Winn Solicitors Reviews | Glassdoor

Winn Solicitors Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Winn Solicitors Founder Jeff Winn (no image)
Jeff Winn
14 Ratings
  1. "Favourite Job Yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Receptionist in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winn Solicitors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly friendly environment to work in - got on so well with everyone that I worked with. Everyone is very supportive and made working here a joy.

    Cons

    There are many different departments and members of staff it was sometimes hard to put names to faces

    Winn Solicitors2019-08-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Progressive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Winn Solicitors full-time

    Pros

    Always looking ahead to remain a market leader

    Cons

    Not all staff are aware of the positives in such a turbulent industry

    Winn Solicitors2019-03-19
  3. "Winn’s is a great place to work with a wonderful boss."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Clerk in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn Solicitors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am very happy at Winn’s. I am seeing the boss but he has stayed very neutral. I’m still a legal clerk On minimum wage whilst the “plump” older ones are more senior!!! No favouritism here.

    Cons

    People complaining about favouritism. Byker is not very nice.

    Continue reading
    Winn Solicitors2019-03-20
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn Solicitors full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    I have no negative comments

    Winn Solicitors2019-03-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly and supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winn Solicitors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office environment is friendly and supportive. Work is varied and challenging. Birthday off. Free tea and coffee. Metro station just across the road.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Winn Solicitors2019-02-04
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winn Solicitors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get your birthday off.

    Cons

    Senior staff are unpleasant, many of them don’t know what they’re doing. Staff turnover is exceedingly high. Predatory male environment, which the senior female staff ignore and the junior staff can’t do anything about.

    Continue reading
    Winn Solicitors2019-03-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winn Solicitors full-time

    Pros

    Work/Life balance is good - 99% of the office are racing out of the door at 17:00 on the dot (although this just reflects on their desire to get out of there!). You get your birthday off every year which is a nice touch.

    Cons

    Sexual harassment is a big issue; predominantly centred around the Directors. Office affairs are trendy and flirting seems to be a bargaining tool. Salaries are generally low for the workload. Unprofessional favouritism is an issue. Staff turnover is high for a reason. Avoid at all costs.

    Continue reading
    Winn Solicitors2019-02-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Clerk in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winn Solicitors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very few. The people I worked with were a great bunch (most of them) which was about the only thing I did like about it.

    Cons

    People will get on in this place if you suck up to the right people. One hound team leader who was barely even 2 years qualified basically kissed asre to whoever was her manager because she thought she was going to gain something from it. These ‘positive’ reviews are given by either managers or non fee earning members of staff who do have a cushy job as they ever have to speak to clients, do not have 300 files to deal with and aren’t expected to do everything else at the same time. Jeff Winn doesn’t have a clue he just sits in his office with his Merry men probably talking about how much money he’s making and laughing at the fact that most his workforce are low paid as they are only very recently graduated. Pay is awful there is no way you could ever expect to live off that salary long term. You could probably earn as much working at Burger King where I would have rather been at times. Somebody said on here that everyone wants something for nothing. That is rubbish, in this job you give an awful lot, the reason you are not rewarded is because Jeff Winn said it himself, he cares about profit not about people. The place is full of button clickers who cannot think outside the box, they’ve got no common sense and are just plain clueless. You’ve got a great piece of software that only a few people know how to use because of course, why would you want to invest in training people to use it.

    Continue reading
    Winn Solicitors2019-02-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Winn Solicitors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winn Solicitors full-time

    Pros

    Experience in a law firm

    Cons

    Each fee earner had control of over 200 files at each given time No adequate bonus system

    Winn Solicitors2018-08-15
  10. "Proud to have been part of an exceptional business/company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Winn Solicitors full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I liked everything about working at Winn Solicitors.

    Cons

    No cons/negatives. A great employer.

    Continue reading
    Winn Solicitors2018-08-03
Found 20 reviews