Wilson Elser Reviews | Glassdoor

Wilson Elser Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 216 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Wilson Elser CEO Dan McMahon
Dan McMahon
52 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Professionals with a work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Attorney in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very diverse practice areas. Deep litigation experience. International reach. Family-first work environment, including part-time arrangements. I've grown more as an attorney at Wilson Elser and been with the firm longer than any other office, and look forward to many more years to come.

    Cons

    Complex work from day one

    Wilson Elser2018-10-12
  2. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - A/R Collector in White Plains, NY

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, freedom to get work done, and work from home opportunities

    Cons

    Management has different training styles

    Advice to Management

    More cohesion in training

    Wilson Elser2019-05-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Very nice place to work - excellent office environment and capable attorneys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilson Elser full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All of the attorneys are genuinely nice people. They really do care about their fellows/personnel, and management is available to listen and be flexible when needed. Lots of cooperation between the attorneys, and they really stress on being professional and ethical (very rare nowadays!). As an Associate, as long as you are billing your hours you will not get problems in taking some days off for a vacation or other...

    Show More

    Cons

    No 401k contribution; high billable requirement (2000 - 2100 to be bonus eligible); type of work in the Las Vegas office is pretty much only personal injury; lower pay compared to other firms that are the same size, especially when counting the high billables. Of Counsel/Partnership track is not really clear. I wish there a discussion with each Associates as how to get there from the very beginning, maybe creating...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    With a few changes, this office could really be an amazing place to work at. Billables are really high, especially for an insurance defense firm where you are not really allowed to bill for all your activities. Allow for some positions part-time, completely remote, and/or hourly. It is hard, but you will be able to retain more talents.

    Wilson Elser2019-04-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Company Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really enjoy working for Wilson Elser.

    Cons

    There is an expectation of billing 2100 hrs.

    Wilson Elser2019-03-18
  5. "Associate Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time

      Pros

      Great working environment. Great people to work with.

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Wilson Elser2018-11-28
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in White Plains, NY
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great place to work, learn and grow professionally.

      Cons

      Long hours but flexible schedule.

      Wilson Elser2018-01-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Secretary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Wilson Elser full-time

      Pros

      Great people to work for. Great attorneys.

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Wilson Elser2018-01-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Friendly, inclusive environment and flexible schedule."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Wilson Elser part-time

      Pros

      The staff is very friendly and inclusive of all members of the staff. Working part-time they’ve been extremely flexible of my schedule.

      Cons

      There is sometimes a lack of direction.

      Wilson Elser2018-01-16
    • "Attorney"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Wilson Elser full-time

      Pros

      Great work experience and nice people.

      Cons

      No cons to report at this time.

      Wilson Elser2017-11-24
    • "Summer Staff Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Wilson Elser full-time

        Pros

        experienced workers, a lot of people to learn from

        Cons

        interns can get lost in the scurry of what is going on, there is no structured program for interns

        Advice to Management

        structured program for interns

        Wilson Elser2017-05-11
      Found 216 reviews