WinterWyman Reviews

Updated Apr 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
WinterWyman President Scott Ragusa (no image)
Scott Ragusa
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you are serious about finding a job, then WinterWyman is the way to go(in 22 reviews)

  • "WinterWyman is a company that really allows for work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "I have no cons, they are great to work with(in 4 reviews)

  • "You need to be your own advocate and remind them you're actively looking for contract work(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Cut Above"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WinterWyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of employment agencies out there. This one is a cut above.

    Cons

    None. They are very good.

    WinterWyman Response

    October 1, 2019Director of Marketing and Candidate Experience

    We are so pleased your assignment is going well, as I inferred by your longevity! Thank you for sharing some positive thoughts about WinterWyman. We love hearing from all of our employees. We wish you continued success. Best, Amy Finn

  2. "Great leadership, great network, fierce internal competition"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WinterWyman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's nice that your supervisor has always done your exact job, so they know the exact market, challenges, etc. The internal database has decades of information about prospective and current clients, candidates, fees, etc, which is super helpful and makes it easy to target your outreach. Great benefits. Lots of employee engagement. Really a great place to work.

    Cons

    The fact that your supervisor is also your peer/competitor can get tricky if/when you steal clients from each other, but most supervisors are focused on developing/helping their workers rather than stomping them down. The internal rules dictate that you must contact each client every 3 months to maintain ownership, so everyone in the co, in all divisions, is reaching out, sometimes to the SAME client, to do the 3-month check in, which doesn't always translate to a good experience for a client who's getting bombarded with calls from many different people within the same agency. Also the internal applicant tracking system is buggy, crashes, etc. The users get very jaded about the system after a few months.

    Continue reading

    WinterWyman Response

    April 29, 2020Director, Human Resources

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. You're correct about staffing being a competitive environment, especially with all levels of management being hands-on with recruiting or selling. I appreciate, too, your pointing out that managers are more focused on developing their staff members. We're so fortunate to have such a great team of supervisors and leaders. I'm glad you enjoyed your WinterWyman experience and are proud to be an alumni. If you can think of anything to ensure the success of your former colleagues, or future hires, please don't hesitate to reach out. Thanks! ~Ruth Dufresne, Director of HR

  3. "Team players"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at WinterWyman full-time

    Pros

    always available to answer questions

    Cons

    benefits not the best

    WinterWyman Response

    October 23, 2019Director, Employee Engagement

    Thank you for leaving a review. I'm happy you are enjoying your team and receiving great support from your colleagues. We know recruiting is hard and having knowledgeable teammates by your side can make a huge difference when building your business. So can training and I hope you are taking advantage of the sessions that are offered. If you can think of additional ways to help speed or ensure your success, please don't hesitate to reach out to me or your manager. Thanks! ~ Cathy Renda, Director of Employee Engagement, 781.530.3163, crenda@winterwyman.com

  4. "Fantastic Temp & TTP Agency"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Executive/Administrative Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at WinterWyman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly communicative and supportive of the employee's needs. Very responsive and professional team of agents, as well as very warm and friendly. You feel like they truly have your back.

    Cons

    Pay is bi-weekly --- weekly pay makes it easier to manage finances.

    Continue reading

    WinterWyman Response

    September 20, 2019Director of Marketing and Candidate Experience

    Thank you for letting us know about your experience with WinterWyman and our amazing (yes, we love them, too) recruiters! We do have your back and I'm glad that came through loud and clear to you. Thanks, too, for letting us know about your payroll preferences. It's important that we understand our candidates' wants and needs, and we always keep your suggestions top-of-mind. Thanks again and best of luck with your role! Amy Finn

  5. "Account Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends

    I have been working at WinterWyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    a lot of room for growth!

    Cons

    it can take longer to get your desk ramped up,

    WinterWyman Response

    June 24, 2019Director, Employee Engagement

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Recruiting, and especially account management, isn't for the faint of heart and it can take a long time, and a significant amount of work, before seeing results. But, if you have the talent and put in the effort, it can be an incredibly rewarding and lucrative career. If you can think of any ways in which we can help speed your or your colleagues' success, please don't hesitate to reach out to me, another member of the Employee Engagement team, or a leader in your group. ~Cathy Renda, Director of Employee Engagement, 781.530.3163, crenda@winterwyman.com

  6. "I Should Have Come Here First!"

    4.0
     

    I have been working at WinterWyman

    Pros

    They work hard to find an appropriate position. I had registered with several other agencies with no success. I was with Winter Wyman for a couple of weeks and they found me a long term contract position at a great rate! Theresa, Kate and everyone is friendly and approachable.

    Cons

    The health insurance is expensive and not great coverage. Premiums are high as are the deductibles.

    Continue reading

    WinterWyman Response

    May 28, 2019Director of Marketing and Candidate Experience

    Hello and thank you for your helpful review. We are so pleased you found a long- term contract position at a rate that makes you happy. We have to agree that Theresa and Kate are pretty amazing - thank you! Thanks, too for your feedback on health insurance and paid time off. We are continually looking for ways to improve benefits to all of our employees and will keep this feedback in mind. We wish you the best of luck and look forward to a continued working relationship. Best, Amy Finn

  7. "Great Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WinterWyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and culture. Everyone is willing to help and very friendly and supportive.

    Cons

    Waltham traffic is pretty bad.

    Continue reading

    WinterWyman Response

    March 14, 2019EVP, Employee Engagement

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, and more importantly, for your contributions during your WinterWyman tenure. I know I am biased, but I, too, believe our people and culture are what make us great. I also agree about the Waltham traffic. It can be a real challenge, although, the recent Winter Street reconfiguration has helped tremendously with inbound volume so, fingers crossed that the road work scheduled for this fall will be as equally beneficial for the ride home! If you have any suggestions or thoughts to share about how we can continue to enhance our culture for your former colleagues or future employees, please don't hesitate to reach out. Best of luck with all your endeavors. ~Michelle Roccia, EVP of Employee Engagement, 781.530.3070, mroccia@winterwyman.com

  8. "A Company with Integrity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Manager in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WinterWyman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Organized onboarding for new-hires and existing staff - Transparency throughout the firm - Competitive Compensation Structure for sales staff - Fun committee, Community development committee, Health & Wellness Committee -- they have it all! - Above average tenure within the staffing agency - Lots of room to grow and be challenged - Executive team has an open door policy

    Cons

    - 401k and benefits are average. Wish this could be more competitive or the company would explore different alternative plans where we don't fail the 401K testing each year for HCE. - Recruiting is a hard business, so the people who tend to turnover do so before 2 years because staffing isn't right for them. - PTO maxes at 4 weeks after 5 years. Would recommend adding an extra week after additional time. - No equity as part of the compensation plan. The company only has profit sharing that's very minimal for sales staff.

    WinterWyman Response

    January 21, 2019EVP, Employee Engagement

    Thank you for the thoughtful review and suggestions. You're 100% correct: Recruiting is a hard business and not right for everyone, but when you've mastered it and found success, it can be rewarding on so many levels. I'd love to hear your thoughts on how we can further help your colleagues achieve success. Please feel free to reach out to me confidentially. Many thanks! ~Michelle Roccia, EVP of Employee Engagement, 781-530-3070, mroccia@winterwyman.com

  9. "Great place to start a career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WinterWyman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, lots of opportunities to give back, social outings, etc. Great place to start a career and build some business skills, and they promote high performers.

    Cons

    Recruiting is tough and very numbers driven. It isn't for everyone, but if you are motivated to make money, this could be an option.

    WinterWyman Response

    December 11, 2018EVP, Employee Engagement

    Thanks so much for leaving a review on your WinterWyman experience. You're 100% right about recruiting being hard and a numbers game. It isn't a fit for everyone, but for those that have a knack for it, there isn't a better place to recruit than WinterWyman. I'm glad you're taking advantage of all the social and community offerings available, too. Please feel free to share any thoughts on bettering #LifeatWW with me, or another member of the Employee Engagement team, at any time. ~Michelle Roccia, EVP of Employee Engagement, 781-530-3070, mroccia@winterwyman.com

  10. "Amazing Company Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WinterWyman full-time

    Pros

    WinterWyman is filled with some of the most tenured individuals in the industry. The people are incredibly genuine, not only to each other but to candidates and clients. By far, my favorite part about WinterWyman is the company culture. Despite the potential to be cut throat, the culture is phenomenal. Yes, everyone wants to do well and there is a sense of competitiveness to do well within each team, however there is no ill-intent.

    Cons

    The con is not so much about the company as it is about recruiting as an industry. There are people who leave WinterWyman after 1-2 years, but it is more so due to lack of interest to be in the industry, and not due to WinterWyman.

    WinterWyman Response

    October 3, 2018EVP, Employee Engagement

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, especially one that made me a little choked up (must be allergies!). As you know, we are very proud of our culture and work hard to ensure our values are upheld. Recruiting is a hard business, and as you said, our people thrive on being competitive without being cut-throat (although tonight is our annual cornhole tournament so that may not be accurate for a few hours!). It's a special balance and we think we've achieved it. Thank you for the recognition and for sharing some of your career with us. If you can think of ways for us to ensure our culture is maintained for your former colleagues and new WWers, please don't hesitate to reach out. ~Michelle Roccia, EVP of Employee Engagement, mroccia@winterwyman.com, 781.530.3070

Found 74 reviews