William Blair Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
95%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
William Blair President and CEO John R. Ettelson
John R. Ettelson
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Culture, Collaborative Environment, Flat Organization(in 18 reviews)

  • "Flexibility, work life balance, senior mgmt, responsibility from the start(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Research 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at William Blair full-time

    Pros

    Great Culture, Collaborative Environment, Flat Organization

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be challenging as is common in the industry.

    William Blair2020-05-20
  2. "Solid opportunity"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at William Blair full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork, organized, good opportunity, great leadership

    Cons

    Titles were misleading, pay was just ok. Need better succession planning.

    William Blair2020-05-13
  3. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Digital Marketing in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at William Blair full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture with nice people.

    Cons

    Working with Investment Banking was challenging.

    William Blair2020-04-21

    William Blair Response

    April 21, 2020Culture & Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your input is appreciated! We wish you much success in your future endeavors.

  4. "Great Culture"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Investment Banking Analyst in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at William Blair full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and work environment

    Cons

    Smaller Shop but still alot of opportunities

    William Blair2020-03-09

    William Blair Response

    March 20, 2020Culture & Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We appreciate the feedback and are happy that you are enjoying your time at William Blair!

  5. "Intern"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Private Wealth Management 

    I have been working at William Blair part-time

    Pros

    Really good internship experience with WB

    Cons

    Interview process took a good amount of time

    William Blair2020-03-16

    William Blair Response

    March 17, 2020Culture & Talent

    Thank you for submitting a review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy that you are enjoying your internship experience at William Blair!

  6. "Excellent culture, brilliant colleagues, and lots of opportunity for personal and professional growth."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at William Blair full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highly competitive compensation, clear firm mission, great market reputation, exciting and challenging engagements

    Cons

    Work-life balance (but this is a challenge at all investment banks)

    Continue reading
    William Blair2019-10-27

    William Blair Response

    December 10, 2019Culture & Talent

    Thank you for your valuable perspective and for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

  7. "Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at William Blair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture with abundant opportunities to network with senior bankers, smaller teams

    Cons

    Similar to other investment banking hours, long hours.

    William Blair2019-10-24

    William Blair Response

    December 10, 2019Culture & Talent

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our people and our culture are two of the most important things at William Blair. We continually invest in employees, and have launched several new firm initiatives to further enhance our culture and employee experience.

  8. "Research associate"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Equity Research Associate 

    I have been working at William Blair full-time

    Pros

    Can long a lot in a short time

    Cons

    Work pretty long long hours

    William Blair2019-10-21

    William Blair Response

    December 10, 2019Culture & Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Your input is valued and appreciated!

  9. "Good for an investment bank"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investment Banking Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at William Blair full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most senior people mean well - Excellent in enterprise SaaS

    Cons

    - Because SF has so many other great opportunities, the quality of the associates and VPs was suspect

    William Blair2019-10-20

    William Blair Response

    December 10, 2019Culture & Talent

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Thank you.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good for industry"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at William Blair full-time

    Pros

    Relatively good culture as a result of quality people

    Cons

    Still subject to some of same cultural downsides as rest of industry

    William Blair2019-10-14

    William Blair Response

    November 6, 2019Culture & Talent

    Your comment regarding the firm's culture is the "result of our quality people" supports our firm mission and values. We appreciate the time you took to provide us with feedback and we wish you much luck in your future endeavors!

Found 157 reviews