Windstream "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Windstream Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Windstream President and CEO Tony Thomas
Tony Thomas
629 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Run don't walk..........."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are none!!! Horrible place to work. They hire anyone off the street with a HS Diploma.

    Cons

    This call center was the most unprofessional place I have ever worked. Upper management are very racist. They will walk right pass you and never even speak to you. Qualified African-American employees are overlooked when it comes to getting promoted to better paid positions. Also, sales goals are unrealistic. Windstream makes it hard to achieve sales quotas by consistently changing them monthly.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2015-01-07
  2. "Pay was good, morale suffered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Repair Technician in Cross Plains, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay, enjoyable co-workers. My manager was overworked but fair and sympathetic to his employees. I enjoyed the technical aspects of my job. Can be a fun place to work with a few tweaks and a little common sense.

    Cons

    There's a disconnect between operations and upper management which created efficiency issues and challenged the balance of meeting company metrics and serving the customers beneficially. At times, the culture suffered due to layoffs, creating a sense of expendability.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2020-02-19
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Mixed emotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people make up Windstream

    Cons

    You are just a number to upper management. Health insurance is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-12-09

    Windstream Response

    December 11, 2019Windstream Talent

    Seeking out opportunities to improve is a core function at Windstream. We embrace agility and act in a way that embraces change for the better. Your feedback is important, and we appreciate you taking the time to share.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Dont trust the positive reviews here, management is posting fake ones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    there are some great down to earth good people working there

    Cons

    Pay is terrible, management and HR has an obvious disdain for having to have employees. Benefits are terrible. Company is bankrupt, upper management doesnt tell employees what is going on. Speaking out is discouraged. stealth layoffs occur every few months. There is no job security. Employee morale is terrible. HR posts snarky sarcastic "thank you for sharing your experience" comments on this site instead of actually caring about employee experience and morale. You might be part of a team that has members laid off and you are expected to take on the work of two or three employees for the same terrible pay.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-12-12

    Windstream Response

    January 21, 2020Windstream Talent

    One of the Windstream core values is Respect. We promote the sharing of new ideas & opinions while embracing an atmosphere of teamwork and trust. Talking to people not about them considering all opinions equal to your own. We apologize you did not have the same experience, but appreciate you taking the time to leave your opinion

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of training and changing procedures mid campaign and not letting everyone know."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OSP/Network Engineer in Meadville, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the employees are good hard working people and willing to help each other to be successful

    Cons

    There is little to no training, I had to teach myself or get help from coworkers and take away from there work. Support from upper management is terrible. I went 4 months without most of my computer systems that are required to do my job not working and no one would get it resolved.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-08-01

    Windstream Response

    August 5, 2019Windstream Talent

    We are sorry to hear about your experience with your training as a Windstream employee. We encourage all employees to discuss these situations with your manager and HR, as our employees' training and development are important to us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review to let us know what we can work on!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Solid place to work. Middle management is flexible, depending on the manager. Can work from home, hours are flexible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OSP ENGINEER in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good work/life balance Can work from home Decent benefits k

    Cons

    Yearly layoffs Company is losing money Upper management doesn't understand what the market wants

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-02-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid working at Windstream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative in Hazelwood, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There are no por's for this company. They are going bankrupt.

    Cons

    Upper management continues to buy new companies and make new bailout arrangements while continuous losing business.

    Windstream2019-02-28
  8. "Company Contunes to Restructure Regularly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best part of the company are the great people that work hard to be successful

    Cons

    Upper Management is out of touch and seems to change direction each 12 to 18 months with a new flavor of the month. Customer Service is terrible

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-02-07
  9. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Windstream full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hiring process was seamless and enjoyable. I believe internal departments may be a little different depending on management, but I have been very fortunate to land with an incredible team with extremely supportive management. I do have a remote position which does help the home/work balance.

    Cons

    Appears to be many separate silos within the company which is to be expected when additional companies join the Windstream team, but I also see forward movement with upper management to work through this obstacle.

    Windstream2019-01-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Windstream full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only thing I can say positive is nice work environment.

    Cons

    This company needs to sell off. Check stock price before you decide to work for this company. You only get 35% of what you sell up front and have to wait for the 65% until install complete. Install takes 4 to 5 months to complete. Poor management. Many of upper management comes from Earthlink a failing company that Windstream purchased.

    Continue reading
    Windstream2019-01-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 71 reviews