Winchester Ammunition Reviews | Glassdoor

Winchester Ammunition Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Winchester Ammunition CEO Dick Hammett (no image)
Dick Hammett
2 Ratings
  1. "Excellent experience opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineering Co-Op in Oxford, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winchester Ammunition full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Treated you like an engineer, high expectations for you created a excellent environment to learn and develop.

    Cons

    Disconnect between management and floor workers due to former union

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget that the plant in the south is not unionized and the floor workers want to work for people they respect. Treat them respectfully and they will do so in return.

    Winchester Ammunition2019-09-20
  2. "Good job, no career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjuster in Oxford, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winchester Ammunition full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay for the area and good health insurance.

    Cons

    No pay differential throughout and unable to move departments.

    Winchester Ammunition2019-02-06
  3. "Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjuster in Oxford, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Winchester Ammunition full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fairly easy mechanical jobs... great pay and benefits

    Cons

    Hot in some areas and can’t leave the premises while on the clock

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect... you get a lot more out of them

    Winchester Ammunition2018-08-01
  4. "Very fair place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in East Alton, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winchester Ammunition full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity. Always changing as the trends do. This means opportunities in different areas. Management is very understanding of their employees needs. They made sure to match the vacation I had at my old job, plus offered me more money m.

    Cons

    None, unless you don’t like Ammunition.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the good relationships you have with your employees. My director doesn’t mind if you pop in his office to say “hey.”

    Winchester Ammunition2018-05-24
  5. "Process Engineer Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Process Engineering Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winchester Ammunition for more than a year

    Pros

    The work environment was good. There is never a shortage of work or new things to do, so you will never be bored.

    Cons

    The high speed environment can be stressful at times.

    Winchester Ammunition2017-04-09
  6. "best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Oxford, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Winchester Ammunition full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Doing what I'm good at and what I love. Being able to use my skills to be a productive employee for the company. Learning all parts of the job.

    Cons

    Not moving up in the company sooner

    Advice to Management

    Awknoledfe the hard work

    Winchester Ammunition2016-04-09
  7. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Winchester Ammunition full-time

    Pros

    I absolutely loved working for Winchester. The atmosphere was relaxed and the amount of work always kept you busy. great management and some of the best co workers Ive ever had. Loved the hours!

    Cons

    No cons, great place to work for

    Winchester Ammunition2016-01-11
  8. "Was very happy there for 12 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in East Alton, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Winchester Ammunition

    Pros

    I enjoyed the people and being around the ammunition as it was made then seeing the test that it went through.

    Cons

    If you didn't "fit in" they would find a way to get rid of you or force you to leave. Didn't like seeing the business move to Mississippi, leaving a community and a lot of families hurting.

    Advice to Management

    Some people in upper management need to be looked at as much as the lesser ones. Not all their past are as clean as everyone thinks or wants to believe.

    Winchester Ammunition2014-12-30
  9. "Ok, mediocre wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Oxford, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Winchester Ammunition full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Middle of the road wages, decent benefits, lots of promises.

    Cons

    Management seems to be stuck in the 50's sometimes. This is a transplanted facility so I'm sure we're not getting what the represented employees were getting when they moved it here. We probably make several dollars an hour less and our benefits are most likely more costly.

    Advice to Management

    Treat co-workers with respect and not a slave that has no value.

    Winchester Ammunition2014-08-18
Found 9 reviews