Wipro "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Wipro Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
46%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Wipro CEO Abidali Z. Neemuchwala
Abidali Z. Neemuchwala
314 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Need to work on making better work life balance for lower level employees(in 918 reviews)

  • "Salary hike is not upto the market(in 687 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (51)

    "Lead Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in India, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wipro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life Balance and learning opportunities

    Cons

    Need to work on the salary part

    Wipro2019-04-02

    Wipro Response

    April 3, 2019Corporate HR

    Hi! Thanks for your positive review and 5-star rating. We're happy to see you appreciate the work life balance and learning opportunities here at Wipro! Our compensation strategy focuses on recognizing and rewarding employee contribution to Wipro and drive a performance based culture. Accordingly, we benchmark our compensation policies against industry standards with the aim of retaining our talent. However, we do appreciate your feedback. We wish you the best at Wipro!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Project Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Lead in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wipro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, good work environment, friendly and hardworking people

    Cons

    no work life balance, no pay increase

    Wipro2019-02-16
  3. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucker, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wipro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -They offer full time hours -Hour breaks -Attempts to assist with work life balance by hosting courses targeted towards mental health and healthy lifestyle choices.

    Cons

    - Lack of Professionalism regarding management. -

    Wipro2019-10-27
  4. "Onsite client project review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Lead in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wipro full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -There are good number of resources to learn and achieve tech training and popular certifications. -Good growth if placed in a good client project.

    Cons

    -Your work life balance will depend on the client side project if you are onsite. -No Green card process for onsite employees even with good performance. -Pay is little less compared to market.

    Wipro2019-10-11
  5. "Good Company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Technical Lead in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wipro for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Good work situation Technical Employees

    Cons

    Don't know yet. So far nothing.

    Wipro2019-09-17
  6. "Ok to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Lead in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wipro full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Understanding management, opportunity to learn new technolgies

    Cons

    work life balance, service industry

    Continue reading
    Wipro2019-09-16
  7. "Too much politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Lead in Lone Tree, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wipro full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Training and path to grow.

    Cons

    Too much politics. Nothing happens without politics and bad work life balance.

    Wipro2019-09-04
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not a good place to work for older workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior SharePoint Consultant in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wipro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They usually pay well (not always), strive to support team collaboration and are like bulldogs pursuing new work.

    Cons

    The Indian supervisors are brutal to work for as they come from a brutal society that suppresses women and all workers expecting you to live to work, not work to live. Management talks up teamwork and work/life balance, but then demand the job comes before home life. They are extremely prejudiced against older workers and those who have children as they expect employees to relocate or travel instantly, no home life allowed (though they do try to respect childcare challenges).

    Continue reading
    Wipro2019-05-22
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Staff Considered a Commodity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Wipro full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary upon entry, especially in the Western markets. Great work-life balance. A good number of decent people in various locations. For early career, probably a good start to learn some ropes.

    Cons

    - Back Office support is completely tied to Indian staffing model and is mostly based on the concept that all staff accessing the systems are based in India. - The entire sales and delivery mindset is focused on margins, margins, margins, e.g. "how many bodies at what rate?" - Career is flat - you can get promotions slowly, but unless you're based/have strong connections in India and are Indian, you are in a dead-end. Even a VP was unable to travel for a conference because he couldn't get funds allocated. - No "business development" opportunities if on the bench - literally no charge codes if not working on a client billable project. If not in sales, and you were key to closing a$20M deal, you would still be at a high risk of dismissal. - Will not go on and on, but very easily could...

    Wipro2019-05-17
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Had a good time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Administrator III in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wipro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy new hire process, relaxed work/life balance, pay and benefits were fine. Offshore co workers were great, team members were great. Customer was great to work with.

    Cons

    - The position I was in had zero opportunity to learn anything new, I actually took 10 steps back from prior roles. I/we were not allowed to touch anything we were trained/certified in - I had 8-10 bosses/supervisors all saying different things - Local management was chaotic, They say one thing one day and its all different the next day. I describe it as the most dysfunctional IT department I have ever worked in. I say that from the local onsite Wipro management. Could be different at other customer locations - They live for tickets, you have to update the ticket daily even if its something 2 weeks out such as a part on order. "Parts on order " every day

    Continue reading
    Wipro2019-02-21
Found 1547 reviews