WilsonHCG Reviews | Glassdoor

WilsonHCG Reviews

Updated January 13, 2019
221 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
WilsonHCG CEO John Wilson
John Wilson
159 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Flexibility - I work from home which gives me lots of flexibility and a good work-life balance" (in 31 reviews)

  • "Very generous PTO- the company respects and provides an awesome work-life balance" (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is "0" & I mean "0" work/life balance so don't believe it when they preach it" (in 14 reviews)

  • "Working from home is not for everyone" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Sky's the limit!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WilsonHCG full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    • The calibre of the team - we are a truly diverse organisation and it's been a great experience getting to interact with and learn from so many colleagues around the world
    • Top quality clients - I've had the opportunity to work with some of the fastest growing and most innovative organizations in the world across lots of different industries - from high growth startups to F500 household names. To see that we're making a tangible impact and contributing to their growth is really rewarding, even if it does sound like a cliche
    • Growth - we've been experiencing steady growth since I joined and that's progressively stepped up a gear! Considering the scale of our growth, leadership are doing a good job navigating us through change and preserving our culture. That growth has provided lots of opportunity for me and many others - you really can shape your own career path here! That being said, nothing is handed to you, you have to be prepared to work hard
    • Flexibility - I work from home which gives me lots of flexibility and a good work-life balance. I still feel as supported by my team and manager as if I were physically in an office-space alongside them and WilsonHCG does a great job making you feel connected and a part of the wider community

    Cons

    Nothing immediately springs to mind!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the communication and transparency - it's appreciated! The only other piece of advice I can think of is around continuing to prepare and support people in or moving into leadership roles (particularly at mid-management level). Be mindful that top-performers don't always make the best managers. I know that this is already a focus but they say people don't leave organizations, they leave managers so I think it's an important call out. Personally, I've had some good leaders, some outstanding leaders and some not-so-great leaders during my time at WilsonHCG. The not-so-great ones were still highly talented and great individual contributors but weren't necessarily suited to a people leadership role.

    WilsonHCG Response

    Sep 24, 2018 – People & Culture Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to review WilsonHCG and provide feedback!

    We are really happy to hear you enjoy interacting with colleagues across the world! We are very proud of our DNA and the... More


  2. "Incredible place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WilsonHCG full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Culture
    Excellent leadership
    Unlimited Support and Training
    Career Growth and Advancement
    Healthy work/life balance
    Great benefits

    Cons

    There isn't anything that I have found negative.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, great people, not the best pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WilsonHCG full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great work culture. John Wilson, the CEO, is a great guy. People in the company like Dave Mahr and Justin Derie have truly helped keep great talent. Good recruitment experiences.

    Cons

    Comp is quite low, growth is something that takes months to achieve. Even when you qualify for a comp rise, it takes quite some time for this to come to fruition (multiple people need to approve)

    Advice to Management

    Please pay your current employees. Its extremely discouraging to hear about new hires coming in making more than current talent.


  4. "Better 3rd party recruiter firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WilsonHCG full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you are hitting your goals management leaves you alone, you don't get pushed into leadership and can make it an 8-5 with an hour lunch each day.

    Cons

    Benefits costs are higher with the limited number of US employees

    WilsonHCG Response

    Jan 22, 2019

    Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

    We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy work-life balance at WilsonHCG and that you perceive the goals set for Recruitment Consultants as... More


  5. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WilsonHCG full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Remote work opportunity!
    Great support and collaboration
    Drive to excel and be an industry leader

    Cons

    Ramp up period is intense!

    WilsonHCG Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – People & Culture Specialist

    Hi,

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us!

    It’s great to hear that you appreciate our environment of mutual support, collaboration, respect, and trust. We will continue to invest in the... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Taylors, SC
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Taylors, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WilsonHCG full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work-life balance, great training program, great support system, amazing culture, and wonderful management.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    WilsonHCG Response

    Nov 9, 2018 – Director of Employee Engagement & Relations

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so glad to hear that your experience with WilsonHCG has been so positive!

    Work-life balance is incredibly important and we are happy to hear that you... More


  7. "Continuous growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WilsonHCG full-time

    Pros

    If you show up, get your work done, and have a good time while doing it you will do well at WilsonHCG.

    - Since I started 6mo+ ago WilsonHCG continues to grow every week it seems
    - Multiple career paths for advancement
    - Constantly seeing internal promotions of well-qualified people
    - Good ideas are heard no matter where they come from in the business
    - Volunteer time off
    - Monthly all in update calls with the entire company
    - Multiple stretch opportunities outside of your normal job role
    - A lot of cross-collaboration
    - Weekly office huddle ups for peer to peer recognition

    Cons

    - Normal growing pains in a fast-paced environment
    - Low performers will be left behind
    - Too many communication channels, but they are working on consolidating

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employee feedback. The P&C team is awesome in communicating with the internal employees.

    WilsonHCG Response

    Nov 13, 2018 – Public Relations Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at WilsonHCG. It’s always great to hear such positive things from someone who obviously enjoys their time at work!
    As a company, we aim to... More

  8. "From Good to GREAT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WilsonHCG full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible and virtual work
    Great People!
    A company that truly cares about employees
    Growth company with lots of new opportunities
    Recognition Programs
    Fun committees and teams to work on
    Stretch assignments

    Cons

    We move really fast because of our growth, so it can be exhausting! I guess that is a good problem to have.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to feedback! Love the All-In and CEO calls.

    WilsonHCG Response

    Sep 7, 2018 – People & Culture Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! We're glad to hear your experience has been positive!

    We're always looking to celebrate our employees' strengths and to provide... More


  9. "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at WilsonHCG full-time

    Pros

    Working virtually and the salary

    Cons

    Nothing, we have to put something here though

    WilsonHCG Response

    Sep 6, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to write the review and share your feedback.

    We are glad you find WilsonHCG the best company to work for! We are proud to be a growing global company and we strive... More


  10. Helpful (12)

    "Could Be Exceptional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at WilsonHCG full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    WilsonHCG is stocked with many passionate, wonderful, brilliant people. People who want to work hard together to achieve the company's mission and vision while living out its values. The best people make WilsonHCG. If you work with the right people, they will invest in you as much as you invest in them. The people can make your job exceptional.

    Global company, so there is a lot of opportunity to gain experience.

    Cons

    Mostly, I am bummed out. WilsonHCG claims to be a number of things - filled with integrity, honest, transparent, growing in a way that doesn't outpace the growth of its people, unlike every other fast-moving staffing firm. It strives to be, it could be. It wants to be, I think. But unfortunately there are a number of people from the top down who refuse to let it.

    WilsonHCG isn't a company of integrity, and that makes it scary and exhausting to go to work each morning. "Open door" is encouraged, but you never know how your honest concerns or feedback will be received.

    Fear is an important part of WilsonHCG's success. WilsonHCG works hard to celebrate positive accomplishments, but they do so in a way that makes sure you never feel too high, that you feel accomplished but still worry you might not be doing enough.

    Advice to Management

    Please, I beg you. Take stock of your people. Listen to them. Trust them. Respect them as more than just role titles. You have the opportunity to outpace all of your competitors, and you will if you keep the focus on your people - as individuals, as more than cogs in a machine, with empathy. This isn't a review to push people away from WilsonHCG - it's posted with hope you will act on what you say you are, that you will do what's right even when it's not the easiest route, and that you will listen to the people who are having a hard time with their management, team or executive leadership. They might provide insight you haven't previously considered.

    WilsonHCG Response

    Jul 16, 2018 – Director of Employee Engagement & Relations

    Hello,

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to give your transparent thoughts and feelings. It is evident that you care about the culture and success of... More