Wilmar Reviews | Glassdoor

Wilmar Reviews

Updated 8 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Wilmar CEO Kuok Khoon Hong (no image)
Kuok Khoon Hong
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work Life balance, details, hard-working(in 4 reviews)

  • "Unstructured programme, which means you have to take charge of your own learning(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Short, just getting to know one another. He liked me, but will see all the candidates scheduled today for a call back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wilmar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is certainly a job that fits my interests. I just have to wait and see.

    Cons

    Wilmar has many affilations and I am sure it would be a pressure situation

    Continue reading
    Wilmar2014-10-23
  2. "Wilmar has forgot their humble beginnings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wilmar full-time

    Pros

    - Great company, with diversified businesses

    Cons

    - Not looking out for older employees - Too diversified of a business - No career growth for someone without a higher degree - Company not looking for growth in other countries (apart from those they are already active in) - No work-life balance - Forgot their roots and founders, promoting younger employees instead of older ones - Management is a snake - CEO not careful about keeping their older employees, and making sure they are taken care of; probably because CEO has too much on his plate (investments in Real Estate, music, entertainment etc.)

    Continue reading
    Wilmar2018-12-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Unimpressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Wilmar

    Pros

    Flexiblity. Nice people to work with in the field.

    Cons

    Never going to make the money they said was possible.

    Wilmar2016-07-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible place to work. Impossible to please, demand at least 12 hour days, weekends, etc., no flexibility."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilmar

    Pros

    None that I can think of.

    Cons

    NO WORK/LIFE BALANCE AT ALL. You have to eat, drink, sleep Wilmar. No matter how hard you work or whatever genius idea/solution you have, they are never satisfied, never a "thank you", pat on the back, just negativity.

    Continue reading
    Wilmar2014-09-05
  5. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Wilmar

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Cannot think of any right now

    Wilmar2013-02-13
  6. "Very good customer service support, but no training support for Sales Representatives."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Portland, OR
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wilmar

    Pros

    For the most part, everyone is very nice and supportive. There is a positive energy and attitude at this company. There are very few reports, but still an accountability to manage your account base. They compete well against their biggest competitor.

    Cons

    There is no training or professional development offered. Until a new DSM came on board, there were no Monday morning calls or regular communication by management. The base pay is very low and is non-negotiable. In order to significantly impact your commissions, you really need to grow overall sales tremendously, which probably takes 6-12 months at least. There is no good month and bad month unless you happen to have a huge sale, which is rare.

    Continue reading
    Wilmar2012-05-14
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wilmar full-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment with nice colleagues

    Cons

    Not much to learn.

    Continue reading
    Wilmar2019-09-09
  8. "Wilmar accountant in yarraville office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Yarraville
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wilmar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and bonus Nice middle management Training and personal development

    Cons

    Higher management are not always in touch with middle management

    Wilmar2019-08-02
  9. "Toxic working environment and team. A lot of backstabbers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wilmar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary and friends who are not in your team.

    Cons

    Toxic working environment and team.

    Wilmar2019-08-01
  10. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wilmar full-time

    Pros

    Lots of possibilities for growth and development

    Cons

    the market is too volatile

    Wilmar2019-05-22
Found 59 reviews