Winona Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Winona Health Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Winona Health CEO Rachelle Schultz (no image)
Rachelle Schultz
17 Ratings
  1. "Provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Winona Health full-time

    Pros

    The small size of the company makes working here more like a family environment and I feel like our opinions on matters are heard and taken into account. The group I work with is very supportive and fosters a positive work environment.

    Cons

    I honestly do not have any major complaints about my job. I love the people I work with, I get to help patients feel better and stay healthy, and I get to constantly learn.

    Winona Health2018-09-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very good bosses, pay, and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Winona, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Winona Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small enough to feel you belong, large enough to provide opportunities to work in other areas or change careers within the same organization. Good workplace culture. My supervisors are great, pay is excellent, benefits are very good, and if you want to make more money, plenty of extra shifts are available.

    Cons

    Some of my coworkers are immature. Depending on the day, shift, and area, the workload can be too much for the available staff. That makes it hard to provide proper care, work as a team, and enjoy your work and coworkers.

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate what you do. Keep doing it.

    Winona Health2019-07-09
  3. "Not pleasant to work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winona Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Close to home if you live in Winona.

    Cons

    While some of the departments are great, the negative atmosphere is palatable. There is such an over emphasis on the Lean process that the human component is missing and creates severe tunnel vision which leaves the employee disempowered. There were many times I felt intimidated and bullied by my immediate supervisor. The departments are incredibly siloed. I have witnessed the direct undermining of one department... in order for another to get what they want. There is no "working together" at this organization.

    Show More
    Winona Health2019-05-05
  4. "Physically and Emotionally draining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 

    I worked at Winona Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    being able to care for patients

    Cons

    constantly having to be short staffed, being denied taking time off

    Advice to Management

    if you appreciate your employees, they will go above and beyond for the patients and the company

    Winona Health2019-03-22
  5. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winona Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable industry and clean environment

    Cons

    Politics are there but they are in every business

    Winona Health2018-12-22
  6. "Fine place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Intern in Winona, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winona Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, Flexible duties, Good coworkers. It really was an internship that tries to teach you about the IT industry, I learned a lot.

    Cons

    The IT team was great but you do get wrapped up into hospital events/politics/drama, even though it doesn't usually have to do with your job.

    Winona Health2018-07-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winona Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most staff are great, friendly. Great team work. Parking.

    Cons

    Management does not value staff, or care about work -life balance. Benefits are not great. No raises. If you speak out or voice opinion, you will have a target on your back. You will be squeezed out or walked out at the end of the day.

    Advice to Management

    Try to retain your current, competent, dedicated employees. Remember you are dealing with people not a factory production line. Following Core Values applies to you also. Very poor! Time to look at yourselves, and figure out why good employees and providers leave!

    Winona Health2018-06-03
  8. "Focused on local primary health care."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Winona Health full-time

    Pros

    Friendly and supportive co-workers, thoughtful strategic planning, focused on patients.

    Cons

    Strategic planning can get in the way of forward progress, focused on billable staff.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better through all staff.

    Winona Health2017-12-31
  9. "CMA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant in Winona, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Winona Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Short commute from home. Friendly patients. Some of the doctors are nice to work with. Close to walking path....... ...

    Cons

    Upper management is too focused on making money instead of truly caring for patients. Overwork staff. No gratitude for strong employees. High turnover rate. Talk the talk of making employee improvements, but never follow through with anything.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees and they will stick around.

    Winona Health2017-10-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Winona Health

    Pros

    A few coworkers (who haven't been overtaken by management), who actually put the patients first. There a only a few.

    Cons

    The most hostile work environment you will ever encounter. Senior leadership train their managers to create an environment amongst staff full of doubt and constant mistrust and play staff against each other through manipulation tactics. All leadership/management staff members have meetings where they gossip and bash their staff they oversee in a shallow manner, from their personal life struggles, down to making... jokes about how they look...I've seen it first hand. It's a bunch of unpopular and insecure adult women on a power trip!! It's like being back in middle school!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Terminate ALL of your leadership and management staff and let a "professional" organization buy WH out!!!!

    Winona Health2017-08-23
Found 27 reviews