Wind River Reviews | Glassdoor

Wind River Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 232 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Wind River CEO Jim Douglas
Jim Douglas
56 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I'm hopeful that recent changes in upper management will improve these issues(in 10 reviews)

  • "Senior management is experimenting on how to cut costs(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Interview Process and Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Alameda, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wind River full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My first impression of the company started with the interview process. I had a great experience and outcome. HR was very encouraging and clear on the job requirements. I met many folks during the interview process, and they were all friendly, respectful and asked good questions. I have now worked at the company for less than a month, but I am encouraged by the company culture. Everyone, including senior management are...

    Show More

    Cons

    none that I see so far.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the growth plan.

    Wind River2019-06-22
  2. "wind river systesm in Alameda"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GM, Business Unit in Alameda, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wind River full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, competitive pay

    Cons

    Now owned by PE firm, with an inevitable focus on cost cutting

    Wind River2019-04-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "kill your career/fight tooth&nail to be promoted unless you’re an idiot, then you can become a manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wind River full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Was able to work remotely, paid well and nice benefits until the sabbaticals were cut. I gave the work/life balance below because I set it myself.

    Cons

    Everything else including lazy, poor management

    Advice to Management

    What you should have done before laying everyone off in 2018, is cut middle management completely and found a new CEO. Again, they tout an “open door policy” and transparency but it really is not that way at all.

    Wind River2019-05-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Alameda, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wind River full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredible company that splits the difference between behemoth and start up. Lots of opportunities to find interesting work without getting silo-ed in something too narrow. Responsive management and willing to make changes to improve working life and company success.

    Cons

    Nothing that rises to the level of needing to be called out.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive changes that have been made in the last year!

    Wind River2019-03-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, interesting tech, uncertain future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wind River full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Really great people and good work-life balance. Recent focus on career development for individuals.

    Cons

    Recently acquired by a private equity firm. Uncertain future, tight budgets, low hiring in North America

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent.

    Wind River2019-01-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alameda, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Wind River full-time

    Pros

    The people are great, who work there for a long time. Work-life balance is supported.

    Cons

    The recent acquisition changed corporate culture.

    Wind River2018-11-30
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Winning at Work Life Balance; Losing at Job Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Alameda, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wind River full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work / Life Balance - the dog-friendly campus is along the bay trail with views of the Oakland and estuary. It also has a gym with daily fitness classes, and a healthy cafeteria.

    Cons

    Job Growth - Too many layers in the department, doesn't allow job growth. Career will stall. Employee Development - No mentorship or opportunities to take classes to supplement career path.

    Wind River2018-11-12
  8. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wind River full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work place, supportive management

    Cons

    Less interaction with higher management

    Wind River2018-08-16
  9. "Software Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wind River

    Pros

    Talent mentor / peers Great work life balance Instructive tasks Nice view of the bay

    Cons

    Maybe the menu of the cafeteria is a bit of boring.

    Wind River2018-08-17
  10. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Alameda, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wind River full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work Environment, Great People

    Cons

    Company that needs to accelerate growth

    Advice to Management

    Get Creative, be bold, grow

    Wind River2018-08-15
Found 232 reviews