KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Winston & Strawn

Engaged Employer

Winston & Strawn

Add a Review

Winston & Strawn Employee Reviews about "nice people"

Updated Jun 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 254 reviews

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Winston & Strawn Managing Partner Tom Fitzgerald
Tom Fitzgerald
90 Ratings

What people are saying about Winston & Strawn

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Secretarial management keep their legal secretary friends employed there despite the noticeable fact that those legal secretaries are incompetent.(in 22 reviews)
  • "No work/life balance here.(in 7 reviews)
  • "And even if your evaluations were great and layoffs were around the corner, the attorneys who gave you rave reviews couldn't save your job.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Long hours and general availability is expected.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Antiquated culture.(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Winston & Strawn and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "nice people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Hard Work and Loyalty Are Rewarded Here

    Jul 20, 2015 - Communications in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Winston is built on providing exceptional client service, so the firm values staff employees who consistently go the extra mile to provide resources and support to its attorneys. I have worked for the firm in various communications and business development roles for nearly 20 years. During this time, I have demonstrated a strong work ethic and produced high quality work, and in turn have found the firm to be accommodating as my life situation has evolved over the years. While most of my career at Winston was in a full-time position, I have at times been able to work part time or on a contract basis. This flexibility, along with the challenging work and highly competitive compensation, are key contributors to my loyalty to the firm.

    Cons

    The firm is a partnership so there are bound to be a variety of different personalities among its ranks. By and large the attorneys and managers are nice people to work with, but there can be a learning curve in terms of varying your approach and honing your diplomacy skills as situations demand.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Working in the meat grinder

    Jul 17, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very nice people, good benefits, training. As in life, there are some good people to work with (or for) and some that are more challenging.

    Cons

    Another "blood from a stone" company that really cares about the profits of the partners above all else. Make sure to cover your assets, because some of your peers might throw you under the bus to save themselves.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Most People Are Nice

    Jun 11, 2017 - Project Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most Attorneys were nice. I got stuck with some crazies who made our lives miserable. I imagine it was like working in a big law firm anywhere. Either feast or famine. Could be super stressful at times over silly thing like printing labels.

    Cons

    Super quiet generally. Not much comradery in the halls etc. People are nice but not very friendly atmosphere

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place

    Dec 14, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very nice people and office culture.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    One bad apple....

    Mar 4, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The salary was ok. The privacy in the office was excellent. When staff was treated to a meal it was always good. Most of the people were nice.

    Cons

    It felt as if someone took advantage of some freedoms so they decided to punish everyone. The time clock is absolutely ridiculous. There is no room for "life to happen". The weather policy is very dangerous. I felt that my safety was not a concern. Who wants to use all of your vacation when just having a delayed arrival in the appropriate instances would have sufficed. There is way too much gossip and infighting amongst the staff and some management. It was so bad that you knew when someone was "talking" about you because other people treated you accordingly. You get a great salary going in but don't expect too much more.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Winston & Strawn Response

    Sr. Recruitment Specialist

    Winston & Strawn places significant importance on training our managers and supervisors. The firm pays for managers and supervisors to attend continuing education programs, and we have a task force in place to identify and implement enhanced training solutions for both management and staff employees.Our Firm also takes the safety of our employees very seriously. The firm has a liberal policy for allowing employees to leave the office early in the event of an impending weather event in their location, and we will proactively close an office location if weather conditions there are deemed unsafe for our employees travel to work. In addition, each employee is granted a generous package of paid vacation and sick / personal time that can be applied when weather or other unexpected events prevent the employee from getting to the office safely.

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good job

    Jun 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good job, nice people, the office is in a good spot.

    Cons

    Boring work, not enough to do for me.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Associate Attorney

    Oct 5, 2016 - Litigation Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart and nice people. Excellent litigators to learn from and great mentors. Challenging and interesting/substantive work. Plenty of opportunities for growth. Free market so you drive your own career direction. No face time requirement. The firm is focusing more on modernizing, including its new parental leave policy, and increasingly open to reduced hour arrangements.

    Cons

    Long and often unpredictable hours, just as with any big law. But people generally do their best to respect your time, vacations, etc.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to work

    Dec 11, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The firm had great benefits including paid time off, generous maternity leave program, 401K match program. Nice people to work with.

    Cons

    I wish there were more advancement opportunities.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Accounting Department

    Feb 23, 2015 - Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great place to work, don't be fooled by any of the negative information you've heard about Winston. It's a great place to work the people are very nice and friendly, they speak when they walk past you, even if they don't know your name. You are always learning interesting things about the firm, we all work well as a team to help one another.

    Cons

    Winston now has a café called Winston café, the environment is so friendly, you can relax and enjoy your lunch with a group of co-workers or just by yourself. We get free bagels and donuts on payday and on special occasional we do get all kinds of great treats. During open enrollment, were provided with very detailed information at your fingertips. Human resources are always willing to assist you with any issues or concerns you may have.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent Firm for Attorneys not Staff

    Dec 22, 2021 - Financial Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice People in Finance except the Management team

    Cons

    No upward mobility even if at the top of the talent pool

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 14 of 14 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Winston & Strawn Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Winston & Strawn? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Winston & Strawn Photos

+ Add Photo
Winston & Strawn photo of: Week of Action. Volunteering in Chicago!
Winston & Strawn photo of: Volunteer at Winston
Winston & Strawn photo of: "Refresher Break"-Month of Summer Fun event
Winston & Strawn photo of: Recess at Work- Month of Summer Fun event!
Winston & Strawn photo of: Birthday-in-a-Box hosted by Volunteers of America.  Gifts for Children living in shelters.
Winston & Strawn photo of: Wellness Week Activities!
Winston & Strawn photo of: Mardi Gras Social
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Winston & Strawn Job Seekers Also Viewed

Haug Partners Logo
Haug Partners

3.5

21 Reviews
Compare