Wisconsin DOC Reviews | Glassdoor

Wisconsin DOC Reviews

Updated Dec 28, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wisconsin DOC CEO Jon E. Litscher
Jon E. Litscher
1 Ratings
  1. "BTM is the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Wisconsin DOC full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The Bureau of Technology Management has gone to great lengths to become a customer-based, responsive part of DOC. I see that my work helps DOC employees all over the state, and I have extremely supportive managers.

      Cons

      Small teams - You will be expected to work with a project at every stage of its development.

      Wisconsin DOC2017-12-28
    • "Correctional Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Correctional Officer in Waupun, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Wisconsin DOC full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Team atmosphere especially once you settle in and show that you can be a team player

      Cons

      LOTS of forced over time for 16 hour shifts. After 2 years raises are far behind inflation rate. Schedule is sometimes difficult. You find out you have to work 8 more hours at the end of your regular shift, sometimes as you are walking out the door.

      Advice to Management

      Give raises at every 5 year mark of a career.

      Wisconsin DOC2017-06-24
    • "If you like the fit."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Wisconsin DOC full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Make a good salary, Some flexibility in schedule. No call

      Cons

      If you ever wanted to see cronyism, this is the place. One is over- worked during the time you are at work. Psychiatrists are independent contractors, and one can decide how to treat their patient, but that is about as much as you have in your job.

      Advice to Management

      Do not be so rigid and so over focused on protecting yourselves..

      Wisconsin DOC2016-08-22
    • "WI DOC Correctional Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Correctional Officer in Madison, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Wisconsin DOC full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The Wisconsin Department of Corrections has great benefits. Life, death, medical, dental, retirement plans and more.

      Cons

      Pour moral and welfare. Pay is low considering the magnitude of the work. Staff feel like more of a issue then inmates.

      Advice to Management

      Work needs to be made to improve the moral and welfare of staff or personal will continue to leave.

      Wisconsin DOC2016-08-06
    • "correctional officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fond du Lac, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Wisconsin DOC

      Pros

      Health insurance. Vacation time.

      Cons

      Chance of assault, no union, not enough pay. Forced overtime.

      Advice to Management

      Treat employees better.

      Wisconsin DOC2016-05-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Experience!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Law Clerk in Madison, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Wisconsin DOC

      Pros

      Great attorneys, genuine mentorship, introduction to state government and regulatory affairs. Working in a state administrative department provides much needed hands-on experience.

      Cons

      Nothing really, my personal experience was great! I met so many wonderful people. If you enjoy government and policy related work, then I definitely recommend Wis DOC.

      Wisconsin DOC2015-03-31
    • "The job no ne wants to do but everyone is jellous of."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Correctional Sergeant in Winnebago, WI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Wisconsin DOC full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Steady employment with a known future

      Cons

      Public looks down on employees but do not want to do job.

      Advice to Management

      Just because their is no union is no reason to abuse employees.

      Wisconsin DOC2013-11-15
    Found 7 reviews