Windstream Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Windstream President and CEO Tony Thomas
Tony Thomas
741 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people Good work environment(in 74 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and work life balance(in 57 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is difficult to get a hold of(in 77 reviews)

  • "financial difficulties bankruptcy job reduction(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Windstream and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years
      Featured Review

      Great place to work

      Jun 17, 2020 - Director in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Senior Leadership team (C-level) provides us the guidance and resources needed to make real change for the better, and also feel very appreciated.

      Cons

      None, you get out what you put in - a great attitude, coupled with hard work and perseverance, is what makes it all work for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Windstream Response

      Windstream Talent

      Success is what we all strive for and we are glad you are finding that with Windstream. We thank you for your review and look forward to you continuing to be part of our success.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      windstream review

      Mar 31, 2021 - Retail Representative in Somerset, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay, great incentives, good hours and benefits, great company to work for.

      Cons

      i have no cons with windstream

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Windstream Response

      Windstream Talent

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest review! We are glad to hear you are happy with the Windstream culture and environment. We work hard to offer an inclusive and happy work environment for all.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      What happened?

      Apr 2, 2021 - IT Analyst in Not, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lower and middle management generally cares about the people

      Cons

      Senior management lacks emotional intelligence when it comes to their employees. Upper management is willing to sacrifice good people and reward people who do things like skip over their direct leadership to try to make a name for themselves. Salaried employees don't get raises, we were told that there were out of band compensation increases but when you ask how you qualify for one no one seems to know. They will tell you that they review everyone's, pay every 36 months. But a 3% raise every 3 years doesn't even keep up with the national inflation rate over that same period.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Windstream Response

      Windstream Talent

      Seeking out opportunities to improve is a core function at Windstream. We embrace agility and act in a way that embraces change for the better. Your feedback is important, and we appreciate you taking the time to share.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Recruitment Process

      May 3, 2021 - Information Security Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Windstream is an amazing company to work with. The recruitment process was very detailed but smooth, precise and straightforward. From the interview to the job offer, the staff were very kind and pleasant. The company's communication throughout the onboarding process was apt. The most amazing aspect of the company is the diversity. Appreciating and welcoming team members from diverse cultures and background. I strongly believe it will be a wonderful journey.

      Cons

      Currently, nothing at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Windstream Response

      Windstream Talent

      We are all striving for success and we are glad you have found success with Windstream. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your continued success on our team!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Windstream a wonderful place to work

      May 4, 2021 - IT Service Desk Analyst in Twinsburg, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Business is high in demand, there is never a dull day, The infrastructure Is setup great, Management is awesome, the environment even tho we are working from home is amazing.

      Cons

      No bad Con to report at this time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Windstream Response

      Windstream Talent

      We understand how important a good leadership team is to the success and happiness of our employees and we are glad you are benefiting from our WINning leadership team!

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Family Friendly Environment

      May 5, 2021 - Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance, friendly coworkers, good pay and benefits.

      Cons

      RIFs several times per year

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Windstream Response

      Windstream Talent

      Our employees are very valuable to us, and we're always working to make improvements as a company and as an employer. We strive to invest in, develop and recognize excellence in our team as best we can. Your feedback is important, and we appreciate you taking the time to share.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work and experience to grow

      May 6, 2021 - Network Operations Center (NOC) Manager in Little Rock, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment, many opportunities, your opinion is important, team work

      Cons

      Nothing negative, it is an idle place to work

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Windstream Response

      Windstream Talent

      We appreciate your honest review and are glad to hear you are happy with the Windstream culture and environment. We work hard to offer an inclusive and happy work environment for all and appreciate you sharing positive feedback.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome Recruiter

      May 3, 2021 - Information Security Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tanya Gmitter is absolutely awesome and worked really hard to get on the team. She was able to get me an offer in 3 days thats pretty impossible to do, but Tanya did it.

      Cons

      N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Windstream Response

      Windstream Talent

      Thank you for your review of Tanya!

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Windstream Employment

      May 6, 2021 - Analyst II in Anniston, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      vacation, sick time, optional holidays, benefits, salary, people

      Cons

      too many reorgs and restructures

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Windstream Response

      Windstream Talent

      Thank you for leaving your honest review

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      May 5, 2021 - Principal Consultant in Penfield, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary with growth potential

      Cons

      Company has recently went through a bankruptcy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,696 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Windstream Job Seekers

    Major Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise System Engineer II
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Windstream? Share Your Experiences

    or