Willkie Farr Reviews

Updated May 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Willkie Farr Co-Chairman Thomas M. (Tom) Cerabino (no image)
Thomas M. (Tom) Cerabino
27 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Avoid.

    May 20, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a paycheck, otherwise, none.

    Cons

    Upper level management, sexism, racism, no growth, the list goes on...

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great place to work!

    Sep 13, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great clients and talented attorneys

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be tough, but definitely better than peer firms

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Associate

    Aug 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good NY pay, no hours requirement, partners in NY are nice

    Cons

    Some of the more powerful partners in Houston are very difficult to work for and it makes the entire office an unpleasant place to work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Run. Run while you can.

    May 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Willkie looks good on a resume... and that’s about it. Though if you’re looking to make a move to another law firm, be careful about how much enthusiasm you show for WFG - everyone else in the NYC legal community knows them to be a ‘difficult’ company with questionable billing practices.

    Cons

    To be clear, everyone was perfectly cordial with me, but there were glaring problems with the firm. Allow me to elaborate: I’ve never seen lawyers actively disparage clients behind their backs, but WFG changed that. Partners insist on turning an hour of work into 3-5 hours billed to the client. The asset management practice consistently referred to their largest client (investment practice with $3 trillion AUM) as ‘lazy and stupid.’ 3rd year associates needed explanations on basic financial products (i.e. ‘fund of fund’) from our legal assistants... we should have paid those kids more. Saying this as someone who’s Caucasian - it was more than apparent to me that the firm is extremely uncomfortable employing / promoting people of color. After years of priding myself on being a part of, and supporting, a number of diverse environments, I found myself in a place that was anything but. Feel free to look at the list of partners. And although I didn’t encounter this particular issue, it was also clear that there’s little room for upwards mobility. The moment I got an offer for promotion, I leveraged it for a position at a different firm and got out of dodge.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Administrative Assistant

    Dec 26, 2016 - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP has excellent employee benefits. The firm has outstanding structure, whenever a new program was going to be rolled out we were given classes and educated about the new program and how it was going to work. The help desk was always very helpful, the attorneys were friendly for the most part. I really enjoyed my time working at WFG, we were always made to feel valued as an employee. The management was always very approachable and personable.

    Cons

    I didn't really feel like there were many cons to working at WFG. I greatly respected their vision and felt like I contributed to a great firm when I worked there.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A decent place to work and retire

    Jul 31, 2012 - Legal Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Job security, it takes a lot to get fired, you get to do a lot if you want to tackle onto your resume. Pay is pretty decent in this industry. Benefits are ok and flexsible schedule for people with kids or like to work different hours.

    Cons

    Glass ceiling is very high, no promotions, you have to leave and come back for a higher position. Job security also leads to a lot of laziness in the support personnel.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Willkie Farr and Gallagher was a great learning experience for my craft.

    Aug 20, 2014 - Housekeeping in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Willkie Farr and Gallagher Is a great company to work with because its a hands on job that can better your experience and its a big company so there is room for you to grow and make a career out of your job.

    Cons

    some of the challenges of working with Willkie Farr and Gallagher are your giving an assignment and you have an deadline to complete that assignment.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP

    Dec 17, 2010 -  in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Willkie Farr provides a highly professional environment, with a top notch staff, and great clients. The attorneys are among the best and brightest.

    Cons

    Communications from management can be rather limited. This attitude is particularly pervasive in the corporate group, which is very male-dominated and operates with a "good old boys" tenor. For example, in times when corporate work was scarce, senior male associates and partners often circumvented the official assignment process to give the best projects to young male associates. It is not a place to succeed as a woman in corporate law.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    WILLKIE IS AWESOME!

    Feb 27, 2016 - Receptionist Administrative in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Willkie is a large very busy firm, but, we work like one big happy family with one another and we work good together too! Everyone knows your name and who you are. Willkie truly cares for their employees starting from the top and all in between! Says a lot about a firm where people who've worked there for over 50 years and some just don't want to leave and always come back if they do.

    Cons

    There are none from me!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Senior Associate (left in 2010)

    Dec 20, 2016 - Senior Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, reasonable workload, good location. Good to be a satellite office of larger firm so you don't get involved in politics

    Cons

    Extremely difficult to be made partner from within unless someone else retires/leaves. Lack of closeness to NY office can make it harder to get resources

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 21 - 30 of 63 Reviews

Popular Careers with Willkie Farr Job Seekers

E-discovery Attorney
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Willkie Farr? Share Your Experiences

Willkie Farr logo
or