are close knit and well run. Some of the nicest and hardest working people you have ever met. Huge focus on prevention and remineralization rather than drill and fill. Personal benefits were nice: PTO, medical, dental, CE funds, license assistance, optometry.

    Cons

    Be wary of the office you join as all it takes is one office manager or managing dentist to ruin your career. Tried to work through some serious issues and all I got were misleading statements all the way up to the end. Benefits are poor if you have dependents. 10 hour days that can run smoothly if your team is in a helpful mood but more often than not, you are seeing 12+ patients in a day almost by yourself (majority of them brand new patients right now). Obviously, this leads to some serious rushing, which then keeps you up at night thinking about what you may have missed. Then knowing about what others have missed in a chart or in a mouth as you see their patients after them.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2014-05-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews