Wirtz Manufacturing Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Wirtz Manufacturing Company Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wirtz Manufacturing Company CEO John Wirtz
John Wirtz
1 Ratings
  1. "recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Port Huron, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wirtz Manufacturing Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. learning new things 2. good atmosphere 3. excellent health care 4. job satisfaction 5. projects well defined 6. variety in projects 7. appreciation 8. opportunity for travel

    Cons

    occasional deadline stress long days during project crunch time all else is ood

    Advice to Management

    Enjoyed project engagement

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2019-07-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Family Owned Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Port Huron, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wirtz Manufacturing Company full-time

    Pros

    Family owned, family feel is important Lots of opportunity to grow and advance Lots of opportunity to learn new things Travel

    Cons

    Working through growth challenges

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate that you take the time to get to know your employees as people

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2018-02-21
  3. "Machinist and shift boss a little of anything ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machinist in Gastonia, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Wirtz Manufacturing Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked for the Gastonia NC operating at that time ( 1980s ) good people to work for . Pay was good in my job class . One of the top places to work at the time . John W Wirtz a fair and honest man to work for .

    Cons

    Shop was a little packed what with machines and the builder's all in one place . But in the 14 years I was there a new plant was built . We worked four ten hour days five days a week. Would have been better at four tens and off on Friday. But that's life

    Advice to Management

    Always keep in mind the little guy out in the shop .

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2017-09-18
  4. "Machine Builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Wirtz Manufacturing Company full-time

    Pros

    Local, Travel Opportunities, Small Teams, Good Hours

    Cons

    Be prepared to work all around the shop when needed.

    Advice to Management

    Consistency is unheard of.

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2017-03-22
  5. "Confusion all around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Wirtz Manufacturing Company part-time

    Pros

    I really can't think of one.

    Cons

    treatment of employees of bad.

    Advice to Management

    Human resources is very important. Develop one.

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2017-02-01
  6. "Sales Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wirtz Manufacturing Company

    Pros

    mediocre pay thats about the only pro to this company.

    Cons

    terrible management lack of training hostile work environment no room for advancement owners and management threaten your job Owners and management treat their employees like garbage and they are not appreciated very unorganized company

    Advice to Management

    they need ALOT of training on how to run a company and treat their employees.

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2016-12-05
  7. "Head-Operations Wirtz India"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Wirtz Manufacturing Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    collaborative culture, inclusive leadership, startup culture, executive presence

    Cons

    family owned, slow career growth, small business

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2016-09-28
  8. "Machine Builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Wirtz Manufacturing Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product. Family oriented. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Work life balance favors work and that's not all that bad to the alternative.

    Advice to Management

    Could work on not allowing "favorites" to affect decision making on peers.

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2016-08-12
  9. "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Port Huron, MI

    I worked at Wirtz Manufacturing Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ok pay Health care paid for

    Cons

    Management is rude and could care less about their employees

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2016-02-22
  10. "Got to understand business in a very short span of time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Wirtz Manufacturing Company

    Pros

    Technically strong Encouraging higher management Nice work culture

    Cons

    Very tight deadlines less resources to execute projects

    Wirtz Manufacturing Company2013-10-24
Found 14 reviews