Wirecard Reviews | Glassdoor

Wirecard Reviews

Updated March 20, 2019
128 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Wirecard CEO Markus Braun
Markus Braun
59 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Everything is in order - no cons" (in 4 reviews)

  • "Not very clear career path and promotions" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Exciting company, that allows a lot of space for self-fulfillment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aschheim (Germany)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aschheim (Germany)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wirecard full-time

    Pros

    Wirecard is a young and dynamic company that has been growing quickly in the past years. What I really enjoy about my work here is that you don't have the feeling to be a small wheel in the big machinery. Instead, you can really see the outcome of your work - you can make a difference.
    You have to be a person who is willing to pave and go his/ her own way, and you should bring some serenity if things don't work out right away. But then this is an incredibly exciting place to work, as your self-efficacy is so high and there's always a chance to get involved in cool new projects.

    Cons

    Since processes didn't grow as fast as the number of employees, it can be challenging for people who have a strong need for structures. But it's always about what you make out of it ;)

    Wirecard Response

    Oct 26, 2018 – Wirecard Career Team

    We are glad to hear that you enjoy your work at Wirecard so much and are happy to have you on the team!

    Wirecard Career Team


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great! I love Wirecard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wirecard full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ability to work remotely, support from colleagues, international travel, community environment, communication throughout office is superb with lots of small group meetings and everyone is very friendly and helpful

    Cons

    No real cons that I can think of. In my experience the pay is very fair but you may find that it takes a while to get a raise.

    Wirecard Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Wirecard Career Team

    Thank you for your great feedback!

    Best Regards, Wirecard Career Team

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Conshohocken, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Conshohocken, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wirecard full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good location and close to major highways

    Cons

    Management favoritism, no vision

    Advice to Management

    Change your managers and adopt professionalism in hiring good managers

    Wirecard Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Wirecard Career Team

    Dear colleague,

    thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. We would like to get more information on this matter, so we would like to invite you to contact us via AskCareer@wirecard.com... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Room For Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Conshohocken, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Conshohocken, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wirecard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Company is growing and changing constantly. Great atmosphere and better than average work/life balance

    Cons

    If your manager doesn't invest in you, you are a cog in the wheel. Seems to be the way.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in all employees, not just favorites.

    Wirecard Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Wirecard Career Team

    Dear colleague,

    we are happy to hear that you enjoy your work during these exciting times of growth at the company. We take your points of criticism seriously and we aim to make your time here at... More


  5. Helpful (13)

    "No structural foundation in Conshohoken !!!! Do NOT Apply !!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraud Analyst in Conshohocken, PA
    Former Employee - Fraud Analyst in Conshohocken, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wirecard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Prior to the migration from Citi Bank to Wirecard . . Awesome !!! I loved it, what I realized after the migration was Citi already had a standardized system in place for procedures and has already created a footprint of integrity as a legit business. The pay was "Okay", could have been better due to the work load however an excellent environment to work in !!

    Cons

    After Wirecard purchased the department in Conshohocken Pa, - HORRIBLE, Once management was no longer on a leash via Citi Bank, management began to create their own policies, micromanaged everything due to corporate have findings NO ONE WAS AWARE OF INCLUDING SO CALLED MANAGEMENT !! Favoritism regarding promotions and new hires. There's a $2,500.00 bonus for a referred employee that is with Wirecard for 90 days or more, MANAGEMENT HIRED SPECIFIC CLOSE FRIENDS AND FAMILY MEMBERS WHILE DENYING QUALIFIED APPLICANTS ! I know this for certain because I referred a Branch Manager I worked under, she was more than qualified due to AML as well as compliance. There's no way she should have not made the Fraud Team, the person that was "Choses" had absolutely no banking experience or back office experience, he used to be a construction worker . . and within 6 months he became a TEAM LEAD ?? I was more than happy to resign.

    Advice to Management

    Blow the dust off of the Citi Bank procedure files and learn from a well organized company.

    Wirecard Response

    Sep 25, 2018 – Wirecard Career Team

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. This past year has been a year of transition and growth for Wirecard North America and as we move forward we are continuously working on the... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wirecard full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great work and family balance

    Cons

    International Company. Only one location in the US. Room for upward mobility is limited.

    Wirecard Response

    Sep 7, 2018 – Wirecard Career Team

    We are happy to hear that you view Wirecard as a recommendable employer. Many thanks for your positive feedback!

    Best Regards,

    Wirecard Career Team


  7. Helpful (17)

    "Poor training, lack of leadership, and no accountability! Thanks, but no thanks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Conshohocken, PA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Conshohocken, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wirecard full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits were fair, thats it!

    Cons

    Good luck if you survive! The work is very stressful and frustrating. The departments don't work well with each other. The HR generalist, forget telling her your view and pain-points, she doesn't care. Make sure you know what your doing before start working there, they expect you to just get it. Finally, the managers have absolutely no support in their peers. Your better off working as a janitor than work there.

    Advice to Management

    Close it down!

    Wirecard Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Wirecard Career Team

    We are sorry to hear that your experience at Wirecard USA was not positive. We will forward your feedback to the corresponding department manager to discuss possible changes.

    Best Regards... More

  8. Helpful (11)

    "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wirecard full-time

    Pros

    work from home, good salary

    Cons

    disorganized, no standards, favoritism, overlook poor performers and bullies

    Advice to Management

    get a handle on making this a more professional organization

    Wirecard Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – Wirecard Career Team

    Thank you for your feedback - we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and will take your critics into consideration.

    Best Regards, Wirecard Career Team


  9. "New Company in NAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Wirecard full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic People and flexible schedules

    Cons

    Company is new as of March 2017. Turnover and reorganization


  10. Helpful (39)

    "Looks good on the surface..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Application Engineer in Bavaria, WI
    Current Employee - Application Engineer in Bavaria, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wirecard (More than a year)

    Pros

    Gym, international working environment, german classes, nice little coffeeshop/bistro inhouse. Flexible working hours, as most Munich based companies you also get to go to the Oktoberfest.

    Cons

    Where do I start?

    There are little to no chance of improving yourself in the technical side of things, also a very big struggle to get promoted, big promises with no execution or constant "change of priorities" hamper any progress. There is little room for R&D with new technologies: Docker, forget about it. Personal VMs: forget about it.
    Also no transparency with regards to the structure and for planning your career here.
    A very cliquey culture centred around partying and being one of the "boys", disregard this and you can forget any advancement.

    Home office is not an option, however if you know the right people it seems that it is possible, even on a weekly basis, got love the favouritism at play here.

    My biggest gripe is the complete lack of competent management on some levels. They would rather employ more low paid employees than to improve their existing ones, the same employees who then take double the time to be on-boarded and also lack some basic IT skills and no independent thought and action.
    Management also means earning the respect of your team, to lead them. Not let them fend for themselves but then play important when projects are running late. Constantly having to escalate basic level tickets, having to explain to other employees how to do their job is not my job nor is it making it an enjoyable working atmosphere.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees and work to improve them, back up the promises you make to them, get competent team leads/heads, not just the buddy of a buddy. Listen and implement the feedback/improvements "you" asked for from your team members!

    Wirecard Response

    Jun 7, 2016 – Wirecard Career Team

    First of all thank for you feedback, which we value and take seriously. To better understand your perception we would like to ask you to contact us – of course also anonymously by Email... More