Willamette Dental Group "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Willamette Dental Group Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Willamette Dental Group President & CEO Eugene Skourtes (no image)
Eugene Skourtes
165 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and wonderful people to work with(in 27 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, Vacation time, Opportunity to grow(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, limited professional autonomy, micromanagement(in 15 reviews)

  • "Overworked dentists and hygentists - noncompetes make it hard to leave(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great people and awesome management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Puyallup, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, environment friendly, good benefits and better pay to start

    Cons

    There is no downside of working here as long as you love helping people in need.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2019-02-23

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are so proud of our employees and managers!

    Continue reading
  2. "Lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Lab Technician in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, Vacation time, Opportunity to grow. close to home. good managers.

    Cons

    negative talking can be fixed.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2018-03-30

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    April 30, 2018Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review! We appreciate the feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "Impossible to do ethical dentistry in this environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and decent salary

    Cons

    Impossible to meet goals, salaried at 40 hrs/week but they expect you to work more than that (they overbook your patient schedule, which causes you to work late in the evening to complete chart notes and other admin. duties. They tell you you have freedom as a provider to to make treatment choices and options choices that you feel are the best for patient, but this is not at all true. They want you to do inexpensive, less costly treatment. They only allow patients to come in once/year for routine cleanings, even if patient prefers a 6 month cleaning. It was difficult for me to justify this and other treatment options to patient.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2019-11-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "WDG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay. Good employer

    Cons

    Horrible scrubs long hours

    Willamette Dental Group2019-08-29

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are glad to hear you are happy working here and appreciate the benefits and pay. We are pleased to provide a robust benefit and compensation package for our employees and their families. Your continued support and hard work is greatly appreciated in making Willamette Dental Group a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  5. "Good insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and good benefits, get to help people

    Cons

    burnout, depends on office but some offices with micromanagement

    Willamette Dental Group2019-08-20

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    October 21, 2019Employee Relations

    Thank you for the feedback. We take pride in being able to provide a robust benefit package to our employees and their families! Additional feedback on how we can further support the office, and even your manager, to continue making Willamette a great place to work would be helpful. If you haven't already, please feel free to reach out to our Employee Relations department.

    Continue reading
  6. "Cool company with a lot of benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits! Tons of PTO. Healthcare. Free dental. Etc. Lots of perks! Cool coworkers and manager!

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth unless you want to be manager at some point and an opening comes up.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-01-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not Transparent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Dentist in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, Excellent software Good educational opportunities

    Cons

    Portland-focused administration. Lack of clear leadership- is it the clinicians or administrators that determine patient care? Sycophantic second -tier management does not communicate up-or down -regarding issues. Cult-like culture

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2019-01-10

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 20, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback and more than 8 years of providing care to your patients. We’re proud to have a Dentist and Restorative Hygienist, with more than 80 years of combined experience, leading our clinical and operational initiatives. In January 2019 we announced our newest role, the Director of Clinical Operations. Three of our existing Managing Dentists, with over 40 years of combined experience, filled these newest clinical operations roles to partner and support our practices.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great mission, full of potential, but holding themselves back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time

    Pros

    No shortage of work. Not as silo'd as other companies. Still retains a little of small company feel. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Upper management is disconnected from middle. Middle management generally are not mentored or trained up to better serve their employees. Major communication gaps. Major rift between clinical and business focus. Employees are told to come up with ideas but they are never implemented, their voices are lost. Decision making seems to be the hardest part due to decision changing rapidly without warning, causing frustration, loss of revenue, expense to employee moral and a general disconnected feeling.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2018-11-06

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 20, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. The benefits of working for a small private company where decisions can be made quickly are the foundation of Willamette Dental Group. In January 2019 we announced our newest role, the Director of Clinical Operations. Three of our existing Managing Dentists, with over 40 years of combined experience, filled these newest clinical operations roles to partner and support our practices.

    Continue reading
  9. "Dental assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, great support from co-workers, good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours, packed schedule, feel like patients don’t get enough personalized care. Feel like doctors are told to just patch teeth rather than place a crown, patients come back for continuous broken teeth. The feeling that new grads or younger less experienced assistants are favorited over more mature, highly skilled ones. You get the “not a good fit” when trying to get placed in a full time position or changing locations. That doesn’t help one try to “fix” or better themselves in their career. The interview process for current employees varies and are not always fair or without bias. Management, in general, has its favorites and seem to let it show (not all). Those in on-call positions aren’t treated like they are apart of the company, just the help and aren’t appreciated. There are those that care but aren’t in position to help. Doctors aren’t given enough say so during the hiring process. My experience has not been positive and feel like as an older highly skilled assistant who’s number 1 duty is to make patients experience an amazing one, I don’t matter. A few staff members who don’t like you can keep you from growing and achieving your goals. Willamette my not be my employer of choice.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2018-08-24

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 20, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry to hear about the challenges you’re experiencing as an on-call Dental Assistant. If you’ve not done so already, we encourage you to contact our employee relations team or email them at wdgemployeerelations@willamettedental.com for a confidential conversation.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not the best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Good benefits (for non-dentist employees only) 2. Friendly working environment 3. Guarantee pay/ salary based. Good for STARTERS.

    Cons

    1. Benefits are the same as any other companies (I don't see why people perceive this as a pro. Full benefits for full time "dentist" are considered common sense nowadays. It's not a "selling point." 2. Terrible pay for the time you spent working. Salary based. Yes, there are elements based on "performance," but you won't get what you want unless you stay for at least 1 year, which is a waste of time for "experienced" dentists. If you're from the East coast, you know how low you get paid per day as a starter. This is worse. 3. Partially evidence-based. Yes, they claim they have research teams w/ some dental schools or research centers. You will never know if this is true as an individual. Since the company is claimed as "evidence-based," they expect employees to listen and do as told to what is provided. This is deceitful for employees who actually want to learn dentistry. 4. No opportunities for specialty work, unless you're higher up on the tier. Biased/favoritism on some employees. Yes, you CAN do specialty work but it comes with requirements and regulations, to the point they will just discourage you from doing them. You won't have adequate instruments/equipment to do specialty work. Even if you have all you need, you need to have your assistants "trained" with time to know exactly what you are doing. In all, it's a total waste of time if you are planning on doing something you don't usually do before. 5. No actual autonomy. After all, you're an employee of a private company. 6. Staffs are not properly trained or balanced in team management. Higher ups get more experienced staffs. Does this matter? Yes, more experienced staffs can do more work efficiently, thus won't waste your time doing something that's not on your job description. After all, the company will ask you "nicely" to spend time to help others on a daily basis. Why? all in all is to save money.

    Continue reading
    Willamette Dental Group2018-08-12

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 20, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry to hear about your experience. If you’ve not done so already, we encourage you to complete an “Exit Interview” with our employee relations team or email them at wdgemployeerelations@willamettedental.com for a confidential conversation.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews