Cover image for Wintrust Mortgage
Logo

Wintrust Mortgage

Is this your company?

Wintrust Mortgage

Add a Review

Wintrust Mortgage Reviews

Updated May 22, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 110 of over 124 reviews
3.5
67% Recommend to a Friend
78% Approve of CEO

Found 110 of over 124 reviews

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Wintrust Mortgage President & CEO David Hrobon (no image)
David Hrobon
48 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

7m

a 

Commercial Customer Service Representative

What’s the best way to have a lack of compensation and incentive conversation in your department? I went above and beyond for years doing extra work, organizations etc and nothing has been reflected in pay. I thought my 5 year was going to finally show something but it did not. I’ve inquired about pay but it’s gotten nowhere.

49

12 Comments

Finance

224.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Wintrust Mortgage~385924
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Wintrust Mortgage? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Wintrust Mortgage employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your private company bowl on Fishbowl, join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the Conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Wintrust Mortgage and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    Mar 2, 2023 - Senior Mortgage Loan Processor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits. Really care about their employees.

    Cons

    Bigger company prone to layoffs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Laid off - but not forgotten

    Feb 15, 2023 - AVP-Operations Manager in Rosemont, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was laid off from Wintrust Mortgage in January. This is common in our industry today. Wintrust has been there for us from the day we were laid off. They gave us an opportunity to find a new role. I spoke with one of the recruiters and they advised they were instructed to help us as much as possible. How powerful is that? Wintrust gave us tools to help us after we were laid off! They still have our backs. We all know the mortgage industry is not where it should be now. The resources provided is what is helping me to move forward in my career search. The love through emails, and phone calls from my former peers was amazing. I have nothing but respect for Wintrust Mortgage and always will! Thank you for the amazing opportunity!

    Cons

    There are always Cons at a company, but nothing to see here!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Wintrust Mortgage team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    No support for learning the business

    May 22, 2023 - Licensed Mortgage Loan Originator in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good technology and underwriting Nice office No pressure to make money Teamwork

    Cons

    Not enough training not enough training poor mamangement poor support after closing

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    It’s ok

    May 4, 2023 - Loan Originator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance and benefits

    Cons

    Management is ok not the best

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Sadly left

    Feb 16, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company seamed to care about employees. Most of upper management was great to work with.

    Cons

    My immediate manager was bad at their job. The operations team was always the worst department to work with. Underwriting was inconsistent. Extremely lacked diversity.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Gist

    Mar 4, 2023 - Loan Servicing Specialist in Rosemont, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and good to their long time employees

    Cons

    Not much diversity. Seniority here matters

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Low pay if you are not in Sales

    Mar 20, 2023 - Disclosure Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good 401K contribution from the company

    Cons

    Low pay, minimal to no raises, favoritism towards Sales, poor company communication

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    It's OK for a mortgage company

    Oct 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Rosemont, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You are able to have a flexible schedule. Since COVID lockdown, they were willing to let employees decide on whether they wanted to be remote or not.

    Cons

    Poor communication. I would like to see more transparency from management. They usually tell you one thing, and it ends up being another. There are good people in management and for a short time I had some GREAT managers that supported me and the decisions I made. And when you get those managers, you try to hold on to them as long as possible.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Run not for everyone

    Nov 29, 2022 - Disclosure Specialist in Rosemont, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bankers hours 8-5. No weekends.

    Cons

    Poor management and lack of communication.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Loan Processor

    Oct 6, 2022 - Loan Processor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    100% Remote employment, good environment with positive people

    Cons

    Compensate for hourly better while market is down, not providing cost of living raises

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 110 Reviews
</>Embed

Wintrust Mortgage Reviews FAQs

Wintrust Mortgage has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 124 reviews left anonymously by employees. 67% of employees would recommend working at Wintrust Mortgage to a friend and 61% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -9% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Wintrust Mortgage employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Wintrust Mortgage. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

67% of Wintrust Mortgage employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Wintrust Mortgage 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Wintrust Mortgage to be senior leadership, career development, benefits and the cons to be work life balance, compensation, management.

Work at Wintrust Mortgage? Share Your Experiences

Wintrust Mortgage logo
or

Get Community Insights About Wintrust Mortgage

Candid workplace conversations with real professionals.

Job Referrals!
169.2K

Job Referrals!

Best way to get your foot in the door with your favorite company! Plus employees won’t mind getting that referral money!

Interview Tips
164.6K

Interview Tips

Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

Salary Negotiations
173K

Salary Negotiations

A community to ask questions and seek advice on negotiating your salary, compensation, etc.

Reviews by Job Title

Wintrust Mortgage Photos

+ Add Photo
Wintrust Mortgage photo of: Laying the foundation for some great homes with Habitat for Humanity Lake County, IL. We're proud to support their mission.
Wintrust Mortgage photo of: 2016 Holiday Party and Awards Ceremony
Wintrust Mortgage photo of: 2016 Holiday Party and Awards Ceremony
Wintrust Mortgage photo of: 2016 Holiday Party and Awards Ceremony
Wintrust Mortgage photo of: 2016 Holiday Party and Awards Ceremony
Wintrust Mortgage photo of: 2016 President's Circle Trip
Wintrust Mortgage photo of: Steve Scanlon, Founder of REWIRE inc., Presents at the 2016 National Sales Conference about Overcoming Human Brain Biology to Become More Successful
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Wintrust Mortgage Job Seekers Also Viewed

Wintrust Financial Logo
Wintrust Financial

4

364 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 124 Wintrust Mortgage reviews submitted anonymously by Wintrust Mortgage employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Wintrust Mortgage is right for you.