Wilton Brands Reviews | Glassdoor

Wilton Brands Reviews

Updated September 18, 2017
86 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Wilton Brands CEO Sue Buchta
Sue Buchta
21 Ratings

86 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Summer hours are a great benefit and there are still some good people that work in lower levels (in 22 reviews)

  • Great benefits package and work life balance (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management has cliques with middle management because they brought the middle managers with them from where they used to work (in 7 reviews)

  • Lack of communication from all levels of management, unclear expectations (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (5)

    "Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wilton Brands full-time

    Pros

    All new senior management that are taking a great historical dominant brand and making it exciting and relevant again.

    Cons

    There still exists old timers who want the business to be run like it was in 2005. They are being worked out but it takes time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward, seems like the company is on a much better track.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excited for the future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Naperville, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilton Brands full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible hours, work life balance, nice new office. Solid benefits that mostly start immediately. Fun and good quality products. Employee discount. Ideas are appreciated.

    Cons

    Slow to change and adapt. New technology is needed and new supply chain. Laptops are slowly becoming more common but not everyone has them. Some software is clunky. No cafeteria on site is a bit of a bummer.

    Advice to Management

    The website needs some serious investment and upgrades.

    Wilton Brands Response

    Sep 19, 2017 – HR Recruiting Manager

    There are so many amazing things happening at Wilton Brands and we are delighted that the direction that the company is moving in is having a positive affect on our employees. We are dedicated to... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sweet gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in Burleson, TX
    Former Employee - Instructor in Burleson, TX

    I worked at Wilton Brands part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They provided training and helped me find a store where I would teach. I love cake decorating, teaching others, and using Wilton products.

    Cons

    I spent more money on materials and class promotion than I earned while teaching classes. (Personal time invested, cakes, icing, cake dummies, business cards, flyers and Wilton products.) There was not a lot of interest in my area.

    Advice to Management

    Your products seem to be losing shelf-space and your comprehensive courses are no longer offered at our Michael's and Hobby Lobby. You need new ways to interest and delight customers.

    Wilton Brands Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – HR Recruiting Manager

    We greatly appreciate that time taken to reflect on your time as a Wilton Instructor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time combining your passion for cake decorating and Wilton... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid Working Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilton Brands full-time

    Pros

    Summer hours are a great benefit and there are still some good people that work in lower levels. The customer base is loyal and the new headquarters is much better than the old one.

    Cons

    I worry about the financial health of the company with the continued decline in sales and all of the lay-offs. It's a dysfunctional work environment with poor communication from senior leadership. There's no real vision shared and I've seen senior management bash one another and make comments that are untruthful - to employees and partners. While there were some people let go because they didn't provide value and resistant to change, a lot of talented people left or were let go because they questioned bad strategy (or no real strategy). Many stay to get severance in the next round of lay-offs. The senior management team members are valued more for their loyalty and obedience than their ability to create and execute impactful strategies. Many are clearly over their head.

    Advice to Management

    Clearly communicate a vision and show real leadership. Senior leadership needs to live the company values - they shouldn't just be a sign on the wall. Don't only show yourself only at town halls and publicly threatening to take away benefits like summer hours is not a good way to build morale. Encourage creative and contrarian thinking and diversity of opinions. Be as focused on the well-being as your employees as you are with saving your jobs.

    Wilton Brands Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – HR Recruiting Manager

    We appreciate the time it takes to reflect on your time at Wilton. Wilton brands is dedicated to work life balance for our employees, so we appreciate the positive acknowledgement of our new... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodridge, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodridge, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wilton Brands full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great product line, new office location, good work/life balance changes happening

    Cons

    Lack of strong company processes, little to no unity between departments, lack of strong direction and decision making from management.

    The product development team was restructured this year, and the team was told from the CEO, at the beginning, that our feelings on what positions we would like to have in the new organization would be taken into consideration. Funny thing, when the changes came about, no one was spoken to, and no one got any say. So now there is a team with jobs they don't want, doing work that doesn't interest them, and I think it's safe to say that people will be leaving and more changes will be happening. If you are a true product development manager, this is NOT the organization for you.

    Advice to Management

    Good luck.

    Wilton Brands Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – HR Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your time at Wilton Brands. Transparency and open discussion is an important part of our corporate culture.

    It is wonderful to hear that the careful... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Inexperienced management team unable to turn the corner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wilton Brands full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    New office space is nice but does not make up for the negatives.

    Cons

    Management team is not to be trusted. Executive suite level management turn on each other constantly. Culture is toxic and was toxic the entire time I worked there.

    Advice to Management

    Resign if you care about the company at all.

    Wilton Brands Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – HR Recruiting Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to reflect on your time at Wilton and that you enjoyed your time in the new office space!

    We hear your frustrations and we are proud to be a culture of high... More


  7. "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilton Brands full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Wonderful work life balance, fun atmosphere, great people! A lot of changes have been made, but all for the positive. The leadership is communicating more and the people team have been wonderful to work with from the interview process, new hire orientation. The office in Naperville is new and very nice, the distribution centers are busy.

    Cons

    The only con is that I wish the testing kitchen would share food even more than they already do.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the communication initiatives and creating a warm environment for all employees.

    Wilton Brands Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – HR Recruiting Manager

    Welcome to Wilton! It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to share your positive experiences at Wilton.

    We work diligently to create a workplace where our people learn, thrive... More

  8. "Wilton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wilton Brands full-time

    Pros

    Senior management is working hard to appease the numerous requests from employees, by improving involvement, perks, and hiring a compensation analyst. They have used the restructure, to eliminate the negativity and obsolete jobs that were hindering us from progressing.

    *Laid-back atmosphere
    *Diverse and friendly co-workers
    *Creativity is encouraged
    *Percentage of women in senior management

    Cons

    Due to the transition, there are some major gaps in communication, and the workload is stacked in certain departments/individuals.
    *Technical difficulties!!

    Wilton Brands Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – HR Recruiting Manager

    We are so happy to hear that your experiences at Wilton have been rewarding.

    We understand how frustrating it can be to deal with technical delays and continue to work on correcting those... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wilton Brands full-time

    Pros

    Fun product, great people, good flexibility

    Cons

    Absolutely dysfunctional and borderline toxic work environment

    Wilton Brands Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – HR Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experiences with Wilton. We are delighted to hear about your satisfaction with the products and culture.
    We understands your concerns... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Unstable envirnoment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilton Brands full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The people are wonderful to work with. Each person tries there best. Some changes that have been recently made have been good.

    Cons

    It isn't the environment it used to be. It used to be fun and people would work together more. Change is never easy, but it seems that you are only advised of a portion of the information.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with the people. Most of them have been there for a long time and can assist with making transitions to "new ways" easier.

    Wilton Brands Response

    Sep 7, 2017 – HR Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your experiences with Wilton. We are delighted to hear about your satisfaction with the products and culture.
    We understands your concerns... More


Showing 86 of 92 reviews
Reset Filters